Thomson Reuters Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Thomson Reuters Reviews

Updated 9 December 2018
7,190 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Thomson Reuters President and CEO James C. Smith
James C. Smith
2,496 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be a challenge at times"" (in 134 reviews)

  • "Ideas are only accepted when they come from upper management"" (in 158 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (7)

    "One Year Anniversary with TR Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Eagan, MN (US)
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Eagan, MN (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Culture (Welcoming, Flexible, Value-Driven)
     - Collaborative Atmosphere - people value your feedback/input at all levels of the organization
     - Employee Appreciation - TR truly values their employees (Employee Picnics, Continuous Education/Training, Career Development, Maternity Leave Policy (AMAZING!!!), and the overall Culture makes you feel appreciated and happy to be apart of this wonderful company.
     - Campus - this building and the campus is beautiful!! I have yet to walk around and explore.
     - Commute - my commute is so much better now. Makes a huge difference in my stress level not having to sit in traffic for hours!
     - Work/Family Balance - This company truly "Gets It" when it comes to balance with family and work. This is so important for your well being and state of mind.

    Cons

    - Communication - sometime with a company this big, it's hard to keep up with what's going on. The notifications are nice, but the come in all sort of directions and it can be a little overwhelming.
     - Company Structure - I know this is in the works - but it's challenging to know who does what and where! I've only been here a year, so I'm still learning the ropes around here :-)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!! This is an amazing company and I'm proud to be a part of it! :-)

    Thomson Reuters Response

    28 Jun 2018 – Digital Marketing Intern

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your one year of service.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I have just finished my first year as a graduate, so my review refers to this:
    * Interesting work - great scope to develop as a graduate
    * Great team
    * Excellent manager
    * Work from home when needed
    * Not bad remuneration
    * Town centre location (Nottingham)

    Cons

    Limited on-site parking, with spaces reserved for those who have been here longer than I (Nottingham). Parking nearby rather expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

  3. "Excellent employer for single parent giving full flexibility and care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - excellent working conditions for single mom with two children working full-time hours
    -total flexibility + received additional laptop and screens to for home working environment set-up
    -utter care taken to develop me, the employee
    -feel appreciated as a human being
    -feel that my ideas, thoughts and worries are heard

    Cons

    not applicable for me at all

    Advice to Management

    I am happy to be working at TR

    Thomson Reuters Response

    6 Dec 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.


  4. "Great people, confusing strategy - Reuters."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Great location, facilities, people. Commitment to the company is seriously impressive and the work ethic is second to none.

    Cons

    Management don't seem to know where the brand fits in the future and don't clearly communicate objectives.

    Advice to Management

    Invest the time in understanding what you want to be and your people will make it happen.


  5. "Sales Tax & Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Always new developments, software, services, global teams and lots to learn forward thinking, innovative.

    Cons

    Management structures, not too much room for promotions but lots of opportunities in other business areas at Thomson Reuters

    Advice to Management

    Trust your teams and colleagues

    Thomson Reuters Response

    29 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your 8+ years of service.


  6. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Great content coverage, Great and experienced customer facing colleagues

    Cons

    Lot of red tape, ever changing organisation, management with very little practical execution insight.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    29 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.


  7. "Great company with lots of benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    - Good people, good technology
    - flexible hours

    Cons

    - lots of changes
    - re-org every 6 months

    Thomson Reuters Response

    15 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Some good some bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The advantages were quite good, we were treated ok.

    Cons

    Thomson Reuters was having financial issues and anything that could get them quick cash, they did. They sold their Scientific information division (IP&Science) after milking this cow for years.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    29 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your feedback - we are always looking at ways to make improvements & candid feedback is the best way for us to understand the areas where we need to focus.


  9. "Good Company to work and great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great flexibility, Women friendly, supportive

    Cons

    New management changes, low pay

    Thomson Reuters Response

    15 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your 8+ years of service.


  10. "TR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice work environment, good life - work balance

    Cons

    Not many carreer opportunities in the company

    Thomson Reuters Response

    8 Nov 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.