The University of North Carolina System Postdoctoral Fellow Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The University of North Carolina System Postdoctoral Fellow Reviews

Updated 15 May 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Bill Roper
0 Ratings
  1. "Postdoctoral Fellowship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and intelligent people to work with who are vested in your success as well. Beautiful campus.

    Cons

    Limited parking on campus but public transport is free and accessible to other areas in the Triangle.

    The University of North Carolina System2017-05-14
  2. "Postdoctoral Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Huge amount of resources, nice area with low traffic in the immediate area when compared to other parts of the Triangle. Large competitive research community to help you excel.

    Cons

    Numerous moving parts, and as such some things can be marred with Bureaucracy, but that's to be expected with a University. Research environment of the School of Medicine is other, but not always, toxic.

    The University of North Carolina System2017-05-15
  3. "Standard Post-doctoral Research Fellowship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System

    Pros

    I worked as a Post-doctoral Research Fellow in the chemistry department. Many labs are in the new chemistry building(s), such as Venable Hall. Great opportunities to network with scientists in other labs. It was a positive experience.

    Cons

    I was paid less than the NIH standard for postdocs at the time. I worked long hours but that was mostly self-imposed.

    The University of North Carolina System2016-05-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for a postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The University of North Carolina System for more than a year

      Pros

      Location, support network, campus, people, reputation are all great.

      Cons

      Benefits (insurance premium, lack of dental, changing plans without real notification)

      The University of North Carolina System2015-05-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Supportive environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

        I worked at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Beautiful campus and great campus transportation system, good health benefits through the university hospital and exciting research!

        Cons

        Supportive environment but as with many state universities, lots of uncertainty due to budget cuts, especially in the administration sector.

        The University of North Carolina System2015-05-19
      • "UNC Chapel Hill"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at The University of North Carolina System

        Pros

        This is a beautiful campus, with lots of nice people. The surrounding town of Chapel Hill is a nice place, and it is also accessible from Durham by bus.

        Cons

        As a postdoctoral fellow at a university, much of the experience is determined by the lab I am in rather than at the level of the university. Parking is an issue. The little parking that is available on campus is expensive and often distant. I take the bus from Durham, which is a pleasant ride, during which I can read or enjoy the scenery, but on the rare occasion when I need to drive in, my parking options are not...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        As a postdoctoral fellow in the School of Medicine, I could do without the regular emails from the University president and others about how the university is working with this or that community to address the latest issue that has to do with an athletic scandal or is only relevant to undergraduates. This is a minor complaint. Certainly not affecting my work.

        The University of North Carolina System2015-05-21
      • "One of the most well equipped universities to complete a postdoc"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        State of the art facilities, plenty of grant money, exciting research. Great people to work with and a great reputation, especially locally.

        Cons

        You are a postdoc. Bottom of the Ponzi scheme that is academia. Long work hours with minimal compensation. However, it is the system that is broken, not the institution.

        Advice to Management

        More support for postdocs looking for the next step.

        The University of North Carolina System2014-05-29
      • "good place to do a postdoc"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Lots of seminars on topics beside research, decent health care

        Cons

        small college town, politically liberal but conservative mindset in town

        The University of North Carolina System2014-03-02
      • "Postdoc at UNC"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Many great investigators. Several cores to share the work-load. Salary ok. Great environment for postdocs with a interactive postdoc forum. Great city to raise a family.

        Cons

        Job opportunities limited regarding assistant professor advancement within the University.

        Advice to Management

        Consider hiring talent from within the University.

        The University of North Carolina System2014-02-24
      • "Ideal for those interested in pursuing an academic career, not conducive for preparing for other scientific careers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Chapel Hill, NC
        Recommends
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Independence - particularly on projects Project Management - lots of opportunities for this as a postdoc in larger labs with undergraduate and graduate students Flexibility - depending on the lab you can have reasonable work/life balance

        Cons

        Limited support for jobs outside of academia Overwhelmed/disconnected PIs

        Advice to Management

        Sometimes PIs are overwhelmed with responsibilities, especially given the funding situation and there are long delays in feedback on your work.

        The University of North Carolina System2014-01-09
      Found 12 reviews