Thomas International Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Thomas International Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 128 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Thomas International CEO Amir Qureshi
Amir Qureshi
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Wide range of Assessments Experience(in 22 reviews)

  • "Good social atmosphere and lots of experience within the management team(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Thomas is a fast-paced place to work(in 9 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance can be compromised particularly when on leave(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Love Team Thomas. Enjoy working with all of my colleagues in the business - great sense of togetherness across the teams. Excellent Benefits Package. There are a number of great benefits to suit all available at Thomas. I have worked for a number of companies in the past, and this is definitely the best offering. Support. I have found the company extremely supportive and open for conversations to ensure well... being is a priority.

    Show More

    Cons

    Fast paced company - this comes with pressure which can be an exciting opportunity to grow quickly, but also can be challenging with the focus is on too many things.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the communication and being open and honest about the direction and vision for the business.

    Thomas International2019-07-01
  2. "Thomas International - average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomas International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people that work there were great.

    Cons

    The Management needs to sort itself out

    Thomas International2019-06-26

    Thomas International Response

    August 8, 2019CEO

    Many thanks for taking the time to post your review although with such limited information and relative subjectivity it is pretty much impossible to respond. I absolutely agree with you about how wonderful our colleagues at Team Thomas are and thank you for recognising this. I hope ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thomas International is a place where change matters - free to make ideas, take responsibility and deliver. The people are great - friendly and dedicated

    Cons

    With private equity ownership comes more pressure with a desire to grow quickly. This brings opportunities but also the challenge of deciding what to focus on. New management team bringing experience at least.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating - it has improved in the last year and build on it more.

    Thomas International2019-04-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Energetic and Exciting Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great product and great CEO vision for growth. The company was recently bought out by a PE firm, so many changes happening which (I am sure) have caused angst in many. I am relatively new to the company (started this year), but there is good volume in the office, laughter, and positive energy. Employees who want to achieve results are motivated and happy. I genuinely do not see the negatives that I’ve read on here.... To the contrary, the environment is motivational and forward thinking.

    Show More

    Cons

    The business is transitioning from a family run business to a professional company, so there is a real lack of good reporting and access to actionable data. However, if you clearly define what you want, there is the desire to deliver it from the teams. And there is a roadmap in place to develop a better infrastructure that will service the company moving forward. Solid CTO.

    Advice to Management

    Recognise the employees who are there for the long game. I think most are! It’s a happy place to work!

    Thomas International2019-03-22
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Complete Shambles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas International full-time

    Pros

    Staff are so friendly - not the management.

    Cons

    Management are the most two faced I've ever come across in my career. Completely unorganized can't even seem to get a simple task like setting targets or paying commission correctly. Managers are either bully's or just scared of the senior leadership team, no support offered just poor managerial style and appaling approach to 121's.

    Advice to Management

    Stop bringing in new people (staff & management) focus on what you have already and nurturing that environment. Thomas sells psychometric assessments and 'helps' other companies with their in house issues - maybe start practicing what you preach.

    Thomas International2019-02-09

    Thomas International Response

    March 11, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your post and it is a shame you were not able to come to me and discuss this at which point I am sure we could have had a thorough and honest conversation. Our business and its managers have my full support and they way you describe Thomas is not the Thomas I see or ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Slave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None - Hated the job, colleagues were fun to work with though

    Cons

    Management is weak - they slave you and congratulate you one day hate you the next - you will find yourself working WAY more than your contracted hours and its seen as a must

    Advice to Management

    fix up

    Thomas International2019-02-14

    Thomas International Response

    March 11, 2019CEO

    Thank you for posting your review and it is a shame that it did not work out for you at Thomas. It seems from reading your comments that this was just not the right company for you and I do hope you have found the role that best suits your abilities and needs now.

  7. Helpful (6)

    "Poorly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomas International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The location isn't that bad

    Cons

    Unprofessional Poorly Managed Most employees are of low-level intelligence with superiority complexes Disorganised beyond belief for a business

    Advice to Management

    Start again?

    Thomas International2019-02-08

    Thomas International Response

    March 11, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your review and it is never pleasant when someone comments on other members of staff who they have worked with in such a negative way as you have here. I guess it is only for me to respond and say how sorry I am that you were not able to fit into Thomas which is a fantastic ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Exciting & Innovative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International full-time

    Pros

    Thomas is going through a huge period of growth and is transitioning from a family owned to a PE backed business. As you can imagine there is a lot of change, however, the CEO & SLT always ensured that everyone is kept up to date as much as possible with changes and business updates, through town hall meetings, weekly stand - ups and company events. The business is going from strength to strength and the... CEO and SLT are passionate about our people and improving engagement. Today is a great example of how they are bringing Team Thomas together... the Zoomathon! Thomas is a fun, exciting and innovative business with the potential to do even more amazing things.

    Show More

    Cons

    Thomas is still going through a period of change and transition, but the CEO & SLT are supporting all of the team members throughout this. As we continue to grow and evolve as a business, we are continuing to refine processes, but this will come in time. Thomas has made great progress this year.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Open communication, remain approachable, give team members a voice and ensure collaboration across all departments.

    Thomas International2018-11-29
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Don’t know what they’re doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International full-time

    Pros

    The people (not management), casual dress

    Cons

    expected long hours, expect you to attend every event you are invited to, do not care for your opinion, no trust, absolutely no support, two faced people looking to keep themselves in senior management’s favour, when you speak your mind, your cards are marked

    Thomas International2019-01-06

    Thomas International Response

    March 11, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your comments although this is not the company we are that you describe and I guess there is a very obvious reason you are not with Thomas now. We have a very open and honest culture and this is something supported by our company engagement results where we use one of ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (33)

    "Great company, toxic leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - We have some fantastic tools and instruments that can really help businesses to change for the better - There are still a number of awesome people working at Thomas, but this is under threat - The potential for change in the business is exciting, if the right leader can be found

    Cons

    The CEO is a bully who has no respect for people. His behaviour is emotionally erratic and manipulative, being Mr Nice Guy one moment and then driving people to tears the next. He claims to have an open-door policy, but that door is a one-way route to the exit, as has been shown by the disappearance of anyone who dares cross him (although he will tell you that they are all useless). He is personally responsible for... the high staff turnover and declining morale since the start of 2018.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a proper CEO who cares about the people, who can motivate and inspire them to grow the company the way the shareholders want.

    Thomas International2018-11-24

    Thomas International Response

    March 11, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your post and one thing I try and suggest to such reviews is that it is always better to try and talk facts than emotion where this can just get read as sour grapes for things not working out the way you wanted. My guess is that you are actually no longer in the business ...

    Show More
Found 128 reviews