The University of North Carolina System Instructor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The University of North Carolina System Instructor Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Bill Roper
0 Ratings
  1. "UNCW Swim School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Swim Instructor in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and fun environment

    Cons

    Low hours, taxes take a large chunk of pay

    The University of North Carolina System2018-10-16
  2. "phd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am an instructor for an introductory course for statistics. It helps me get prepared for further career life and practice my english speaking.

    Cons

    Due to the government funding, the salary for an instructor is only a little bit higher than TA's. However, I need to spend 10 more hours

    Advice to Management

    Please balance the salary with the real working hours.

    The University of North Carolina System2017-09-22
  3. "A top-notch Master's in Health Administration program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Instructor in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System

    Pros

    The Professors and assistants are phenomenal in their breadth and depth of practical knowledge and in their willingness to help students understand the material.

    Cons

    Parking is a definite nightmare, and costly when you find a spot. Sad.

    Advice to Management

    Do whatever you need to keep your teachers happy and motivated!

    The University of North Carolina System2014-12-31
  4. "Good University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Clinical Instructor in Chapel Hill, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Respectful employer Flexible schedule Pleasant university atmosphere

      Cons

      Low pay Slow advancement schedule Parking is impossible

      The University of North Carolina System2014-07-21
    • "good place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructor in Charlotte, NC

      I worked at The University of North Carolina System part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      nice people, nice place, do not push you, work-life balance

      Cons

      not challenge enough to update your knowledge as an instructor

      The University of North Carolina System2014-06-04
    • "good place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructor in Charlotte, NC

      I worked at The University of North Carolina System part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      nice co-workers, good atmosphere, work-life balance

      Cons

      not challenge enough to update your knowledge. almost do the same routine

      The University of North Carolina System2014-06-04
    • "A great idea poorly executed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Current Employee - Instructor in

      I have been working at The University of North Carolina System for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Motivated students from most states and several countries Dedicated colleagues Small town that's into the arts School performs a wonderful and amazingly good season of shows

      Cons

      Little respect within UNC system Low salary for 50+ hours a week 9 month contract is a lie. I'm expected to work 12. Constantly being questioned and over-ruled

      Advice to Management

      Stop making it so hard to teach.

      The University of North Carolina System2012-08-05
    Found 7 reviews