The Very Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Very Group Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
The Very Group Group Chief Executive Henry Birch (no image)
Henry Birch
34 Ratings
  1. "Incompetent company/management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bolton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dream on, there are no pros!

    Cons

    These imbecile managers treat staff like they are children. They are very unorganised, they go on like they are above all. We are in 2019 and you have to take your lunch at set time and you have a few mins personal time. Your phones have to be in the locker as if though they have some top secrets. The company is a joke, their ways are a joke, management are a joke, the owner is a joke!

    Advice to Management

    Get off cloud 9, take the pole out that is so far up, learn to be peoples person and work with your staff not against them. Allow staff to take lunch and breaks when they want and dont penalise them for the few seconds or mins that they may be late from their personal time. You are by far the most ridiculous, incompetent, imbeciles I have come across and keep your hype down, your going on like you earning good money you bell e

    Show More
    The Very Group2019-10-30
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Category in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Shop Direct is an ambitious business, high achieving and invests in it’s future. It is also an inclusive, inspiring, motivational and extremely supportive place to work.

    Cons

    I actually don’t see any downsides to working at Shop Direct.

    The Very Group2019-09-14
  3. "Shop Direct Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Greta people, forward thinking business which is going places!

    Cons

    Sometimes bureaucratic and process driven

    Advice to Management

    Empower the teams and encourage pace and agility

    The Very Group2019-09-11
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAST Team Manager in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lovely people, great prospects. Great salary and benefits

    Cons

    Building is not the best

    The Very Group2019-08-29
  5. "An exciting time to work for Shop Direct!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Development Partner in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - First and foremost, the people - we work hard as a company, but with the right people by your side, it can be a lot of fun too! - There's a real energy and buzz as soon as you step foot into head office, with loads of great facilities onsite including Costa coffee, a brand new restaurant currently being built, plus a juice bar and gym - Our customer is at the heart of everything we do here at Shop Direct and we have state of the art facilities to help everyone get closer, including our in-house User Experience lab and a Customer Closeness Centre with live advisors spending 50% of their time helping our customers and the other 50% idea generating how they can make things even better! - There are lots of opportunities here if you want them - I've moved around the business a few times which has improved my breadth of knowledge of the business, built my internal network and improved my transferable skills :-)

    Show More

    Cons

    - No major cons for me, otherwise I wouldn't still be after almost 9 years - Sometimes processes can slow us down, but that should be viewed as an opportunity to continuously improve how we do things around here :-)

    Advice to Management

    Our people are our greatest asset here - keep listening to them via Voice and be open to feedback so that we can continue to make this an even better place to work :-)

    The Very Group2019-08-28
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly place, They seem to care about their employees more than anywhere I've worked before, got some interesting stuff to work on.

    Cons

    A bit of a fear to release new stuff from higher management though with smaller agile releases becoming far more prevalent that is disappearing.

    Advice to Management

    To be honest, keep up the good work!

    The Very Group2019-08-27
  7. "Top North West Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Governance and Change Readiness in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, pay, benefits and career opportunities. SD is a great place to build your career, have access to development opportunities, and to get experience in a pretty unique retail/FS business.

    Cons

    Nothing that springs to mind. A strong colleague engagement programme addresses concerns that arise.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    The Very Group2019-08-27
  8. "Welcome back Mojo!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cloud Engineer in Wallasey, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exciting, energetic and interesting. After 18 years in my previous company I think my mojo had gone ;-) I am really enjoying my new role at SD. Great people and a great company. Early days I know but I have a good feeling we are going places together

    Cons

    None as yet and I am sure there will be hiccups along the way but seems an open and honest company that will listen

    The Very Group2019-08-27
  9. "Great flexibility, modern and forward thinking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Good competitive salary State of the art facilities (head office)

    Cons

    Outlying contact centre facilities are poor by comparison Some nepotism in certain departments Limited scope for upward progression in certain departments

    The Very Group2019-09-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Not Important in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good.

    Cons

    The culture is extremely hierarchical. Bullying and victimisation are apparent, ironically more so in the People team, and a blind eye is turned. Some Senior People leaders are controlling, manipulative and lack compassion with their team. Tow the line or get out seems to be the approach to People Management. Passion, creativity and collaboration are crushed by the controlling PLT who won't entertain anything that wasn't their idea. If you work in HR don't even think about moving to this toxic, political business. The cover of the book looks enticing.... don't open it

    Show More
    The Very Group2019-09-24
Found 114 reviews