Thomas Sanderson Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Thomas Sanderson Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Thomas Sanderson CEO  (no image)
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Thomas Sanderson is a good company to work for which pays good commission(in 10 reviews)

  • "The constant training and support i have received is second to none, the product is excellent and everyone in the company is so willing to help(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Sales Advisor in Waterlooville, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Thomas Sanderson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for wages good lots if incentives

    Cons

    Company relocated up north so unfortunately got made redundant

    Advice to Management

    They need to communicate more to the people who keep the business running and not the favourites

    Thomas Sanderson2019-09-16
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Analyst in Waterlooville, England
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Thomas Sanderson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team at the time whilst I was there Great people

    Cons

    Long Hours Poor employee benefits Office in need of modernising

    Advice to Management

    Improve work-life balance by introducing flexible working

    Thomas Sanderson2019-07-11
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Thomas Sanderson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is ok for the hours.

    Cons

    First of all, when you first start it seems like a dream come true but very soon the cracks show. Working in recruitment having to lie to people who were interested in roles when we knew full well theyre was no appointments and as a company that prides itself on intergity is poor. Was made to work on my own in an office on Saturdays for 3 hours which is fine other than most of the time the building was never open... so I would have to stand on my own in an empty industrial estate, same as for when working late nights till 7 in the winter when it is pitch black, does not help that there is no streetlights which makes you feel vulnerable. You are Lied to and promised your job is safe when the next day you have a smug boss telling you that you're gonna be made redundant. Manager in office is a very snobby and down right nasty lady, couldn't run a team, just got involved in nasty gossip. You go into work everyday dreading if she is in a bad mood as you will be given menial jobs so she can sit on her phone and browse the internet at her lesuire and will treat older members off staff with no respect, maybe too young and inexperienced to be in such a high position. Staff are constantly told to be positive and if you tell management you have concerns you are told to stop "putting the cat amount the pigeons". The office staff seem very nice when you first start until you have any sort of issue at all, god forbit you are in any way poorly as you will be taken into the office and made to feel ashamed and guilty for being poorly.. They are all 2 faced and if your face doesn't fit. You're a goner Not really anything good to say about the company and as for the directors. One of the female directors was a kind and patient lady, as for the man, well he seemed to get a kick out of telling a team of 4. Including a pregnant lady who was crying her eyes out that we were out of a job, just sat there with a smile, which added insult to injury. The previous officer manager was a very lovely man, he was very approachable but unfortunately was never there to be able to offer support from other nasty members off staff. Which meant you felt very unsupported.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Growing a heart might help, other than that, they're beyond helo

    Thomas Sanderson2019-01-21
  4. "Awful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Sanderson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay. Some nice people who work there. Modern working. Get to meet new people.

    Cons

    They promise you the world then tear it apart right in front of you. Managers are petty and downright cruel, unnecessarily cruel at that. If you’re in the good books or ‘clique’ you get treated like a king. If you have a free mind, you’re treated like a slave.

    Advice to Management

    Advice? Get rid of your management team and actually employ those with people skills and a heart!

    Thomas Sanderson2019-01-18
  5. "The hell itself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterlooville, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Thomas Sanderson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have met some of the most precious people here, intelligent, smart, brilliant colleagues who would deserve much better than a call centre. Previous management was flexible and supportive (some of them) and treated employees as human beings.

    Cons

    Current management is a bunch of liars, absolute zero respect to the people working there. They think employees are idiots and disposable bolts in a machine. They keep telling you how important you are and the future is bright, but in reality, they don`t care about you, they only care about their own pockets and sell their employees out for pennies. Redundancy after redundancy (3 already this year only) and they... make sure to push expert seniors and competent managers out so they can do whatever they want. One day they tell you that everything is fine and there is a great future for the company, the next day your job is gone and they say sorry with a huge smile on their face. After making a quarter of their workforce redundant earlier this year they sent out communication to ask people `tell us how you embrace change and what would you celebrate` - while people didn`t know whether they will be the next tomorrow to lose their jobs. It doesn`t matter what you do or what you know, it only matters who you know and how far up you kissed yourself. Don`t come up with any ideas because they will take it, present it as their own and step over you in a second. I`m glad that finally the whole place is moving elsewhere and shuts down soon, it was the hell itself for the last couple of years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I`m sure it would be moderated out if I gave my honest advice

    Thomas Sanderson2018-11-30
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Wouldn't go back ...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design/Sales Consultant in Basingstoke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Thomas Sanderson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, good product training, commission paid quickly, the product is, without a doubt, excellent.

    Cons

    Commission only, leads often very poor, work life balance is not considered (you want a day OFF??) Its direct sales, its exploitative and hard to make a living (I did by the way) and its absolutely knackering

    Advice to Management

    Hmmm, not sure there's much point advising management as they are doing very well out of the system so unlikely to change

    Thomas Sanderson2017-12-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SALES DESIGNER in Orpington, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Sanderson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good commission and supportive team and technical support. Great basic payment for first 7 weeks to get you started. Good for people new to sales and good place to start career good learning curve. Good office staff very helpful.

    Cons

    Not very flexible, inexperienced managers using school ground tactics of manipulation & favouritism. The top sales people seem to get the best appointments, keeping the status quo

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and fair to new beginners and help them grow, listen to both sides of the story when there is a dispute.

    Thomas Sanderson2017-10-04
  8. "Loved this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SALES DESIGNER in Sandbach, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Sanderson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fabulous Training and support, regular meetings, amazing incentives and really generous commission structure. Products easy to sell as they are the best I have ever seen and my customers loved them

    Cons

    I didn't want to leave but personal circumstances said I had too. I know the door is open and cannot wait to go back : )

    Thomas Sanderson2017-06-19
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Not what you're told in training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SALES DESIGNER in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas Sanderson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of free time (too much), if you get a lucky sale from a customer with money to burn you'll get a decent wedge from it. Training bonus for 7 weeks is rather good, but believe me you'll need this and you'll panic after week 7.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, hardly any appointments, overpriced products which 95% of people cannot afford, you will be embarrassed every single time you present a price to the customer. You are told you'll get 10-15 appointments per week, I'm lucky to get 4, some weeks I've had 1 or 2 and my diary is completely open 7 days a week all 3 slots, product is hard to sell as is way beyond what other companies charge and you have... to discount so much that you'll end up with nothing, to get your RPA monthly bonus you need to have had 20 appointments in the month, only one of my training colleagues managed this. Lots of wasted time with terrible appointments. Unless you have a very well thought out own business plan it will be a waste of your time, and remember you're selling £1000's of products so own business is not easy to generate for anyone. You have to attend regular meetings which could be well over an hour away. Very high turnover of staff (there's reasons for this). Overall very disappointed. Also to add on 2/3 occasions I've been underpaid. There's 2/7 left from my training group, everyone was in high spirits in our training, most of which have left the company within first 2 months. I think mainly my dissatisfaction mainly revolves around not getting my 5 appointments per week, getting 2/3 per week will unlikely get you any commission, and if you sell at 40/50% discount and it "goes towards your RPA", I won't get an RPA bonus anyway because I hadn't reached 20 appointments... therefore without own business sales you'll be earning next to nothing after week 7.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Well..

    Thomas Sanderson2017-06-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Waterlooville, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Sanderson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salary, good vibe, fun

    Cons

    management push for targets but its sales

    Advice to Management

    none

    Thomas Sanderson2017-02-21
Found 29 reviews