Thomas International Reviews

Updated 23 Feb 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Thomas International CEO Sabby Gill
Sabby Gill
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great leadership, Great people, fun work environment(in 9 reviews)

  • "Good social atmosphere and lots of experience within the management team(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life balance can be compromised particularly when on leave(in 10 reviews)

  • "Thomas is a fast-paced place to work(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "I love working at Thomas"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International full-time

    Pros

    Thomas is full of talent and has a very supportive and open culture which has been particularly evident over the last 12 months. Advice and feedback is welcomed and even encouraged and very often results in positive change. The SLT, HR and managers truly care about the employees and wellbeing is a top priority which is seen throughout the entire business. There are a lot of negative reviews which ultimately I don’t agree with and mostly come from ex employees rather than current and I don’t think they represent Thomas accurately.

    Cons

    The pay could be more competitive.

    Continue reading

    Thomas International Response

    February 21, 2021Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for our comments and recognition that everyone is taking employee engagement extremely seriously and are doing more than just talking about. Having a strategy under these uncertain times for our employees and colleagues is imperative and "Making Thomas A Great Place To Work" was voted as the top strategic objective by our employees and I am glad to see the positive feedback that reinforces that we are "walking the walk". We will continue this focus and momentum and will not let up in anyway. With regard to the comment around being competitive with pay, I commit to ensuring that we have competitive levelling, benefits and grading within the company and that includes external salary benchmarking. Sabby Gill CEO

  2. "An Enjoyable Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomas International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training at Thomas was excellent and helped me to prepare for a sales role which was a position I was not as experienced in. They were able to take someone who did not have much experience in sales and no experience in psychoanalytical assessments and help me to succeed in closing deals.

    Cons

    Sometimes, due to the nature of sales work, you do come across the odd snake in the grass

    Thomas International Response

    February 21, 2021Head of HR

    You comments really resonated with me. It is great to see Thomas Assessments in Action. The assessment that you took must have highlighted something around your behaviour, personality and or aptitude that people miss when they just look at experience, skills and qualifications. The fact that you had little sales experience and or background in psychometrics and you've enjoyed your time with us and were successful in closing out some deals, is perfect. So great to see and I wish you the very best and continuous success. Sabby Gill CEO


  3. COVID-19

    "Positive, Supportive Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good eye on development Supportive colleagues Great global initiatives Vision that can be bought into

    Cons

    Due to the pandemic it is difficult to have regular social catch-ups as a company

    Continue reading

    Thomas International Response

    February 21, 2021Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for our comments and recognition around the positive support that is in place for our employees across Thomas. "Making Thomas A Great Place To Work" was voted as the top strategic objective by our employees. You cannot achieve and focus on something like that without an openness from your employees, and a culture that instils "belief" that things can and will be different and that all our employees that belong to Team Thomas are important. I also very much look forward to the opportunity to speak to and see our teams across the globe, since becoming CEO I have not had the opportunity to visit any of our International offices and customers. Whilst I absolutely appreciate that technology has changed the way we will interact in the future, I do still strongly believe that you can't beat good old human and social interaction. Sabby Gill CEO

  4. COVID-19

    "I Feel Lucky to be Here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ambitious sales targets and growth expectations, but Thomas care about their people.

    Cons

    Challenging market conditions and you have to accept some level of constant change

    Continue reading

    Thomas International Response

    February 8, 2021Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to comment and provide the feedback which is invaluable to the Senior Leadership team. Your comments reinforce our approach and the 2021 objective which has the highest level of interest from our colleagues which was to "Make Thomas a great place to work". The approach to open, transparent and regular communication will continue, we also appreciate the comment around ensuring we listen to the feedback and our most recent employee opinion survey closed on the 4th Feb and we will be asking a team of colleagues to actively be involved in reviewing the feedback and driving the recommendations for the Senior Leadership Team. Our number one priority is and will always continue to be the safety and welfare of our employees and their families and accommodate whatever level of flexibility is required during this pandemic. Sabby Gill CEO

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good culture but stifled career pathways"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Support Executive in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomas International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Young and dynamic workforce with a positive people culture

    Cons

    Salary not competitive and little to no structures for growth & development in any team

    Thomas International Response

    February 21, 2021Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for our comments and recognition around the positive people culture that exists within Thomas. "Making Thomas A Great Place To Work" was voted as the top strategic objective by our employees. You cannot achieve and focus on something like that without an openness from your employees, and a culture that instils "belief" that things can and will be different and that all our employees that belong to Team Thomas are important. With regard to the comment around being competitive with pay and little to no structures for growth and development. Firstly, thank you for raising this, I commit to ensuring that we have competitive levelling, benefits and grading within the company and that includes external salary benchmarking. Also we are building out a competency framework along with our levelling to ensure that career paths are well understood and internally as a Leadership team we look at internal career progression as well as succession planning. Sabby Gill CEO

  6. "Poor feedback and recognition"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, limited options for progression

    Cons

    Communication is left to lower levels for no apparent reason! Why not work with us?!

    Thomas International Response

    February 25, 2021Chief Executive Officer

    If you are indeed a "Current Employee" based in Marlow, I'd welcome the opportunity to speak to you in person around your observations and comments especially with regard to communications. You may have missed the fact that Kick-offs and the Weekly Stand-ups each Friday involved colleagues outside of the Senior Leadership Team, the most recent employee opinion survey analysis is being done by a sub group of leaders across the business which does not include the Senior Leadership team, also the survey is conducted every 3 months to ensure that we have a pulse on how the organisation is feeling. So more than happy to listen if given the opportunity and would welcome you to come forward and anything you share will be done in the strictest of confidence and I can also guarantee there would be no repercussions from any information that you share with me directly and or with Gillian Ward. Thank you in advance. Sabby Gill CEO

  7. Helpful (6)

    "Recent positive reviews are requested by upper management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International full-time

    Pros

    - Lots of leaving parties

    Cons

    - Fake positive reviews to mask a nasty, insecure environment. - Meetings and surveys around how to improve things are completely for show. - This is a small company, the high number of reviews should be seen as a warning

    Thomas International Response

    February 22, 2021Chief Executive Officer

    If you are indeed a "Current Employee" based in Marlow, I'd welcome the opportunity to speak to you in person around your observations and comments as this is very different to what I see in the business. Anything you share will be done in the strictest of confidence and I can also guarantee there would be no repercussions from any information that you share with me directly and or with Gillian Ward. Thank you in advance. Sabby Gill CEO

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Workplace review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training and Travel Coordinator in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Thomas International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting contacts around the world

    Cons

    bullying discrimination gossip communication problems

    Thomas International Response

    February 8, 2021Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your comments, it is concerning to me to believe and hear that there are any forms of bullying and or discrimination within Thomas International. We take great pride in our leaders and feel they are suitably equipped recognise and address any such situations should they ever arise. Since taking up the role of CEO since October 2020, I have not been aware and or seen any such behaviours, but will continue to ensure that the values and expected behaviours are upheld within Thomas International. Sabby Gill CEO

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Overall good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at Thomas International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Experienced people held the true values of the company Great customers Solid product (in 2020)

    Cons

    Company became too rigid and driven by "spreadsheets" after being bought Management are too far away from the coalface Does the product deliver what the clients require..... it did, but not any more Stop transferring accounts round

    Continue reading

    Thomas International Response

    February 1, 2021Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for comment and the recognition around the great product we offer to our customers and recognition of the employee values within Thomas. I also really appreciate you highlighting and sharing with us the areas which you believe we could do better. You may not be aware that there have been a number of changes within the organisation where we have removed layers within some of the direct sales team to streamline the structure for our customer facing and sales organisations. You may have been part of this reduction and not seen the benefits after the changes were made, our most recent customer NPS scored significantly higher to previous surveys, so we feel the changes had the desired effect. You can imagine when you have a restructure like this that accounts do move around, and whilst this is unfortunate, it is also necessary to ensure that we have the best profile of individual assigned to the right profile of account and create a cohesive relationships for both parties. The feedback on the changes so far have been well received and we'll continue to keep abreast of the situation. I have heard over and over with the many interactions that I have had with our customers that our people are a differentiator and that we continue to provide a level of service not seen in this industry and we take great pride in having an obsession in delivering outrageous customer service. Sabby Gill CEO

  10. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Great company, culture and benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and culture with amazing assessments that really help us to get the best out of our people. Thomas has evolved and 'grown up' over the last few years and all for the better. It's managed to retain it's people focus whilst still driving hard for big gains. The management's approach since Covid-19 has remained transparent and consistent, whilst working hard to focus the whole company on health and wellbeing, in particular mental health. They also ensure the focus is on the productivity and output, allowing us all to manage our days as preferred. There are numerous social committee and cultural activities taking place, even if just over Zoom, which really helps to cement team bonding especially as we're all remote working, but there is no pressure to partake which can sometimes be the case in other companies.

    Cons

    There is always so much going on it can be hard to keep up, especially as our Tech & Engineering teams continue to develop our tools and platforms. Recognition for a job well done can be improved upon, and I know it's something managers are trying to get better at. Thomas suffers from it's own success in that the pace in which things evolve leave little time to celebrate and the major wins can over shadow the marginal gains. It's also the best and worst thing being in a business full of high talent - it allows us to learn from each other but is hard to shine amongst so many stars!

    Continue reading

    Thomas International Response

    November 23, 2020Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We take great pride at Thomas International in our culture, beliefs and values. They are part of our DNA and we strive for making sure that they are exhibited in everything we do. The support that you identified during Covid and ensuring that every employees safety, security as well as both physical and mental health remained front and centre for the entire leadership team. We all appreciate that the 2nd lockdown was harder for most than the first and with it being so close to Christmas, and the uncertainty it brought was difficult. We’ll continue to do everything in our power to keep this as our number 1 priority. Thank you also for highlighting the great work done by the various teams within Thomas International. The Tech and Engineering teams have been instrumental in the release of our new Thomas Platform and they continue to do great work in ensuring that innovation continues in all the subsequent releases and plans for the future. I appreciate the comment around recognition, and we’ve agreed to extend some of the End of Year awards to a wider group of winners as well as included new categories to reflect on the great contribution by so many people through “unprecedented times” – thank for holding us accountable. Sabby Gill (CEO)

Viewing 1 - 10 of 169 English Reviews

Work at Thomas International? Share Your Experiences

Thomas International logo
or