The Very Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Very Group Reviews

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
The Very Group Group Chief Executive Henry Birch (no image)
Henry Birch
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Family Friendly, Good work/life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Speke, England

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, amazing dedicated people.

    Cons

    Very fast paced environment if you can keep up!

    The Very Group2020-01-16

    The Very Group Response

    February 14, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We know this place can be a fast-paced, challenging environment to work sometimes, with the level of ambition we have comes exciting avenues in tech, data, credit and retail! It's great that we can share this journey with a brilliant bunch of people too :-)

    Continue reading
  2. "Fun and friendly place to work with lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Manager in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Full of friendly and professional people, always there to help each other and do the best for our colleagues and customers

    Cons

    Can’t think of any at the moment!!!

    The Very Group2020-02-11

    The Very Group Response

    February 14, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for much for this lovely review, we couldn't agree with you more, great people make this a great place to work!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Culture, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always working on continuous improvement, listening to employees, respectful of work/life balance needs.

    Cons

    High expectations, tight deadlines, need for process improvements for delivery.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2020-02-12

    The Very Group Response

    February 14, 2020Head of Culture

    Thanks so much for sharing this positive yet balanced review! Its great to see that the efforts and high expectations we set around listening to our people and working to make things better is being noticed. Its also great to hear your thoughts on process improvements, if you'd like to share more about this you can at glassdoor@theverygroup.com

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company looks after their employees very well compared to other companies I have worked for. Good salary, good holiday and good flexible hours. Also a nice, sociable, successful company to work for. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    No job progression as nobody leaves the company.

    The Very Group2020-01-07

    The Very Group Response

    January 10, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review, glad to hear your positive feedback on our exciting social events, hope you enjoyed Christmas party! :-) Helping people to progress their careers is really important to us. Currently, around 50% of our appointments into bigger roles are filled by internal candidates, but we’ve set ourselves a goal of moving this to 75%, so we hope you'll see more opportunities across the business in the near future.

    Continue reading
  5. "Neutral feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, facilities in Speke are great, nice people to work with who are usually hard working and want to do a good job. Monthly briefs to whole business are helpful. Good company events.

    Cons

    Lots of people working hard but don't get enough recognition for what they do and don't get very much support or even rewarded with career progression, external people get hired or they keep same team structure for years and years. Parking at head office isn't great if you live locally and you have to pay to park at local hotel. Commuting hard work because of bad traffic in Speke every day. When business is going through change or people leave the business - the info and emails we receive don't sound very genuine, feels forced and abrupt with no emotion.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2020-01-06

    The Very Group Response

    January 10, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback on your experiences working here; it's great to hear you enjoy the generous benefits we receive as colleagues of Shop Direct. We're serious about building great careers here, so we're sorry to hear you're not feeling the benefit of this. We have lots of exciting plans for 2020 as we continue to rewrite retail. We'd welcome you to pop along to come and chat with our Talent and Development team about what these plans could mean to you.

    Continue reading
  6. "Brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontend Engineer in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, flexibility, people, benefits, discount

    Cons

    Career paths is probably something that needs reviewing.

    The Very Group2019-12-17

    The Very Group Response

    January 3, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it's great to hear you enjoyed the culture and working with the teams here at Shop Direct. We take your point on career paths, it's something we recognise needs more work and so have put some ambitious plans in place to increase internal progression to senior roles over the next few years. Good luck for the future! :-)

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "All talk, no action and negatives swept under the carpet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Speke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing, it's all fake. Some of the people are nice, but no one in power who can change anything

    Cons

    Honestly the treatment of long serving staff is just abysmal. It's difficult to break down into bullet points how many terrible things I've seen since starting, but a good summary would be "all that glitters ain't gold". They're very clever at hiding how terrible it is for staff who actually work there, in order to being new poor saps in.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-12-06

    The Very Group Response

    December 13, 2019Head of Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review, its so disappointing that your experience with us didn't feel reflective of the standards we set ourselves. We care about all the feedback we receive, its really important so that we can continue to look into our colleague experience. If you'd like to share more about your time with us please get in touch on glassdoor@shopdirect.com. Good luck with your next role and company

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Good pay compared to other companies in the region * Onsite gym * Very flexible working conditions

    Cons

    * Could be a bit more transparent * Over reliance on contractors rather than recruiting perms

    The Very Group2019-11-05

    The Very Group Response

    November 14, 2019Head of Culture

    Thanks for this! Really pleased that you're able to take advantage of our wellbeing offer and that you are liking us enough to give a 5 star rating! It's always our intention to be as transparent as we can - it's so important and thanks for reinforcing that message its something that we'll continue to challenge ourselves on.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good company and nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, friendly environment, benefits and payed holidays are the best ever I've seen.

    Cons

    Very slow pace, very slow to make any change. Data infrastructure is quite old.

    The Very Group2019-11-06

    The Very Group Response

    November 11, 2019Head of Data Science & Engineering

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. There's definitely more left to work on, including (as you say) the continued upgrade of our data infrastructure. We hope to continue making progress on this, so we can release changes ever faster in the near future.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Clarity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fraud Specialist in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything is laid out in blunt honesty. No need to decipher meaning from actions. Colleagues welcoming and helpful

    Cons

    Low progression, IT awful can think of nothing else

    The Very Group2019-10-02

    The Very Group Response

    October 7, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your few years working here so far. It's really good to hear about the transparency you feel as a colleague here, it's important as a business and as a team that we are up front and clear on what needs to be done. Thanks for being a part of the team, we have an exciting few months ahead and we're glad you're part of that!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 120 reviews