The Very Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Very Group Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
The Very Group Group Chief Executive Henry Birch (no image)
Henry Birch
34 Ratings
  1. "Commercial Finance lagging behind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Finance Manager in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hard to pick many out

    Cons

    Limited direction within commercial finance and unfortunately poor leaders. Not setup for success

    Advice to Management

    Align to the company strategy, move with the times and hire better

    The Very Group2019-05-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "False values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Oldham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Health and Saftey, Family friendly hours

    Cons

    You're just a number, doesn't live by their own values, meaningless promises

    Advice to Management

    Where can I start? Despite being made redundant, staff have lived by the values of Shop Direct. We've given blood, sweat and tears for this company (many over several generations). We were told we were being made redundant, and despite this disappointment, we continued to diligently do our duty for the company, miss very and our own high personal standards. We were promised we were being made redundant and their was no possibility of our jobs being saved (confirmed by the Mayor of Manchester, Oldham MP, local Councillors and USDAW). We have now had over a year of accepting this, working to our next career path and many of us have taken on substantial financial burdens in preparation for our future careers (myself with loans I will pay off with my redundency payment). We have now been sold like numbers on a piece of paper to another company, told we have no guarantees we will be made redundant and after 2021 we have no guarantees on anything from jobs to working hours to wages & benefits. Not only has this caused incredible disappointment and confusion to 99% of our site, it's also caused great financial uncertainty and an utter collapse in our trust in this company. Staff in Speke offices can be hired, fired and moved on in a heartbeat and the warehousing staff are just numbers they want to get off their books. The values we have lived by for so long are meaningless. You'll be told them constantly, but it appears those who have created these values are the only ones who don't abide by them.

    Show More
    The Very Group2019-05-09
  3. "Good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Assistant in Shaw, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Targets are set however no major pressure to reach them, and if exceeded bonuses are given. Employee looks after you Overtime readily available Good shift patterns Good rate of pay

    Cons

    Usually only seasonal work, around Xmas

    The Very Group2019-03-07
  4. "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some great people doing some good work at SD. In a great environment at their head office in Liverpool.

    Cons

    Can be a highly corporate and siloed place to work with different areas of the business not always pulling in the same direction.

    Advice to Management

    Need to create a more inclusive environment. Too many people are concerned with empire building and not doing what’s best for the customer.

    The Very Group2019-03-15
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Shaw, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for Your progression

    Cons

    Re-locating to midlands.loss of employment

    The Very Group2019-02-23
  6. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Operations Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work been here 13 years across multiple roles the culture is world class

    Cons

    Parking can be difficult and expensive if you are unable to locate an on site parking space

    Advice to Management

    Treat those below you well and they will work their hardest

    The Very Group2019-01-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Started off great but has no chance of career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Manager in Shaw, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - friendly environment - good hours - good pay

    Cons

    - internal politics - favouritism - little involvement in business changes.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favourites when hiring managers. It's the reason why management levels leave a lot to desire.

    The Very Group2018-11-18
  8. "Constantly changing and improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They're willing and are actively continually improving work environments. Opportunities to develop are quite frequent internally.

    Cons

    The changes can take a while to take effect so colleagues may not feel the benefits. Middle management can be a little stuck in their ways.

    Advice to Management

    Attempt a common sense approach on some occasions. Continue listening to colleagues to further develop and improve the individuals.

    The Very Group2018-10-16
  9. "Great family feel and atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payment Negotiator in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time

    Pros

    Great team and fun working environment, training and support is great,

    Cons

    Would like to see more career opportunities outside of the contact centre

    The Very Group2018-10-10
  10. "payments clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payments Clerk in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    friendly people good working enviroment

    Cons

    always looking for new people

    Advice to Management

    knowledge is more important

    The Very Group2018-08-17
Found 114 reviews