The University of North Carolina System Graduate Teaching Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The University of North Carolina System Graduate Teaching Assistant Reviews

Updated 4 May 2016

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
100%
Recommend to a Friend
The University of North Carolina System CEO Bill Roper (no image)
Bill Roper
0 Ratings
  1. "Graduate Research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment to work and it is challenging at times which brings up the best in you.

    Cons

    At times there is less work to do and at times the exact opposite of it. Otherwise its easy going

    The University of North Carolina System2016-05-05
  2. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Teaching Assistant in Chapel Hill, NC

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System

    Pros

    Beautiful campus, friendly staff, excellent resources for health care research

    Cons

    compensation is lower than most other universities and no guaranteed summer support

    The University of North Carolina System2015-12-30
  3. "Applied Sciences department could be better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Chapel Hill, NC

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great campus, good work/life balance, peaceful lifestyle.

    Cons

    Employment opportunities, networking and specific job fairs can be improved. Funding has been a problem in applied sciences department as both teaching assistant and research assistant.

    Advice to Management

    Improve career opportunities for grad students.

    The University of North Carolina System2015-04-19
  4. "It is very nice to work with faculty and staff. Very professional working environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Teaching Assistant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System

    Pros

    Working environment, opportunity to build good relationships, diverse cultures.

    Cons

    Salary, promotions, work load, working hours

    Advice to Management

    Try to better eliminate role ambiguity.

    The University of North Carolina System2015-01-12
  5. "The environment is nice, but don't expect a raise in the near future with the present legislature."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My coworkers are great, and there is a laid back atmosphere at the university.

    Cons

    As a TA you will have a hard time making ends meet if you don't live in a modest place and budget wisely, especially if you want to live alone.

    The University of North Carolina System2014-09-17
  6. "Great University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My professor I worked under was very kind and understanding. I learned a lot in my time TA-ing and have a better understanding of what professors and TAs are looking for when grading tests and assignments.

    Cons

    Sometimes lectures and recitations and assignments are a little disorganized. Its hard to evenly distribute work between TAs.

    Advice to Management

    Try to be a bit more fair in terms of how to divide up work between TAs since we're all getting paid the same rate.

    The University of North Carolina System2014-04-30
  7. "Rewarding but demanding work as a graduate teaching assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System for less than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding experiences consist of regular encounters with bright students who provide quick and honest feedback. Fair advising from the teaching faculty; however, consensus to most questions were addressed by a team of TAs.

    Cons

    An uneven distribution of workload can result in long busy streaks, particularly at the end of the semester. The compensation for teaching positions does not match this workload.

    Advice to Management

    Please consider raising teaching assistantship compensation levels to match estimates of workload throughout the semester.

    The University of North Carolina System2013-10-14
Found 7 reviews