The Very Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Very Group Reviews

Updated 9 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
The Very Group Group Chief Executive Henry Birch (no image)
Henry Birch
37 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Clarity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fraud Specialist in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything is laid out in blunt honesty. No need to decipher meaning from actions. Colleagues welcoming and helpful

    Cons

    Low progression, IT awful can think of nothing else

    The Very Group2019-10-02

    The Very Group Response

    October 7, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your few years working here so far. It's really good to hear about the transparency you feel as a colleague here, it's important as a business and as a team that we are up front and clear on what needs to be done. Thanks for being a part of the team, we have an exciting few months ahead and we're glad you're part of that!

    Continue reading
  2. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Logistics in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very collaborative, supportive environment. High paced Excellent facilities at head office Great people Constantly evolving

    Cons

    Still working on getting rid of some ancient core systems, some frustrations around the pace of IT change as a result.

    The Very Group2019-10-04

    The Very Group Response

    October 24, 2019Logistics Director

    Hi there, thanks for the 5* review. I agree, it's great fun to work in a fast paced, collaborative and supportive environment. We pride ourselves on developing this environment for all colleagues and will continue to do so. We are working hard on developing our systems and our new CTO has already started to develop an agile framework to deliver change at pace.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work - highly recommend to anyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Shop Direct values their people and they show this in numerous ways. This can be through the facilities they provide so colleagues have chance to get away from work and actually have a gym to go to, 5* restaurant or just an area to chill. Love their stance on communication and they try to engage with all colleagues at all levels. People make the place as their are so many people who are fantastic to work with. This goes back to Shop Direct Values and culture they drive which works for me and is rare to find.

    Cons

    Challenging and complex business to understand. Due to the age of the business there is baggage, but along with this comes learnings to improve the companies future.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-09-26

    The Very Group Response

    October 14, 2019Head of Fulfillment Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Our people are our greatest asset - so it is great that you have had such a positive experience in terms of both, engagement and also of the culture that we are creating.

    Continue reading
  4. "Incompetent company/management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bolton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dream on, there are no pros!

    Cons

    These imbecile managers treat staff like they are children. They are very unorganised, they go on like they are above all. We are in 2019 and you have to take your lunch at set time and you have a few mins personal time. Your phones have to be in the locker as if though they have some top secrets. The company is a joke, their ways are a joke, management are a joke, the owner is a joke!

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-10-30

    The Very Group Response

    November 8, 2019Head of Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences of working with us, you've made it really clear that you didn't find any positives and i'm really gutted to hear that. Your feedback is really important so that we can continue to look into parts of our colleague experience where we're not living up to the standards wet set ourselves, so we’ll look into the points you’ve raised. Whilst we recognise that timed breaks and lunches are quite formal, they're sometimes necessary depending on where in the business you work. For example, in our contact centers we must ensure that we always have sufficient resource to handle our customer’s queries. security around phones is also necessary as it helps ensure we protect our customer’s data. If you'd like to share more about your time with us please get in touch on glassdoor@shopdirect.com. I really hope that you find more job satisfaction in your next role!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Category in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Shop Direct is an ambitious business, high achieving and invests in it’s future. It is also an inclusive, inspiring, motivational and extremely supportive place to work.

    Cons

    I actually don’t see any downsides to working at Shop Direct.

    The Very Group2019-09-14

    The Very Group Response

    September 20, 2019Head of Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share this positive review :)

    Continue reading
  6. "Shop Direct Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Greta people, forward thinking business which is going places!

    Cons

    Sometimes bureaucratic and process driven

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-09-11

    The Very Group Response

    March 4, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing this positive yet balanced review. It's great to hear you're excited about our ambitious plans to keep pushing forward and unlocking more opportunities when retail, tech and credit come together. Your feedback on process and bureaucracy is also acknowledged and will be shared within our team to look into. If you'd like to share more about this please share with your business partner or drop us a note at glassdoor@theverygroup.com

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAST Team Manager in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lovely people, great prospects. Great salary and benefits

    Cons

    Building is not the best

    The Very Group2019-08-29

    The Very Group Response

    August 30, 2019Head of Culture

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share your positive review! We remain committed to improving our work spaces, we know this is really important for our colleagues and how they feel about coming to work.

    Continue reading
  8. "An exciting time to work for Shop Direct!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Development Partner in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - First and foremost, the people - we work hard as a company, but with the right people by your side, it can be a lot of fun too! - There's a real energy and buzz as soon as you step foot into head office, with loads of great facilities onsite including Costa coffee, a brand new restaurant currently being built, plus a juice bar and gym - Our customer is at the heart of everything we do here at Shop Direct and we have state of the art facilities to help everyone get closer, including our in-house User Experience lab and a Customer Closeness Centre with live advisors spending 50% of their time helping our customers and the other 50% idea generating how they can make things even better! - There are lots of opportunities here if you want them - I've moved around the business a few times which has improved my breadth of knowledge of the business, built my internal network and improved my transferable skills :-)

    Cons

    - No major cons for me, otherwise I wouldn't still be after almost 9 years - Sometimes processes can slow us down, but that should be viewed as an opportunity to continuously improve how we do things around here :-)

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-08-28

    The Very Group Response

    August 30, 2019Head of Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to leave this positive review! Our people really are our greatest asset - thanks for being a part of the team here :)

    Continue reading
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly place, They seem to care about their employees more than anywhere I've worked before, got some interesting stuff to work on.

    Cons

    A bit of a fear to release new stuff from higher management though with smaller agile releases becoming far more prevalent that is disappearing.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-08-27

    The Very Group Response

    September 5, 2019CTO

    We’re on a journey to be able to release software changes multiple times per day, and re-architecting some of the legacy apps, combined with automating everything, will help us get there. Remember, if it’s difficult, we need to automate it and do it often!

    Continue reading
  10. "Top North West Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Governance and Change Readiness in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, pay, benefits and career opportunities. SD is a great place to build your career, have access to development opportunities, and to get experience in a pretty unique retail/FS business.

    Cons

    Nothing that springs to mind. A strong colleague engagement programme addresses concerns that arise.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-08-27

    The Very Group Response

    August 30, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a positive review on your time here! We couldn't agree more, the intersection of tech, credit and retail makes for a very exciting place to work full of career opportunities.

    Continue reading
Found 121 reviews