Thomas International Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 183 of over 196 reviews

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Thomas International CEO Sabby Gill
Sabby Gill
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great leadership, Great people, fun work environment(in 9 reviews)

  • "Good social atmosphere and lots of experience within the management team(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/Life balance can be compromised particularly when on leave(in 10 reviews)

  • "Thomas is a fast-paced place to work(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    679

    219 Comments

    Tech

    82.2K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Thomas International~377051
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Massive upside opportunity for new joiners

      Oct 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s rare to find a company that combines a purpose-driven vision to help individuals and teams achieve through better understanding of themselves and each other, with a private equity funded, high growth tech environment that really brings out the best in people and attracts the highest talent available

      Cons

      None for those who want to feel the support and accountability and reward that high-paced environments demand

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thomas International Response

      Chief Executive Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review as well as recognising the journey we are on and building a company that allows us to deliver on our Vision of "A world of higher human ​achievement through a greater understanding of ourselves and each other​", and our Purpose of "We believe in unlocking the potential of every ​individual, team and organisation by making the ​complex nature of human behaviour, aptitude and ​personality easier for everyone to understand​". Recently the Senior Leadership Team went through an exercise where we put our vision into practice and took ourselves away from the business and looked at all the things that inhibit our growth, whether that is individually, as a team or as a business. I've made a commitment to my Senior Leadership to never forget that: 1) We are part of something bigger than ourselves. 2) No colleagues want to work on a team where they do not feel valued. 3) Employees want to wake up each and every morning feeling excited, optimistic and challenged about what they will tackle at work. 4) Employees want and need to feel that their best work is recognized and appreciated. 5) If I recognise successful milestones in my team's progress, their commitment to their team and project will increase accordingly. Sabby Gill CEO

    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      AVOID!

      Nov 25, 2021 - Business Development Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most have gone over the last 2 years. I literally cant think of any

      Cons

      The business of assessments is falling off a cliff! People have so many choices as too what they use and Thomas is so arrogant, they don't feel the need to make technology improvements. The entire sales team is behind target, leads are insufficient and poor. By far the worst part is the salary and commission {Ask to see a commission plan and you will see for your self} Thomas will tell you they are growing, customer numbers pain a different story

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thomas International Response

      Chief Executive Officer

      Thank you for leaving your review and I always value the opportunity to address open and transparently concerns raised, especially by current employees. I would also welcome the opportunity for you to address your concerns directly with me during the 6 monthly 1:1 regular catch-ups which as you will know are always an opportunity to bring to the table in a “safe place” any issues, concerns, blockers that exist within the business that people observe. I very much look forward to that opportunity and thank you in advance. With regard to addressing the items you raised. Firstly with regard to the assessments market. We have indeed seen sme changes in the market: • Global pandemic – businesses in survival mode over the last 18 months • Recruitment volumes were down at the start of 2021 and assessment users pivoted to post hire use; as hiring recovers mid market buyers still looking for post hire capability • Recruitment at all time high with over 1.2m vacancies in UK alone at the height. • ATS penetration increasing; integration capability even more vital • Investment in predictive hiring has increased and predictive hiring platform market is growing fast, led by the US • Tightening legislation and increased focus on uses of Data/AI in particular These are just a few, but not an exhaustive list of things going on in the assessment market, we are bullish on the opportunity and signs are very clear for us going forward as highlighted to the company during the strategy sessions that we have undertaken throughout the year and continue to refine, we are now at the point of setting out our plans for 2022. Very exciting times. With regard to your comment on attrition, not sure where you had seen or had reported that our attrition was at 40%. Just to ensure that the data points are correct, our voluntary turnover at the end of October was 19% and at the end of November is 18%. Both based on a rolling 12 month period. Once again, open to discuss this with you. I won’t openly comment on the sales commission plan, pricing and growth progression, again happy to openly discuss these with you and how these directly affect you and your team and I really do look forward to you reaching out to discuss these and any other items you raised in your review or may have on your mind. Sabby Gill CEO

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Friendly and inclusive culture with transparent leadership from the top

      Oct 8, 2021 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Autonomy Strong leadership Excellent product and marketing teams Ambitious goals

      Cons

      Fast paced environment might not be for everyone Lots of tech innovation and change so you need to be comfortable with spinning plates!!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thomas International Response

      Chief Executive Officer

      Firstly, can I please acknowledge just how important it is for us to receive reviews of how well we are doing as a business and as a leadership team. Only with these data points can we potentially look to improve the level of engagement and service we provide to the business, our employees and our customers. Thank you once again for leaving this review. Thank you for recognising the string leadership team we have within our Product and Marketing teams, we have some very strong talent that have many years of experience and are the bedrock for our delivering and executing on both our Business and Product roadmaps over this coming period. I also recognise that over this last year there has been an acceleration in the amount of deliverables within the business as we focus on the key strategic priorities and those initiatives that drive the most value for our customers and help us in delivering positive business outcomes. We’ve ramped up our technology investments in both tools and resources as well as increased our technical capacity, we’ve also increased our operational excellence by tripling the size of our team in that area alone. We remain committed and focused. Sabby Gill CEO

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      The recently published strategy has provided a clear direction for the company

      Oct 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The SLT team are genuinely focused on making this the best business it can be. The people are driven, friendly, supportive and kind. The focus on wellbeing is genuine. The recent salary benchmarking has provided recognition, clarity and pathways for individual development and progression The assessments are amazing tools to drive personal and professional development.

      Cons

      Difficult to get to know new employees due to remote working.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thomas International Response

      Chief Executive Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I appreciate the comments with regard to the focus of the Senior Leadership Team and recognising our goal of making not only the business the best it can be but also each and every employee with focused initiatives around DE&I, Career Development through Benchmarking and the continuous use of our own Assessments and most importantly the creation of our Mental Health First Aider program (1 MHFA to every 8 employees as a ratio). Last week Thomas International was awarded “Leadership Through Challenging Times” at the Thames Valley SME 100 Growth Awards event which was a great way of showcasing all the efforts of the entire global leadership team, not just the Senior Leadership Team. Each and every manager in our business will take pride in that award. We recognise the need for employees to get together in person, whilst Hybrid and remote working practices do provide some element of flexibility to our teams, the need for social interaction and mental stimulation which increases with physical interaction is recognised as being important and with the offices open 3 days a week and with a very collaborative, open office strategy and nobody in the business (including myself as CEO) not having an office and or a dedicated desk, does allow for better engagement, interaction and a very open and transparent communication environment and we’ve now ramped up our communications in addition to the weekly stand-up, we will be introducing further town halls, regional communication events, newsletters as well as focused customer and sales sessions to ensure that the latest and greatest messaging is communicated to all teams across the business. Sabby Gill CEO

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      An excellent company with supportive and talented employees

      Aug 24, 2021 - Assistant Data Psychologist in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I could not have joined a better company at a better time. Thomas International as a company and my team specifically have not only been supportive, but cheerleaders and champions of my success. Having just passed probation, it gives me incredible confidence in the work I am doing as well as the value I bring to the company. I am lucky to work alongside incredibly talented and passionate individuals, who only want to see improvements and success across the company and their colleagues.

      Cons

      I do not have any truly bad to say about Thomas International other than there have been some changes in quick succession that bring a feeling of uncertainty. However not having been with the company long, these changes might have been necessary for the success of employees and improvement of the company as a whole.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thomas International Response

      Chief Executive Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I personally so highly appreciate that people take time out of their busy schedules to help us improve the overall employee experience and what we can do better as an employer. The Data Psychologist team are an extremely talented and highly appreciated group within the business. I am so glad that you have sailed through your probation and we are lucky to have you within Team Thomas. You do join a group of highly talented individuals who are passionate about assessments. Long may it continue. We've done 40 years so far, now for the next 40 years. We have seen a higher level of attrition and I believe this is something that not only Thomas are experiencing, as markets pick up and opportunities arise, we have seen people tempted to move and whilst I hate to lose good people, I also gain some great ones too. We'll continue to strive to make Thomas a great place to work and this years number 1 objective remains to do that. We are on the right path to achieve that. Thank you once again and I wish you great success in your career at Thomas. Sabby Gill CEO

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A really good company to work for with great people

      Aug 17, 2021 - Account Manager/Sales Executive -Acquisitions 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      What really stood out for me was that everyone in Thomas were there to support you - you only had to ask. Everyone embraced supporting each other through the pandemic and in my experience nothing was too much trouble for anyone – I worked within a great team with an excellent manager and have made some great friends in Thomas – this is a good company to work for and under the new leadership it will be going places.

      Cons

      I never had any downside with Thomas - it is a fast evolving company with challenging targets so it can be intense ( fun) but no more that any other company I have worked for.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thomas International Response

      Chief Executive Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to respond and recognising the support each of us for our fellow colleagues. The last 18 months has caused Thomas like every other company to rethink the way it goes about it's ways of working whether that be hybrid working, mental health support or recognising when people just need a day-off. We are committed to ensuring people remain our #1 priority and this is reflected in our FY20 Objective if making "Thomas A Great Place To Work". Thank you once again and we welcome your advice. Sabby Gill CEO

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Company

      Jul 30, 2021 - Head of Sales Enablement in Marlow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, collaborative, innovative, caring for employees, great communication flow, strong leadership,

      Cons

      Thomas is a small company that is experiencing some of the growing pains you would expect of a business its size. It is working towards but needs to fix a lot of its operational processes and but otherwise a fantastic company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thomas International Response

      Chief Executive Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share your experiences with us here at Thomas. Some great recognition for the team and the journey we are on and glad that you have highlighted the most important elements of our FY21 Objectives. "Making Thomas A Great Place To Work". The focus on the health, wealth and well being of all our employees globally and ensure that we have the right level of focus, resources and infrastructure to enable every person to do their job to the best of their ability will always be an integral part of the DNA of the Senior Leadership Team. Also we appreciate you highlighting and recognising that growth at such an aggressive rate is not always easy and the operational focus is imperative for our future and our success. Thank you once again. Sabby Gill CEO

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great product but bleeding talent

      Aug 10, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great mix of products and a nice office to work in

      Cons

      It’s quite sad that lots of good people have left, they need to ask the question Why? PE ownership has really changed the culture, not for the better.

      4 people found this review helpful

      Thomas International Response

      Chief Executive Officer

      Thank you for leaving your review and taking the time to leave your comments. Our attrition has indeed increased and we've used it as a perfect opportunity to upskill on the talent we are attracting and we are extremely lucky to have attracted the calibre of individuals into the organisation. With regard to the negative Business Outlook that you seem to have responded to, you may have missed the results that we posted at the half year. I won't comment on the "Recommend" and or "CEO Approval". I wish you well in your future endeavours. Sabby Gill CEO

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Making progress

      May 5, 2021 - Sales Executive in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Achievable targets, Good senior leadership support Strong focus on Inclusion since new CEO appointed International Business more part of Team Thomas New people being hired in crucial support roles, Rev Ops/ BDRs/Enablement Investment in tools and systems

      Cons

      A bit slow in getting things done No Salary increase or Bonus this year Product Strategy unclear - still selling HUB Internationally - but no clear roadmap Would like to get new product within International Markets Corporate teams are getting better, but still tendency to think UK first

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thomas International Response

      Chief Executive Officer

      Thank you for taking the time and leaving a review. It is great to see the recognition on the progress we are making as a business and identifying some of the major investments we are making as a business. We continue to push ahead with operational excellence and have significantly invested in the operations team and realigned several groups across the business to ensure that our speed of getting and making decisions with consistent processes and cadence. We've introduced a number of specific objectives across the company this year that provide focus on both UK and International markets, the introduction of our new platform and continued investment in Hub (existing platform) shows our continued focus on our customers. We now have built our product roadmaps for our portfolio of products and our continued focus on strategy will continue to ensure we look further afield. We appreciate the time taken on leaving the reviews and encourage more, only then can we assess what we need to do differently and this is something that is at the heart and focus for me and the leadership team. Sabby Gill (CEO)

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Friendly company that is going places

      Mar 12, 2021 - Product Marketing Manager in Marlow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Thomas is a great place to work - it's not perfect, but nowhere is. The leadership team recognises that there is work to do on systems and processes, but has assembled a crack team of individuals to work on this. The business is full of great, friendly and welcoming people - everyone collaborates well, with few silos in place around the business. I love that our weekly company meeting begins with plenty of friendly banter, and that people from all over the business with varying levels of tenure get involved - it's not just an "old boys club". The culture is good here - lots of people wanting to get involved in fun initiatives as well as fundraising for charities. Everything from growing moustaches for Movember, to raising money for Smart Works, a charity that helps women to get back into work, to running Christmas-themed quizzes, to hosting regular diversity and inclusion talks with guest speakers to inspire us. We've got a good senior leadership team - all exceptionally clever, good at their jobs, and very personable. They have the company and the people's best interests in mind when making decisions. They're actively trying to improve the company while adding value to our investors and customers, without having a negative impact on employees. Fantastic product - it's still a work in progress, but has huge potential. I wouldn't be here if I didn't believe in it! There's a big focus on employee wellbeing and mental health - such an important thing, and it comes from the CEO down. We've recently trained a large number of Mental Health First Aiders, and enjoyed a "Wellbeing Day" (aka free day off). When in the office (remember those days?!) we have decent facilities in good locations (Marlow and Central London that I've been to). Good coffee machines, comfy chairs and desks, plus fresh fruit and snacks provided. We all work hard, but people are recognised for this, and the leadership team are very conscious of encouraging a good work/life balance. During the pandemic, some people across the business were furloughed, and we agreed to take temporary voluntary pay reductions (that have since been reversed as the outlook has improved) to protect the company's cashflow. These were eminently sensible decisions that were not taken lightly, and enabled us to keep going through the pandemic and subsequent economic downturn. Many other businesses around the country had to take similar actions, but not all have come out the other side as we have.

      Cons

      It feels like we were trying to run before we could walk with our new product, but this has since been recognised and reined in. Everyone's excited about the potential of the new platform and the value that it does already give, as well as what it will give once it has the full functionality that we and our customers want. The benefits package could do with expanding - it's not awful by any stretch of the imagination, but there are plenty of other organisations giving better benefits to their employees. It's the first place I've ever worked without Death In Service benefit (in over 25 years in IT), which may seem minor, but is something I'm very conscious of. However, I know that the HR team are working on sorting out the benefits including this.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thomas International Response

      Chief Executive Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and provide so much valuable information and acknowledgement of all the "Pros" that have been referenced, there are so many that show the level of commitment from Thomas to deliver on the 2021 Objective and executive commitment of "Make Thomas A Great Place To Work". Thank you also for the advice to Management and we will continue to focus and ensure we continue to praise all employees across the company and are grateful to the engineering team on a job well done (so far - still lots to do - which I am excited to see delivered). We have a great group of employees and colleagues and I am proud to be the leader of an exceptional company. Sabby Gill CEO

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 183 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Thomas International Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Thomas International? Share Your Experiences

    or