Tilney Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Tilney Group Reviews

Updated 8 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Chris Woodhouse
18 Ratings
  1. "Provided great support for development and had strong leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Sales Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support for professional development was always available Promotion opportunities available for those who deserve it, no politics

    Cons

    Slightly below average in terms of pay

    Continue reading
    Tilney Group2019-05-02
  2. "Bad culture, benefits, pay and management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours are 9-5 with flexibility

    Cons

    Many people on different contacts, poor pay and school like management

    Continue reading
    Tilney Group2019-08-08
  3. "Working for Tilney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tilney Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There used to be many pros for working for the company prior to the multiple take overs and mergers, however most perks and rewards have been stopped. I would say that Tilney support training and encourage exams etc.

    Cons

    Where to start... This organisation has grown way too quickly along with trying to implement a completely new proposition using a completely new IT application. The business feels chaotic and there does not seem to be any formal procedures for new or existing employees. Direct reports do not seem to have much control over salary/ bonuses. The company seems to now focus on sales, possibly because of the new CEO and his vision? There is a high turn over of staff as the salary and bonus does not warrant the job role and Tilney are not interested in trying to retain their staff. There are no rewards for loyalty or length of service. Working hours are long.

    Continue reading
    Tilney Group2019-05-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company/ its created a strong career path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Region - London in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture with good teamwork

    Cons

    Team are going through lots of change

    Continue reading
    Tilney Group2019-04-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good bunch of people; enjoyable and stimulating firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - It’s size presents plenty of opportunities for career progression - Senior management are pretty open and willing to recognise and reward success and effort - It’s dynamic and ambitious, and there is rarely a dull day - Many impressive, knowledgeable employees that believe in what they are working for.

    Cons

    - As it gets bigger it has to manage the challenge of ensuring sufficient governance and controls, whilst also remaining nimble and avoiding bureaucracy; on the whole I believe it has managed to maintain the right balance in this regard. - A legacy of multiple acquisitions has meant lots of systems, processes and attitudes have needed to be aligned in order to be consistent and efficient; excellent progress has been made in this regard, but there is still work to be done.

    Continue reading
    Tilney Group2019-04-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Good working environment - nice people *Good level of training and development - both external and internal *Clear paths to promotions - career development - support is there *Good work/home life balance *Good benefits *Happy with the ethos and the advice given by the company - you can be confident that you and your colleagues are doing the right thing for your clients. *Many long term employees

    Cons

    *The company has gone through the hard process of merging a few years ago (Towry and Tilney). This has obviously meant that the company has gone through a period of uncertainty and change. Thankfully this is now mostly a past issue. *Like any job, your satisfaction can be largely derived from the people you work with. Obviously some offices have a better environment than others. *Bonuses are not as high as industry standard

    Continue reading
    Tilney Group2019-02-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Tilney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with Tilney almost a year and love the fast pace of change, the variety in my day to day job and most of all the people I work with. Due to the nature of my role I have visited most of our many offices and whilst they are all very different in terms of size and indeed culture the thing they share is that they have hard working people who are trying to produce excellent work with limited resources. I haven't worked for a PE backed firm before and have found the top down approach (i.e. they have ultimate control over our budgets, etc) a new challenge which has made me have to be more creative when providing solutions as we don't have loads of money to throw at everything!

    Cons

    We are still working towards integrating and aligning our benefits and ways of working as we are a company formed of many companies through mergers and acquisitions. It's not a negative as such but it will be much better once we have completed the integration journey.

    Continue reading
    Tilney Group2019-02-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good employer overall but could be better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Planner in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good remuneration package inc. benefits and bonus. National business so has a reasonable degree of scale available to it.

    Cons

    Expensive for assets less than £500k and prone to launch new ideas "half-cocked" which causes staff issues with clients which could be avoided

    Continue reading
    Tilney Group2019-02-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Positive people and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is going through a period of change and everyone I have met have been honest about that which creates an 'in it together' environment. Everyone I have met across the business has been super supportive and welcoming which goes a long way when new to a business. I have been encouraged to share my opinions and manage my own time/workload knowing that help is available if I need.

    Cons

    With the above mentioned change, decisions can take longer than I have been used to in other roles and subject to change but there as there is an appetite to learn and move the business forward. So it is an exciting time to be here and support this change.

    Continue reading
    Tilney Group2019-02-05
  10. "Great Place to Work Slow Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tilney Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great, really nice and helpful.

    Cons

    Management structure is dire, progression is slow and no structure to it.

    Continue reading
    Tilney Group2019-01-31
Found 44 reviews