The Zen Agency Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The Zen Agency Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
The Zen Agency CEO Alan Ronald
Alan Ronald
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "'Open and Interesting Place To Work.'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Social Media Marketing in Glasgow, Scotland
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Zen Agency for less than a year

    Pros

    The Zen Agency is a wonderfully open and transparent place to work. The wealth of experience and knowledge gained from the company's 20 year run makes it the ideal environment for someone looking to learn and grow in their industry. The management's inclusive style of working ensures that new team members are encouraged to contribute at all stages, and that any new ideas are considered. The Zen Agency is a business... that invests in it's employee's if they invest in the business. No two days are the same making it a fun and interesting place of work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Initial issues with set up and slow internet access which were quickly resolved.

    The Zen Agency2019-08-08
  2. "Absolute Disaster of a Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BD Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Zen Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't really think of any other than the office being round the corner from the train station.

    Cons

    If you're looking for a first job in Digital ... definitely look elsewhere. Staff pick up lots of bad habits that future employees really frown upon. The MD is very unpleasant. Business is hard to win because of the company's poor reputation.

    Advice to Management

    You'll need to change the way you work if you want success. It seems like you're just going round in circles without ever exceeding or meeting your own targets.

    The Zen Agency2019-11-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting and Exciting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Lead Software Engineer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Zen Agency for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects, good communication, friendly staff and CEO and reliable and prompt payment.

    Cons

    The projects are demanding, but that's the nature of agency work

    The Zen Agency2019-06-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fair Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI-UX Designer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Zen Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great central location, excellent working hours ie not required to work overtime often, a good range of global clients covering many sector types, decent office environment, nice team to work with

    Cons

    too close to the shops to spend money on!

    The Zen Agency2019-03-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nice people & good clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Freelance Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at The Zen Agency for less than a year

    Pros

    I work for the Zen Agency on a consultancy basis for content strategies and translations. All members of the team are always nice and approachable, plus the studio is very central which is easy for commuting. The agency works with big clients which is definitely a plus to build a portfolio in digital marketing.

    Cons

    The building is quite old fashioned but this is very common in the city centre of Glasgow.

    The Zen Agency2019-02-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "An established fun, fast paced environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Zen Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A company that has a wealth of experience. Extremely good location. Opportunity to grow and learn as an individual in the creative and development field.

    Cons

    The coffee shop that is just outside the agency is way too expensive! Have to walk an extra few feet to get one from somewhere else.

    Advice to Management

    As a new member of staff who has observed the previous comments on this website, I have found that this agency is not all the doom and gloom it is made out to be. It is a typical faced paced agency where you work, learn and grow. Anyone starting out in an agency like this would benefit from it's wealth of knowledge in the digital industry.

    The Zen Agency2019-02-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Zen Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None- everything about working here was terrible.

    Cons

    Everything is terrible. Also - any positive reviews are likely to be fake because the MD always burns his bridges.

    Advice to Management

    Close.

    The Zen Agency2019-02-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Please, look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Zen Agency full-time

    Pros

    Location very central, reasonable pay

    Cons

    CEO behaves in a child like manner, yelling and throwing tantrums at people. This causes an insane staff turnover and anyone daring to challenge the CEO can expect more abuse or being tossed out. Pay is slightly higher but work is dull with plenty of bits and bobs for big name clients and the only real marketing work is done with smaller clients, who receive very poor service. You will get the hairdryer treatment... from them when they feel conned of every penny they have and then again from the CEO who will refuse to take any criticism. Company has been spinning its wheels for over a decade because of this attitude.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look inward, people have tried to help you by giving you constructive feedback. This is not a Dickens novel, you can't behave in such an unprofessional way and then wonder why employees are leaving and clients are furious with you.

    The Zen Agency2018-12-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Dedicated to creating great experiences for clients and users"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - User Experience Consultant in Linthouse, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Zen Agency

    Pros

    I have recently worked as a UX Consultant with the Zen Agency and have found them to be very professional in their approach and respectful of my specialist skills. They are passionate about providing the very best service to their clients. They are dedicated to creating digital products which exceed client expectations and are highly targeted to user needs.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    The Zen Agency2017-07-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Working with The Zen Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graphic/Web Designer & Front-end Developer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Zen Agency

    Pros

    I have had the pleasure of working with Alan and the team on a freelance basis over the last year and I have been really impressed with the professional manner on how each project is approached. Coming from a freelance perspective, everything is carefully planned out prior to joining a project and a very smooth process. Any larger projects that come my way from my own contacts that i would need a team around me, I... would happily alternatively refer to The Zen Agency.

    Show More

    Cons

    In my time working within The Zen Agency offices, I have not came across any issues

    The Zen Agency2016-10-06
Found 16 reviews