ThoughtWorks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ThoughtWorks Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
95%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
ThoughtWorks CEO Guo Xiao
Guo Xiao
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Travel can be taxing to work life balance over time(in 44 reviews)

  • "uma empresa aberta, que escuta feedbacks e busca entender o que as pessoas est(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Opportunity to learn and contribute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    * Technology led. In other companies where I worked for before TW, technologists did as they were told by commercial people. I was amazed at the sway technical people have - and conversely, how focused technical folks here are on doing the right thing for customers. Treat us like adults, we behave like adults. * Agile engineering for real. Another thing that was truly different for me was the use of agile practices... like pairing, TDD, etc, and the difference it makes in a team that does it for real. Other companies do agile theatre (standups, stories, etc.), but joining a TW delivery team was a revelation. * Values led. Although most companies have "social responsibility" and the like, at TW it's pervasive. It's not 100% perfect, we do make tradeoffs, but it's taken seriously. The flavour of this is changing somewhat with change of ownership (from a radical socialist to a private equity fund), but it's still stronger than most other companies I know. * Learning opportunities are amazing. You will work on multiple projects, in different industries, with companies at different points in their maturity, with different technologies. For someone new to the industry, working at TW for a few years will position you to choose where you want to go, and give you the experience and credentials to go there. * For an experienced person (I had 15+ years experience when I joined), you will be working alongside industry leaders, including very well known people, and people who are not well known outside TW, but are incredible in various unexpected ways. * Good people, good vibes, good culture. This is not an environment for a**holes. From top to bottom, people are supportive, open, and friendly. We have sometimes shockingly open conversations, e.g. on internal mailing lists where people raise concerns about strategic decisions and cultural directions. People generally bring their "whole self" to work, even those who aren't white cis. A strongly progressive culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    * Travel obviously. Unless this is a plus for you, in which case it can be awesome. It's harder for older people with families. * Working your way up the promotion path (the grading system) is not easy, and takes longer than you think it should. Ideally this shouldn't matter - people are respected based on what they do and how they behave. But it's hard to ignore if you feel like you should be a Lead or Principal... and a few years go by without progress, and people do get pissed off and leave. The review process is murky, and doesn't do a good job of helping people to progress within the formal grading system. * Change in ownership risks a change in priorities and culture. We were owned by a radical socialist, who has cashed out to pursue social change, and are now owned by a capitalist investment fund. The actual effect of this has not been much, we have the same leadership team. Some people - especially people who have not been here long - have an exaggerated idea of the impact this has had. The company has always shifted and changed, and most of the changes people notice are driven by our own leaders, not diktat from our investors. (e.g. we've worked for oil companies many times over the decades). That said, it can't help but make a difference when leadership is heavily incentivized to maximize financial growth and returns for our investors. The language around our "Pillar 3" has shifted from "social justice", in balance with commercial sustainability (P1) and technical excellence (P2), to being about an equitable workplace to attract talent to support commercial growth. In other words, Pillars 2 and 3 sometimes seem to be valued in order to support Pillar 1.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider (and communicate to the rest of us) what the vision is post-Apax. If (when) they flip us to new ownership, will that ownership continue to see the primary purpose of ThoughtWorks as a capitalist engine for financial returns? Is there a path to ownership by someone who sees improving how technology is used for the betterment of society as a first-rank goal, rather than something which is nice only as long... as it drives financial returns?

    Show More
    ThoughtWorks2019-06-03
  2. "Passionate about technology, people & the environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Embrace diversity & inclusion Work with passionate, like-minded people Exceptional in current technologies

    Cons

    Everyone need to stay on top of the latest technology & programming languages

    ThoughtWorks2019-11-11
  3. "Awesome culture, incredible people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture, the people, the discussions.

    Cons

    The rate of compensation increase, the culture is currently diluting

    ThoughtWorks2019-11-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Generally a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Relaxed working environment - Lots of thoughtful and intelligent people - Freedom to choose your own path - Opportunities to get involved in all different aspects of the business

    Cons

    - Social justice rhetoric is a bit thick and at times poorly thought out - Some may find the unstructured nature of the work environment difficult to deal with

    Advice to Management

    - Apply a more scientific lens to internal policy and encourage more diversity of political thought

    ThoughtWorks2019-09-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work with smart and interesting individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You are always asked and you get to decide what type of projects you can work on. - You actually get to work with really intelligent individuals who are very capable in their own speciality. - There is always free food - The company always try to do the right thing for the customer rather than the easy thing. - You get to travel if you like travelling.

    Cons

    - not many to highlight but if one was being picky I would say that some individuals are a bit spoilt and have some privileged habits.

    Advice to Management

    Get bigger projects.

    ThoughtWorks2019-08-07
  6. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and learning opportunities. Always feel supported and driven to improve.

    Cons

    Not the most competitive salaries, especially given the type of work we do. As it's a consultancy, projects vary a lot and you often don't have a say in which project you go to.

    Advice to Management

    Adjust salaries to stay competitive and to maintain talent.

    ThoughtWorks2019-07-19
  7. "It's what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Projects are pretty much the same - not a diverse portfolio of business problems to solve. Great first two years, but after that not much else to look forward to. It's a people game, lots of smoozing to get ahead.

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving the company, you are on the right track.

    ThoughtWorks2019-06-16
  8. "I wake up looking forward to the working day!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Company culture of socialising, collaboration and support - Being given true responsibility within your projects or departments - Flat hierarchy and transparency- giving everyone the opportunity to add input or to challenge decisions - Benefits package, and day to day benefits - Strong social justice and community building focus - Lack of petty corporate rules, allowing focus on things that matter

    Cons

    - Being a consultancy the team is spread across numerous locations

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the culture and unique corporate style as we continue to grow

    ThoughtWorks2019-05-16
  9. "Great culture, but bad recent hiring practices and way below market pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall, probably the best company to work for as a an accelerated learning environment. You will work on improving processes and culture at the client other than just writing code. - Opportunity for travel - - There is a good culture in the company - Social impact programme is great - Training is encourages - TDD and pairing by default

    Cons

    - Too much Java and not enough exciting tech - Recently most projects are way too enterprise focused - Hiring practices are not consistent; many newer employees should not have been hired - Salary is not great compared to the market - Seems like leadership is confused on the direction

    Advice to Management

    Invest way more in the recruitment department. Many of the recruiters have no idea what they are doing and are letting through a lot of bad hires.

    ThoughtWorks2019-05-18
  10. "ThoughtWorks review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture - diversity and inclusivity Strong learning culture Flat hierarchy

    Cons

    Need to be a fairly flexible person to work at TW

    ThoughtWorks2019-04-29
Found 70 reviews