The Very Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Very Group Reviews

Updated 9 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
The Very Group Group Chief Executive Henry Birch (no image)
Henry Birch
37 Ratings
  1. "Best recruitment/onboarding process ever received"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Software Engineering in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very consistent & clear communication Very clear process during recruitment/offer Very visible and accessible exec line Very inclusive and engaging culture Very ambitious and exciting plans

    Cons

    The onsite Costa, Juice bar, and restaurant are far too appealing!!

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-07-30

    The Very Group Response

    August 20, 2019Talent Acquisition Partner - Tech

    That’s great to hear! We are really pleased our new tech hiring process is proving effective. Always open to feedback and we are always testing and learning in order to improve.

    Continue reading
  2. "picker for shop direct fulfilment centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Picker in Shaw, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, fair work and pay

    Cons

    the break times could be longer

    The Very Group2019-07-29

    The Very Group Response

    August 30, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your time so far at Shaw. We're glad you find the people, work and pay as something great to shout about and hope that the onsite canteen facilities help to make your breaks as full and energising as possible!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Risk Analyst in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great people, good values in the company

    Cons

    Don't have any complaints really

    The Very Group2019-06-26

    The Very Group Response

    July 1, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Great to hear you appreciate the pay, people and values here at The Very Group ;-) Would love to continue hearing your feedback as we roll out the refreshed company values this year. We hope colleagues continue to be inspired and connected to them as we start to land our new company strategy. Exciting times!

    Continue reading
  4. "Plenty of opportunities and variety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career opportunities, variety in work, people agenda, personal development

    Cons

    Location is on the outskirts of Liverpool

    The Very Group2019-06-25

    The Very Group Response

    July 24, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hey! Thanks for reviewing your ten plus years working here :-) you've been a key part in our growth as a business to what we are today. It's great to hear you enjoy the variety of work and development opportunities you receive here at SD. We like to think that with transformation as ambitious and exciting as ours, it results in some brilliant opportunities for our people to progress and transform along with us too! Whilst we're only a 20 min uber/delta ;-) away from a visit to the docks, we hope that you can still enjoy some easy commuting options and brilliant facilities in the space we have onsite here at Skyways.

    Continue reading
  5. "I worked here for 7 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Trainer in Shaw, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    excellent benefits and great atmosphere

    Cons

    rubbish hours, no life balance

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-06-26

    The Very Group Response

    July 24, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hi there, thank you for reviewing your time working with us over the last 5+ years. We wish you all the best for the future!

    Continue reading
  6. "Working there is a strange experience; jolly on the outside but oppressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Southport, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    On site gym at head office, reasonable campus with free parking.

    Cons

    Different managers create different workplaces/environments/cultures; all under the one roof. Luck of the draw! Subtle bullying rife, expectation to work unpaid such as through lunch and after work; not on the odd occasion but all the time. Unfair pressure is also commonplace especially after staff numbers cut again; managers dont discuss what tasks can be discarded or how tasks are managed, they expect it all to be done with a smile on your face.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-06-18

    The Very Group Response

    June 27, 2019

    We really appreciate your feedback and would value the chance to chat through it with you more to help us improve further. If you’d like to do this, you can contact me via glassdoor@shopdirect.com. We’re working hard to build an environment where all our colleagues feel valued and respected. We recently changed the way we manage pay and reward following colleague feedback to make it even fairer and more transparent, and, alongside our engagement surveys, we listen and act on our colleagues’ feedback and ideas through teams and our people forums.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really friendly and supportive. Lots of training and performance feedback.

    Cons

    Can be stressful and lots to remember.

    The Very Group2019-05-21

    The Very Group Response

    May 28, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your time here at Shop Direct, 10+ years wow! Whilst it can be a challenge to keep up with the pace of life here at SD, responding to changes in our customers shopping and technology habits means we're always on the go! I do agree and find that the people, culture and supportive teams around us help make the days that little bit easier. Thanks again :-)

    Continue reading
  8. "Busy Engaging Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture People offices location managers

    Cons

    long hours systems salary progression

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-05-28

    The Very Group Response

    August 15, 2019Head of Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your review! Its great to see you call out our Culture and People in your pro’s. As a business we’re working hard to build meaningful ways for colleagues to progress their careers here at Shop Direct so if you’d like to share any more thoughts on this topic you can email us direct at glassdoor@shopdirect.com, thanks again

    Continue reading
  9. "Great team to be part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of QA in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has a great vision, great leadership and a real sense of purpose. Things are constantly moving. This makes for a dynamic and exciting environment to work in

    Cons

    There are some areas of the business where the values don't come through as stongly

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-05-11

    The Very Group Response

    July 1, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review; really pleased to hear your feedback on our company vision and purpose, it's the driving force behind creating award winning customer shopping experiences. Over the years we've had to adapt and react to changes in shopping behaviour, this is what keeps the pace of work and challenges so dynamic. We're glad you're along for the ride! We hope with the recent refresh on our company values, and the rollout this year you will see, feel and hear them much more frequently in a way that is personal and relevant to us here at Shop Direct... or should we say The Very Group ;-)

    Continue reading
  10. "Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payment Negotiator in Aintree, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management that support you through difficulties Development plans Supportive Good training

    Cons

    Difficult job emotionally - having to support customers with mental health issues and financially difficulty. Customers are often aggressive Late hours System is slow

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-05-05
Found 121 reviews