The Very Group Reviews

Updated 8 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
The Very Group Group Chief Executive Henry Birch (no image)
Henry Birch
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "A great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Logistics in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very collaborative, supportive environment. High paced Excellent facilities at head office Great people Constantly evolving

    Cons

    Still working on getting rid of some ancient core systems, some frustrations around the pace of IT change as a result.

    The Very Group Response

    October 24, 2019Logistics Director

    Hi there, thanks for the 5* review. I agree, it's great fun to work in a fast paced, collaborative and supportive environment. We pride ourselves on developing this environment for all colleagues and will continue to do so. We are working hard on developing our systems and our new CTO has already started to develop an agile framework to deliver change at pace.

  2. "The Very Group"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Section Manager in Shaw, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, employees are well looked after.

    Cons

    Absolutely Fab, no complaints at all!

    The Very Group Response

    June 11, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! It's great to hear such positive experiences of working here at Very, hope you are keeping safe and well.

  3. "Great, supportive company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Manager in Oldham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time

    Pros

    Great development opportunities, fantastic culture and the people are lovely.

    Cons

    I can’t think of anything specific.

    The Very Group Response

    May 15, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review, it means a lot. It's great to hear you love the culture and people, it's so important during this strange time to be surrounding by good people. Have a great weekend!

  4. "Great Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere to work, great people, fantastic facilities, valuable values, new generation

    Cons

    At this moment i have no concerns

    The Very Group Response

    May 15, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for the positive review, and feeding back that you're enjoying the culture, people, facilities and more in our new site Skygate! Our values are so important to us and at times like these its more important than ever that we are led and guided by them to support our colleagues when they need us most. Good to hear no concerns currently, our ears are always open to hearing about suggested improvements so we that we can build a great place to work for our people so please keep us posted as you spend more time at the new site. Have a great weekend!

  5. "Excellent culture and environment. Plenty of opportunity to progress career in a number of directions."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Manager in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time

    Pros

    Excellent culture and environment for the most part, with a good set of people at the helm that care. Plenty of opportunity to progress career in a number of directions. Top-notch facilities. Good flexibility offered allowing for a decent work/life balance.

    Cons

    Ageing core systems and IT infrastructure can limit and restrict ability to implement change/improvements at pace. Very Speke-centric despite operating over multiple sites.

    Continue reading

    The Very Group Response

    April 23, 2020Head of Culture

    Hi, I just wanted to say I really loved reading the pros you've called out on here - its great to see the stuff we've been investing in is showing up in your experience. We will take all your comments on board and really appreciate you taking the time to write this review, take care :)

  6. "Not the best of places to work at"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Shaw, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There isn’t very much pro’a other than the paid breaks

    Cons

    Management give silly targets and go crazy if they are not met especially section managers

    Continue reading

    The Very Group Response

    April 14, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share this feedback, albeit I'm sorry to hear some of the things you're experiencing. I'd encourage you to share more about your experience with us so that we can look into this matter further, please get in contact with us at glassdoor@theverygroup.com.

  7. "Fun and friendly place to work with lots of opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Manager in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Full of friendly and professional people, always there to help each other and do the best for our colleagues and customers

    Cons

    Can’t think of any at the moment!!!

    The Very Group Response

    February 14, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for much for this lovely review, we couldn't agree with you more, great people make this a great place to work!

  8. "Great Culture, Great People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always working on continuous improvement, listening to employees, respectful of work/life balance needs.

    Cons

    High expectations, tight deadlines, need for process improvements for delivery.

    Continue reading

    The Very Group Response

    February 14, 2020Head of Culture

    Thanks so much for sharing this positive yet balanced review! Its great to see that the efforts and high expectations we set around listening to our people and working to make things better is being noticed. Its also great to hear your thoughts on process improvements, if you'd like to share more about this you can at glassdoor@theverygroup.com

  9. "Family Friendly, Good work/life balance."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Speke, England

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, amazing dedicated people.

    Cons

    Very fast paced environment if you can keep up!

    The Very Group Response

    February 14, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We know this place can be a fast-paced, challenging environment to work sometimes, with the level of ambition we have comes exciting avenues in tech, data, credit and retail! It's great that we can share this journey with a brilliant bunch of people too :-)

  10. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company looks after their employees very well compared to other companies I have worked for. Good salary, good holiday and good flexible hours. Also a nice, sociable, successful company to work for. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    No job progression as nobody leaves the company.

    The Very Group Response

    January 10, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review, glad to hear your positive feedback on our exciting social events, hope you enjoyed Christmas party! :-) Helping people to progress their careers is really important to us. Currently, around 50% of our appointments into bigger roles are filled by internal candidates, but we’ve set ourselves a goal of moving this to 75%, so we hope you'll see more opportunities across the business in the near future.

Found 125 reviews