The Very Group Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 14 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
The Very Group Group Chief Executive Henry Birch
Henry Birch
78 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced, great people, recognition(in 15 reviews)

  • "easy work, and good people to work with(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours systems salary progression(in 7 reviews)

  • "Pettiness senior management lack of trust(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company

      15 Nov 2020 - People Team Member in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced, great people, recognition.

      Cons

      Change can happen too quickly and too often

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Very Group Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you so much for your positive review of your time in the people team so far! We love hearing your feedback, and hearing that you enjoy the recognition and people you work with at The Very Group too. We appreciate that things move quickly here at Very; rewriting retail sure keeps us on our toes to make sure we continue to evolve to match our customers expectations. If you'd like support with handling change we'd always encourage you to share your thoughts with your line manager, or check out some of the fab skill sessions for Very Mindset in Talent Online. Thanks again!

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Average

      14 Jan 2021 - Data Scientist in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, nice atmosphere, flexibility (work start/end time, remote work), good benefits inc. private healthcare, life insurance etc.

      Cons

      Limited career opportunities, average or below average market salary, lots of IT issues, old processes making difficult to implement any changes

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Very Group Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Hey there, thanks for leaving a review on your time with us so far, we appreciate it. We're looking to build a place to work where people thrive and develop and so your feedback around career opportunities is something we'd really encourage you to speak openly with your line manager about, to see what career paths could be available to you, or alternatively, please drop a note to glassdoor@theverygroup.com and I can connect you to the right people in the people team. Thanks!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place To Work

      5 May 2020 - Team Manager in Derby, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere to work, great people, fantastic facilities, valuable values, new generation

      Cons

      At this moment i have no concerns

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Very Group Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for the positive review, and feeding back that you're enjoying the culture, people, facilities and more in our new site Skygate! Our values are so important to us and at times like these its more important than ever that we are led and guided by them to support our colleagues when they need us most. Good to hear no concerns currently, our ears are always open to hearing about suggested improvements so we that we can build a great place to work for our people so please keep us posted as you spend more time at the new site. Have a great weekend!

    4. 3.0
      Former Contractor, more than 5 years

      Nice place to work

      9 Jun 2020 - Creative Designer in Speke, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, great facilities, onsite gym, subsidised restaurant

      Cons

      No parking for contractors, high turnover of leadership team.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Welcome back Mojo!

      27 Aug 2019 - Senior Cloud Engineer in Wallasey, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exciting, energetic and interesting. After 18 years in my previous company I think my mojo had gone ;-) I am really enjoying my new role at SD. Great people and a great company. Early days I know but I have a good feeling we are going places together

      Cons

      None as yet and I am sure there will be hiccups along the way but seems an open and honest company that will listen

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Very Group Response

      CTO

      Great to hear your mojo is back! Let's make sure it's back for good :-)

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A great place to work

      4 Oct 2019 - Head of Logistics in Speke, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very collaborative, supportive environment. High paced Excellent facilities at head office Great people Constantly evolving

      Cons

      Still working on getting rid of some ancient core systems, some frustrations around the pace of IT change as a result.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Very Group Response

      Logistics Director

      Hi there, thanks for the 5* review. I agree, it's great fun to work in a fast paced, collaborative and supportive environment. We pride ourselves on developing this environment for all colleagues and will continue to do so. We are working hard on developing our systems and our new CTO has already started to develop an agile framework to deliver change at pace.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      25 Jun 2019 - Credit Risk Analyst in Speke, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, great people, good values in the company

      Cons

      Don't have any complaints really

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Very Group Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Great to hear you appreciate the pay, people and values here at The Very Group ;-) Would love to continue hearing your feedback as we roll out the refreshed company values this year. We hope colleagues continue to be inspired and connected to them as we start to land our new company strategy. Exciting times!

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      A mixed bag

      15 Mar 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some great people doing some good work at SD. In a great environment at their head office in Liverpool.

      Cons

      Can be a highly corporate and siloed place to work with different areas of the business not always pulling in the same direction.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      27 Sep 2017 -  in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, great products, great leaders, great colleague discounts! Pay and benefits are great as is the flexibility to get the job done plus lead a full life outside of work .

      Cons

      Going through significant transformation and change which can leave some people unsettled. Resilience required and ability to work in modern collaborative ways.

      3 people found this review helpful

      The Very Group Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you for your review! We couldn’t agree more about the great teams, products and leaders that we have across our business. We’re really happy to hear you’re having such a positive experience working for us.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great atmosphere and friendly people

      9 Oct 2017 - Senior Analyst in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people who work here are by and large great people. The atmosphere is very welcoming and not "too corporate". Pretty laid back.

      Cons

      Sometimes the business is a little siloed and people are set in there ways. This has been improving but work still needs to be made.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Very Group Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you for your review! We couldn’t agree more about the great teams we have across our business. We’re really happy to hear you’re having a positive experience working for us.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Very Group Job Seekers

    Fraud Investigator
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Online Merchandising Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    Digital Customer Experience Director
    Learn About the Job

    Work at The Very Group? Share Your Experiences

    The Very Group logo
    or