Thomsons Online Benefits Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Thomsons Online Benefits Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Thomsons Online Benefits CEO Stephen Read
Stephen Read
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people good salary good work ethic i like working there overall i had amazing experience(in 10 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pushing overtime and unhealthy work/life balance;(in 7 reviews)

  • "You need to be able to thrive in a fast paced environment - able to adapt quickly(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "AMAZING COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomsons Online Benefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Thomsons is a very special place and like no other. It is amazing to work for a company where so much care and consideration is taken over it's employees. The company has been through a lot of change, however it continues to thrive and it is such a good place to spend each day Although you will read a lot on here about the work life balance being bad; actually the flexibility that is provided here is amazing and... it's wonderful to see so many people being able to find the balance with kids and commitments!

    Show More

    Cons

    You HAVE to be up for mucking in when needed and really owning your own destiny and development. It will not work for someone who wants to clock off at home time everyday and never do a minute more

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture alive. We have had a lot of change after the Mercer acquisition and there have been a few wobbles in the culture feeling like it has taken a hit at times; please help us to keep all the good people here and great culture

    Thomsons Online Benefits2018-12-07
  2. "Amazing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Client Manager in London, England

    I worked at Thomsons Online Benefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team to be a part or. clear plan of where they want to business to go

    Cons

    dont manage the changes needed in the teams to make the changes happen. its very very high work load and little support

    Thomsons Online Benefits2019-08-29
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Working Practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Thomsons Online Benefits full-time

    Pros

    Good people Stable company Hard working people

    Cons

    Work life balance Overland employees so much that mistakes are made and the blame put entirely at the employees feet No consideration to life outside Thomsons even if family are unwell Expected to stay late at short notice Paid by pizzas in overtime They say challenge everything but if you do put forward any ideas, they are always turned down with no explanation why

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that people promoted from within have the experience and people focused as too many are not Listen to your staff, they keep your clients happy

    Thomsons Online Benefits2019-03-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing culture and a great place to develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomsons Online Benefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Brilliant collaboration between teams - Excellent values and culture that is truly at the heart of the company - Fantastic product and growth potential - A company that is working hard to ensure good mental and physical well being amongst their people - A bright future for existing and new members of staff

    Cons

    - Very fast paced, could be an issue if you don't like to move, develop and adapt quickly - Processes are still being built, a great opportunity but not ideal if you like everything set out for you

    Advice to Management

    Continue to utilise internal talent and develop your teams. Continue to put our clients and culture at the heart of all we do.

    Thomsons Online Benefits2018-11-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "All the benefits and culture in the world will not fix a toxic workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomsons Online Benefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An exciting and fast paced environment. Great benefits and good salary, at least in my area of experience. During my time at Thomsons, they transitioned to a new CEO, Stephen Read, who I have to say will hopefully turn things around. More serious than the previous CEO and a good guy, and as a result, more focused and will hopefully keep a more watchful eye on problematic staff and business issues instead of trying... to make Thomsons a fun place to be.

    Show More

    Cons

    I worked at Thomsons for over a year and my experience was not great. There are some very good people at Thomsons, but little support In my opinion, Thomsons have a problem where there are not enough experienced good people between the people doing the work and the exec, for the large part I don't really think the exec really know whats going on day to day on the ground, and if they do they don't care. Management... styles throughout the company vary wildly, and sadly most managers do not really know what they're doing. As a result, there is little support and unrelenting pressure to do more, more and more eating into your lunch hour, then pushing you come in early to keep up, and expecting you to work late with no notice regardless of your commitments outside of work. Work life balance as a result is not great, there's always things to do in and around the office, but these just require you to spend even more time in the building. Staff retention while I was there was pretty poor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take time to understand your employees, and recognise that there is life outside of Thomsons. All the benefits and culture in the world will not fix a toxic workplace, I would focus more energy on making sure staff are happy and supported rather than organising cycling events. I don't think Thomsons is broken by any means, but I hope things have changed since I was there.

    Thomsons Online Benefits2018-11-06
  6. Helpful (4)

    "A company that is transforming - it will now be like marmite. Some will love it, others will hate it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomsons Online Benefits full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Solid investment through Mercer, so people can be assured of continued investment in the proposition and the people. - A market leading global proposition that still has a significant competitive advantage before even the nearest competitor comes close. This demand on a global basis will mean exciting projects to sell, implement and deliver to clients. - Mercer acquisition has provided broader opportunities... for people to move within the Mercer business, locally and abroad - Chris Bruce as founder and M.D. Having Chris still in the business as the founder retains the vision, and his expertise in the global benefits space are invaluable to shape the business moving forwards. Chris also retains some on the Thomsons culture that made the place so special to work at - Promotion and development of people. Thomsons has and will always I believe continue to support and develop people internally

    Show More

    Cons

    - Culture Change. This is not necessarily a good or a bad thing - its just different. After any major acquisition the culture of the business will change as new people come in, and the people that shaped the culture originally gradually depart. The new CEO whether people like or dislike him is personal judgement, the facts are he will not be or want to replicate the old CEO Michael. Stephen has his own leadership... style, which is where people need to decide if its for them or not - Board Friction. It is clear that at board level things are not 100% rosy and this trickles throughout the organisation, with internal challenges between teams. - It is not a startup anymore... again like point one this is not a good or a bad thing, and people need to realise ‘old Thomsons’ and the culture and pace that went with that is no more. Thomsons is now owned by a Fortune 500 business, so the acceptance of change is key. A lot of people will like the more corporate way of working and the structure that Mercer bring. - A partial pause: At the moment Thomsons is in a state of transition where the brakes have had to be put on the delivery to new and existing clients at rapid pace (please note - this does not mean they have stopped selling or delivering, they have just slowed the pace). This is so that solid foundations can be built and Thomsons can grow up and deliver operational excellence to some of the worlds biggest organisations. - Confused: Thomsons 2 years into the acquisition is now in this half way house position, where half feels like Mercer but there is a want and desire by some to hang on to the old ways of working and the ‘Thomsons’ pink.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The Thomsons and Mercer board need to make a brave decision and integrate at a more rapid pace Thomsons fully into Mercer so that both businesses can start realising the true value and potential of the acquisition. Thomsons people need to accept it isn’t ‘old Thomsons’ anymore and either get on the Mercer rocketship (powered by Darwin of course), or get off.

    Thomsons Online Benefits2018-08-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Fast paced, supportive and game changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Business Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomsons Online Benefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pink people really exist! Fabulous perks and interesting work, culture is to innovate and freedom to fail environment, we have a work hard and play hard attitude.

    Cons

    Expansion at such velocity comes with the usual snag list so perhaps sometimes slow down and give simple contemplation a go

    Advice to Management

    Allow room for reflection to take place before dashing on to the next.

    Thomsons Online Benefits2018-06-06
  8. Helpful (6)

    "All style but no substance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomsons Online Benefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are friendly, the work is interesting, the office is nice and there are a lot of perks such as beer fridge Friday

    Cons

    The workload is massive and endless which is coupled with a lot of negative feedback and no recognirion. The culture on the surface is friendly but under the covers there are big silos in the organisation. Each team is throwing mud at the other (usually led by the Board) which makes it a really unpleasant place to work. You are too scared to take the initiative and take ownership as that usually means taking the... blame further down the line. Sales are really the only team that’s cared about and that’s reinforced by the Board constantly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually follow through on what you sell to clients “valuing the employee”. Treat employees fairly. Lead by example.

    Thomsons Online Benefits2018-06-13

    Thomsons Online Benefits Response

    July 9, 2018CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to review Thomsons as a place to work. I’m concerned by your comments and rest assured I take them very seriously. We’ve had huge market demand for Darwin and I know this has put some of our teams under pressure. It’s not always easy getting the balance right as we scale rapidly however we’re doing so much to address this, including making significant investments into our people and a huge recruitment drive. We have also brought on our new COO to optimise our operations strategy. Thomsons is one of the few companies I have worked for that genuinely and constantly listens to and learns from our People.. whether that’s sharing feedback from Glassdoor, our quarterly employee engagement survey or more informal face-to-face conversations – the feedback means a lot to us and to me. I would really welcome the chance to discuss your feedback with you, please do contact me personally. Thanks Stephen Read, CEO

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to be as a Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomsons Online Benefits

    Pros

    * tech colleagues are there for you when you need them and offer every bit of support * heavy focus on refactoring and/or removing legacy code, which makes future work easier and hassle-free * flexible schedule and the possibility to work from home * support from management to try anything new, for professional training and in getting any learning resources necessary (books, online courses, etc) * business is... growing and getting bigger clients * office is in central London near Victoria

    Show More

    Cons

    * due to company growth, office space gets a bit restricted

    Thomsons Online Benefits2018-03-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "THE place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomsons Online Benefits full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working at Thomsons has undoubtedly been THE highlight of my career (of almost 20-years). Thomsons is one of the most innovative, fast paced and rewarding places I have worked and would recommend it to any one thinking about developing their career. Getting to work with the biggest and best companies across the world is a real pleasure and something that should never be taken for granted. The people make the... business and the culture is great. Bright, talented and like-minded people make the Thomsons experience fantastic. Under the new guidance of Stephen Read the business has had another phenomenal year and continues to grow powered by Mercer. Exciting times ahead!

    Show More

    Cons

    Thomsons isn't for the fainthearted. It's hard work, there is no easy ride and there is nowhere to hide. For some that is a real plus but for others it presents a real challenge. Also, with fast growth comes growing pains and resource isn't always as abundant as many would like. Hopefully the recruitment growth plans for 2018 will deal with this.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the identity and values that has made Thomsons such a great place to work. Continue to listen to the people and provide the right balance of work and fun. For many the acquisition by Mercer caused uncertainty but if we can have another year like last year then 2018 and beyond is going to be incredible. Looking forward to buckling in for the ride!!

    Thomsons Online Benefits2018-03-07
Found 79 reviews