The Very Group Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Very Group Manager Reviews

Updated 9 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Very Group Group Chief Executive Henry Birch (no image)
Henry Birch
9 Ratings
  1. "Excellent culture and environment. Plenty of opportunity to progress career in a number of directions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Manager in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time

    Pros

    Excellent culture and environment for the most part, with a good set of people at the helm that care. Plenty of opportunity to progress career in a number of directions. Top-notch facilities. Good flexibility offered allowing for a decent work/life balance.

    Cons

    Ageing core systems and IT infrastructure can limit and restrict ability to implement change/improvements at pace. Very Speke-centric despite operating over multiple sites.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2020-03-09
  2. "Fun and friendly place to work with lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Manager in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Full of friendly and professional people, always there to help each other and do the best for our colleagues and customers

    Cons

    Can’t think of any at the moment!!!

    The Very Group2020-02-11

    The Very Group Response

    February 14, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for much for this lovely review, we couldn't agree with you more, great people make this a great place to work!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Culture, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always working on continuous improvement, listening to employees, respectful of work/life balance needs.

    Cons

    High expectations, tight deadlines, need for process improvements for delivery.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2020-02-12

    The Very Group Response

    February 14, 2020Head of Culture

    Thanks so much for sharing this positive yet balanced review! Its great to see that the efforts and high expectations we set around listening to our people and working to make things better is being noticed. Its also great to hear your thoughts on process improvements, if you'd like to share more about this you can at glassdoor@theverygroup.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "All talk, no action and negatives swept under the carpet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Speke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing, it's all fake. Some of the people are nice, but no one in power who can change anything

    Cons

    Honestly the treatment of long serving staff is just abysmal. It's difficult to break down into bullet points how many terrible things I've seen since starting, but a good summary would be "all that glitters ain't gold". They're very clever at hiding how terrible it is for staff who actually work there, in order to being new poor saps in.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-12-06

    The Very Group Response

    December 13, 2019Head of Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review, its so disappointing that your experience with us didn't feel reflective of the standards we set ourselves. We care about all the feedback we receive, its really important so that we can continue to look into our colleague experience. If you'd like to share more about your time with us please get in touch on glassdoor@shopdirect.com. Good luck with your next role and company

    Continue reading
  5. "Positive experience for Test Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Test Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice working environment and facilities Strong processes in place and templates to support Quality focus

    Cons

    Clarity around roles of third parties required Car parking space very limited

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-11-08
  6. "Great place to work - highly recommend to anyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Shop Direct values their people and they show this in numerous ways. This can be through the facilities they provide so colleagues have chance to get away from work and actually have a gym to go to, 5* restaurant or just an area to chill. Love their stance on communication and they try to engage with all colleagues at all levels. People make the place as their are so many people who are fantastic to work with. This goes back to Shop Direct Values and culture they drive which works for me and is rare to find.

    Cons

    Challenging and complex business to understand. Due to the age of the business there is baggage, but along with this comes learnings to improve the companies future.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-09-26

    The Very Group Response

    October 14, 2019Head of Fulfillment Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Our people are our greatest asset - so it is great that you have had such a positive experience in terms of both, engagement and also of the culture that we are creating.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great flexibility, modern and forward thinking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Good competitive salary State of the art facilities (head office)

    Cons

    Outlying contact centre facilities are poor by comparison Some nepotism in certain departments Limited scope for upward progression in certain departments

    The Very Group2019-09-05

    The Very Group Response

    September 20, 2019Head of Culture

    Thanks for taking time the time to share your positive thoughts. We're constantly looking for ways to improve our facilities and sites, and its great that you recognise that we've made some state of the art in roads in this area, we know we've more to do here and this will continues to be a priority for us. We believe anyone can progress their career here at Shop Direct and we see this happen more and more when our teams collaborate cross functionally, opening up new avenues of progression that might not have been seen before.

    Continue reading
  8. "Managing a complaints team who deal with regulated complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Complaints Team Manager in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good company to work for

    Cons

    Progression, There could be more drive towards personal development

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-08-12

    The Very Group Response

    August 28, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hi there, thank you for leaving a review on your few years of working here, and thanks for sharing your thoughts on your personal development; it's something we've heard come through from our new Voice engagement survey and are putting a number of plans in place to support colleagues to development and progress their career at Shop Direct. Whilst those plans take shape, we'd encourage you to take the opportunity to share your ambitions with your manager who can guide you on relevant resources available to you to develop, whether that be through our free employee LinkedIn learning access, attending relevant events or training courses, or exposure to new projects/initiatives within your area.

    Continue reading
  9. "Exciting New Challenge, Exciting Old Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Manager in Kegworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture in an ambitious company. Exciting new state of the art facility in the Midlands with a Company who seem to genuinely care about their people. Really customer focused and know that you need to look after your people to get great customer experience.

    Cons

    Ambitious nature of the business means you have to be committed to working hard.

    The Very Group2019-07-24

    The Very Group Response

    August 7, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for a great review on your relatively short time with us at Skygate! We're so excited about the next phase of Shop Direct and the new customer opportunities we can provide with the new site. Thanks for the key part you're going to play in that!

    Continue reading
  10. "Plenty of opportunities and variety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career opportunities, variety in work, people agenda, personal development

    Cons

    Location is on the outskirts of Liverpool

    The Very Group2019-06-25

    The Very Group Response

    July 24, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hey! Thanks for reviewing your ten plus years working here :-) you've been a key part in our growth as a business to what we are today. It's great to hear you enjoy the variety of work and development opportunities you receive here at SD. We like to think that with transformation as ambitious and exciting as ours, it results in some brilliant opportunities for our people to progress and transform along with us too! Whilst we're only a 20 min uber/delta ;-) away from a visit to the docks, we hope that you can still enjoy some easy commuting options and brilliant facilities in the space we have onsite here at Skyways.

    Continue reading
Found 25 reviews