Thomson Reuters Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Thomson Reuters Reviews

Updated 17 October 2018
7,045 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Thomson Reuters President and CEO James C. Smith
James C. Smith
2,426 Ratings

7,045 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be a challenge at times"" (in 130 reviews)

  • "Ideas are only accepted when they come from upper management"" (in 155 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I have just finished my first year as a graduate, so my review refers to this:
    * Interesting work - great scope to develop as a graduate
    * Great team
    * Excellent manager
    * Work from home when needed
    * Not bad remuneration
    * Town centre location (Nottingham)

    Cons

    Limited on-site parking, with spaces reserved for those who have been here longer than I (Nottingham). Parking nearby rather expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work


  2. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance and create benefits.

    Cons

    Speed of work can sometimes not be at the pace it could be.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    16 Oct 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We agree that when you work at Thomson Reuters, you’re partnering with the industry’s brightest thinkers. We are always looking at ways to make... More

  3. "Best of the Best Companies to work with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in London, England
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    All are Pros from Day1 and Last Day including those unlimited sickleaves etc

    Cons

    Only Cons is something I choose to leave this best company..thats my mistake

    Advice to Management

    Do the same good job by treat employees nicely!

    Thomson Reuters Response

    16 Oct 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The people are great here. It’s a diverse working culture. The company takes care to support flexible working where it is required, and the remuneration becomes competitive as you get more senior.

    It’s a global organisation so many roles have the opportunity to work with different cultures and run global services.

    The culture of the journalists and the photographers from the Reuters news organisation still colours a lot of the organisation – great pictures, and a global perspective, make it a fun environment to work in.

    As a technologist, Thomson Reuters has so far offered me a huge number of opportunities to develop my skills. If you join this company and keep your eyes open and pay attention to growing your network, you will get to do work that challenges you and supports your growth. You may need to be patient.

    Cons

    The organisation can be bureaucratic.

    It can take too long for promising young talent to get the opportunities they need to move up the organisation and gain greater responsibility and remuneration. Remuneration does not grow as fast as your market value or skillset!

    As people get more senior they can get stuck managing more and more staff and looking after the same technology – there is not always the organisational flexibility (e.g. comfort that backfill will be approved) to move talent sideaways around the organisation.

    The company is going through significant upheaval at the moment as it splits into two organisations – Refinitiv (a private company, mainly financial technology focus) and Thomson Reuters (a public company, professional information for lawyers and tax accountants, as well as the Reuters news agency and associated media). It is too early to say how this will play out.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    16 Oct 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your 5+ years of service.


  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    dynamic and independent workplace, nice colleagues.

    Cons

    company go through frequent re-org.


  6. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Competitive salary, good culture, flexible working arrangements. Good benefits packages. Reasonable bonus. Lots of opportunity to move internally. Generally open and talented people.

    Cons

    Lack of investment in professional development of the last few years. Normal frustrations of a large company. Whilst generally talented people, underperformance isn't properly addressed.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    16 Oct 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your 5+ years of service.


  7. "UX Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI-UX Designer in London, England
    Current Employee - UI-UX Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Plenty of challenging problems to solve. Great christmas party. Nice people. Opportunities to attend conferences & seminars.

    Cons

    Projects often driven by senior management who don't understand user centred design. Salary lower than others around Canary Wharf.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    16 Oct 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your 5+ years of service. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote... More

  8. "Good company - in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Great ethos
    Friendly
    More principled than most

    Cons

    Depends on products but some are now a bit old
    Lots of layers
    US centric

    Advice to Management

    Innovate genuinely

    Thomson Reuters Response

    16 Oct 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We agree that when you work at Thomson Reuters, you’re partnering with the industry’s brightest thinkers. We are always looking at ways to make... More


  9. "Flexible but Bureaucracy kills the innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Its a very flexible company to work for, you can easily work from home when its needed and the environment is professional and friendly. If you are hard working you will get a good chance to move up and be promoted. There is opportunity for everyone,

    Cons

    There is big hierarchy of management and breucracy , therefore there is no room for innovation. You will be working in a long term projects with very little opportunity to innovate.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    16 Oct 2018 – Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your feedback - we are always looking at ways to make improvements & candid feedback is the best way for us to understand the areas where we need to focus.


  10. "Financial Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Multicultural and global, good benefits, great environment, very flexible working

    Cons

    Basic salary is low, not so many opportunities to change department or area within the company.


Showing 7,045 of 7,629 reviews
Reset Filters