The Very Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Very Group Reviews

Updated 9 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
The Very Group Group Chief Executive Henry Birch (no image)
Henry Birch
37 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Data Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great enviroment, experienced leaders, company inform changes, company have lots of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    No cons at the moment. Still relative new in the company.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-04-26

    The Very Group Response

    September 5, 2019CTO

    Great to have you on the team. You're in a key position as we continue our journey to put tech and data at the centre of the business.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to grow!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really inclusive place to work, you get out of this company what you put in. There are loads of opportunities to try new things and there it lots of ambition.

    Cons

    Going through a bit of transition at the moment with it’s organisation structure and I think it still has some way to go. Looking promising, so here’s hoping!!

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-05-09

    The Very Group Response

    July 30, 2019Head of Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your positive review, we really appreciate the feedback. We will absolutely continue to listen and ensure that all our colleagues have a voice here at Shop Direct – its hugely important to us – we’re in this together!

    Continue reading
  3. "Typical Call Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Easyish work if you can talk fluently on phone, a lot to pick up at first but easy once learned

    Cons

    poor organisation from directors, NOT customer focused at all, tough to explain policies to customers who are clearly getting ripped off

    The Very Group2019-05-16
  4. "Commercial Finance lagging behind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Finance Manager in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hard to pick many out

    Cons

    Limited direction within commercial finance and unfortunately poor leaders. Not setup for success

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-05-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "False values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Oldham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Health and Saftey, Family friendly hours

    Cons

    You're just a number, doesn't live by their own values, meaningless promises

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-05-09
  6. "Good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Assistant in Shaw, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Targets are set however no major pressure to reach them, and if exceeded bonuses are given. Employee looks after you Overtime readily available Good shift patterns Good rate of pay

    Cons

    Usually only seasonal work, around Xmas

    The Very Group2019-03-07

    The Very Group Response

    April 9, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review with us, we really appreciate it!

    Continue reading
  7. "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some great people doing some good work at SD. In a great environment at their head office in Liverpool.

    Cons

    Can be a highly corporate and siloed place to work with different areas of the business not always pulling in the same direction.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-03-15
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Shaw, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for Your progression

    Cons

    Re-locating to midlands.loss of employment

    The Very Group2019-02-23
  9. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Operations Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work been here 13 years across multiple roles the culture is world class

    Cons

    Parking can be difficult and expensive if you are unable to locate an on site parking space

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-01-28

    The Very Group Response

    January 28, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a positive review on your 13 years here at Shop Direct!! To think of all the things we've achieved as a team in those years... calling time on catalogues, introducing 5 star rated apps, winning employer of the year award, it's been busy and I'm glad you've been a part of it! We know car parking can be an additional expense, but we hope that through our transport schemes such as free car sharing spaces, bike 2 work, or travel loans that it can help provide an option to those travelling into work.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Started off great but has no chance of career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Manager in Shaw, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Very Group part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - friendly environment - good hours - good pay

    Cons

    - internal politics - favouritism - little involvement in business changes.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2018-11-18

    The Very Group Response

    November 19, 2018Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that your time here didn't live up to early expectations. Happy to chat through though to understand more if you'd like to get in touch - lee.harding@shopdirect.com

    Continue reading
Found 121 reviews