The University of North Carolina System Research Assistant/Graduate Student Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The University of North Carolina System Reviews

Updated 7 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
The University of North Carolina System Interim President  Bill Roper (no image)
Bill Roper
0 Rating
  1. "Grader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System part-time

    Pros

    Nice, friendly, and helpful collegues

    Cons

    pay is not too great

    The University of North Carolina System2017-11-08
  2. "Salary as RA in UNC system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Supervisor 

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good place to work

    Cons

    Not in a big city

    The University of North Carolina System2020-01-07
  3. "Faculty-Administration relations, pay limit what is otherwise a glorious job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wonderful students, wonderful atmosphere. I feel like it is unreal when I walk across campus.

    Cons

    I have been in a number of situations with past university administrations where I come away feeling as though we have abandoned our independent, academic and public service mission.

    Advice to Management

    Uphold your/our/university values. Do the right thing even in the face of criticism. That is the incredible role we play as a leading public university, and to abandon our values means abandoning our value to our students, our citizens, and our country.

    The University of North Carolina System2020-01-03
  4. "UNC Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System

    Pros

    Open minded atmosphere, great research resource

    Cons

    Contract based, unstable position, payment was average.

    The University of North Carolina System2019-12-25
  5. "Great long term job for anyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support Technician in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The University provides great benefits, especially for healthcare.

    Cons

    The University system can move quite slow

    The University of North Carolina System2019-12-13
  6. "Generally good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time

    Pros

    University works to make sure you have professional dignity

    Cons

    Politics can interfere with research. Budget cuts

    The University of North Carolina System2019-10-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Long hours, low pay with slight possibility of future opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Getting a graduate degree, such as a PhD, offers time for reflection and personal growth, in addition to unique opportunities post-graduation.

    Cons

    Being a teacher's assistant can involve tedious work, especially grading in large volumes and it is very low pay.

    The University of North Carolina System2019-10-14
  8. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at The University of North Carolina System full-time

    Pros

    Obtained a great foundation of clinical research.

    Cons

    No room for advancement

    The University of North Carolina System2019-08-20
  9. "job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time

    Pros

    bad management and bad weather

    Cons

    good money and nice location

    The University of North Carolina System2019-07-17
  10. "Decent pay to live"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Janitorial 

    I have been working at The University of North Carolina System full-time

    Pros

    Good decent pay to care for yourself

    Cons

    Not enough to benefits to begin with

    The University of North Carolina System2019-05-06
Found 626 reviews