The World Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The World Bank Reviews

Updated 24 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
The World Bank President Jim Yong Kim
Jim Yong Kim
326 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance depends on your team-- mine made it manageable(in 104 reviews)

  • "Enriching, international work environment-- you work with people from all over the world(in 80 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unless you are staff (which only economists or high executives are) you have virtually no benefits(in 61 reviews)

  • "Very hard to be hired full time permanent(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transportation Analyst 

    I worked at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    Qualified professionals, dinamism, many responsabilities

    Cons

    Sometimes is a little bit bureaucratic and depends on the country political and economical context

    The World Bank2020-02-21
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Was okay - will come back to give different review if sites allows me to move on

    Cons

    No cons i could find

    Continue reading
    The World Bank2019-07-22
  3. "Junior Peofessional Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    Very diverse place to work and great mission.

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic and lack of clear path in some areas.

    The World Bank2019-03-16
  4. "ST Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    - Amazing environment to work in with dedicated, development-minded staff. - Work on big, important and exciting projects.

    Cons

    - There are some cases where people with similar levels of skills and experience can end up with quite different salaries.

    The World Bank2019-01-09
  5. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at The World Bank for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very motivated and qualified colleagues.

    Cons

    Contracts can be too short.

    The World Bank2018-07-02
  6. "An exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    - Excellent working environment -flexible working hours - learning opportunity

    Cons

    -Difficult to grow up the ladder

    The World Bank2018-05-16
  7. "consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at The World Bank

    Pros

    exciting environment with a lot of challenge

    Cons

    long selection process and very hard

    The World Bank2018-04-12
  8. "Mixed experience, lot of nepotism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    - Good experience if projects is near the top management

    Cons

    - Slow advancement in career - No benefits for contract-based employments - Arbitrarily deciding on salaries

    The World Bank2017-12-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    Smart, diverse group of colleagues. Most are hard working and dedicated to core objectives and the client. Cafeteria is excellent as well!

    Cons

    Structure is quite rigid and promotion is based off of experience and politics more than competence. This can be demoralizing to staff who work hard but aren't rewarded accordingly.

    Continue reading
    The World Bank2016-11-24
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Consulting at the World Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank

    Pros

    If you find a good TTL to work for, being a consultant at the Bank can be rewarding.

    Cons

    If you find a bad TTL to work for, being a consultant at the Bank can be demeaning, unfulfilling, and a waste of time beyond being able to pay one's bills.

    Continue reading
    The World Bank2016-01-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 883 reviews