The Very Group "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Very Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 9 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
The Very Group Group Chief Executive Henry Birch (no image)
Henry Birch
38 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent culture and environment. Plenty of opportunity to progress career in a number of directions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Manager in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time

    Pros

    Excellent culture and environment for the most part, with a good set of people at the helm that care. Plenty of opportunity to progress career in a number of directions. Top-notch facilities. Good flexibility offered allowing for a decent work/life balance.

    Cons

    Ageing core systems and IT infrastructure can limit and restrict ability to implement change/improvements at pace. Very Speke-centric despite operating over multiple sites.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2020-03-09
  2. "Great Culture, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always working on continuous improvement, listening to employees, respectful of work/life balance needs.

    Cons

    High expectations, tight deadlines, need for process improvements for delivery.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2020-02-12

    The Very Group Response

    February 14, 2020Head of Culture

    Thanks so much for sharing this positive yet balanced review! Its great to see that the efforts and high expectations we set around listening to our people and working to make things better is being noticed. Its also great to hear your thoughts on process improvements, if you'd like to share more about this you can at glassdoor@theverygroup.com

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company looks after their employees very well compared to other companies I have worked for. Good salary, good holiday and good flexible hours. Also a nice, sociable, successful company to work for. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    No job progression as nobody leaves the company.

    The Very Group2020-01-07

    The Very Group Response

    January 10, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review, glad to hear your positive feedback on our exciting social events, hope you enjoyed Christmas party! :-) Helping people to progress their careers is really important to us. Currently, around 50% of our appointments into bigger roles are filled by internal candidates, but we’ve set ourselves a goal of moving this to 75%, so we hope you'll see more opportunities across the business in the near future.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great flexibility, modern and forward thinking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Good competitive salary State of the art facilities (head office)

    Cons

    Outlying contact centre facilities are poor by comparison Some nepotism in certain departments Limited scope for upward progression in certain departments

    The Very Group2019-09-05

    The Very Group Response

    September 20, 2019Head of Culture

    Thanks for taking time the time to share your positive thoughts. We're constantly looking for ways to improve our facilities and sites, and its great that you recognise that we've made some state of the art in roads in this area, we know we've more to do here and this will continues to be a priority for us. We believe anyone can progress their career here at Shop Direct and we see this happen more and more when our teams collaborate cross functionally, opening up new avenues of progression that might not have been seen before.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Technologist in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked for the company in different roles for nearly 18 years Always been encouraged to progress within the company Great team of people to work with Company very keen on flexible working and work life balance Pay and Benefits are very competitive Fun and friendly environment to work in.

    Cons

    It can be frustrating and can take a while to implement changes/ ideas within the business .

    The Very Group2018-03-26

    The Very Group Response

    April 6, 2018Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it's great to hear about the positive experiences you've had with your teams over the last 18 years - wow! Flexible working is something we know is very important to our colleagues, and we are pleased that this is coming through for you to help with work/life balance. All the best!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work if you are happy not having a work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buying in Speke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for; benefits, culture, employee engagement and a feeling of involvement. They have recently introduced FlexYourself for improved work/life balance, a great gym and classes, juice bar, all employees have laptops to work in other areas of the office and the way they support local charity's is amazing.

    Cons

    Processes are poor and hinder the teams, something which you'd naturally expect to be slick for a company of that size. They are doing something about it, but we don't know when it will launch. Work is all 'last minute' - meetings changing, information needed by COB deadlines, all urgent all of the time, no sensible deadlines although lots of planning. Teams (selling, buying and trading) need to talk to each other more as the pressure is ridiculous and is constant. They offer the work/life balance but most people are still working when they get home!

    The Very Group2017-11-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Friendly Environment and lots of benefits, overall great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Speke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - flexible working (good work/life balance) - gym - costa - discount - benefits - values The office is a great space and there are lots of opportunities to develop yourself if you have the mindset to do so. Relaxed(not too corporate) atmosphere in the office with a smart casual dress code. Lots of events in the street including nike, ugg and virtual reality events.

    Cons

    -Can take a long time to get what you want (e.g. equipment) as you have to know who to ask. -wifi is poor at the moment, but i know it is being looked into.

    The Very Group2017-10-24

    The Very Group Response

    November 30, 2017Employer Brand Manager

    Balancing a busy life is always a challenge so it’s encouraging to hear you’re doing a great job at it. There are definitely some great things to get involved with here at Shop Direct and we hope that we keep hearing about it!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Further your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfilment Data Analyst in Shaw, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic work life balance Great Benefits Excellent Development Opportunity’s Competitive Salary A feeling of belonging Working on the cutting Edge of Digital Technology

    Cons

    None that i can think of.

    The Very Group2017-09-29
  9. "Dynamic and growing environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent and Culture Partner in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Very Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A warm and welcoming environment and very collaborative place to work. Incredible personal development opportunities and company very open to colleagues developing themselves. Very aware of work life balance and making this happen.

    Cons

    A lot of different areas to get to know and understand how the full business works.

    Continue reading
    The Very Group2019-12-12

    The Very Group Response

    December 13, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is super important to us!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews