Tilney Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Tilney Group Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Tilney Group CEO  Chris Woodhouse (no image)
Chris Woodhouse
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No career progression no matter how much effort you put and show your ability(in 3 reviews)

  • "The business feels chaotic and there does not seem to be any formal procedures for new or existing employees(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and social office environment

    Cons

    Pay not as competitive as other firms

    Tilney Group2019-09-11
  2. "Great Colleagues and opportunities but employee benefits are poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues in our local office Lots of people working hard and trying to do the right thing for clients No day is the same (certainly in my role) Company is growing fast and so there are lots of opportunities Since the new CEO has come on board i feel the integration of the different business has become a lot more successful, and we are starting to feel like one company, rather than several different companies that have been bolted together Given responsibility quickly Exams are paid for by the company

    Show More

    Cons

    Expected to work quite long hours, but you are given flexibility of working from home at times which does help Pay and bonus are inline with market - but you may have to press your case/get offers from elsewhere to get an increase to base salary, which is a shame. Senior management/directors have a long term incentive program with equity ownership. Whilst I completely respect that many of them have been with the company for a significant amount of time, it does of course make some staff feel like they are second class citizens and unable to share in the ultimate success of the company Bonus process is completely opaque - it would be helpful to set more realistic targets and have confidence that you will be paid inline with these - however this is a problem at many companies and not just Tilney!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sort out your pension - its embarrassing that a large financial organisation pays such a poor standard pension to it's employees, and goes against our whole company philosophy which we are selling to our clients - i.e invest in your retirement security. There is also a high level of disparity between pensions for different groups of staff which have joined the group over the years - this doesn't feel fair and management should as a priority address the pension inequality between colleagues (who are often doing jobs in the same office, but are on very different benefits packages). Cant really stress this enough! Have a clearer bonus policy and bonus calculator - it feels like the numbers are pulled out of thin air.

    Show More
    Tilney Group2020-01-23
  3. "Ambitious company which can struggle to keep up with its own growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Leader 

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time

    Pros

    Performance focused company with varied career opportunities

    Cons

    Poor communication between departments with some weaker departments negatively affecting work of others

    Tilney Group2020-01-12
  4. "Good perks and relaxed atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great perks and rewards for performance -Relaxed atmosphere - flexible hours -Great location -Good office atmosphere and facilities -Training and development excellent

    Cons

    -Pay for type of job isn't the highest -competitive macho culture

    Tilney Group2019-11-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Planner in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tilney Group full-time

    Pros

    Some good quality people Nice office

    Cons

    Where do i start! Management - ego driven, in it for themselves, all have equity based packages and do not care one iota for their staff; incredibly high turnover of staff, benefits package isn't competitive, only care about fee production, do not care one bit about servicing existing clients, ridiculously high fees compared to the rest of the market and performance isn't great, Career opportunities are there if you sacrifice your morals and ethics

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Resign and start again!

    Tilney Group2019-12-14
  6. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tilney Group full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment, atmosphere and group of people. Social opportunities and exams can be paid for.

    Cons

    Terrible pay, pension, bonus and benefits.

    Tilney Group2019-10-28
  7. "Xx"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pension Administrator in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tilney Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Team, good office team in Cardiff

    Cons

    Poor communication and don’t value staff

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more and value employees and their commitments

    Tilney Group2019-10-13
  8. "Bad culture, benefits, pay and management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours are 9-5 with flexibility

    Cons

    Many people on different contacts, poor pay and school like management

    Tilney Group2019-08-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Working for Tilney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tilney Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There used to be many pros for working for the company prior to the multiple take overs and mergers, however most perks and rewards have been stopped. I would say that Tilney support training and encourage exams etc.

    Cons

    Where to start... This organisation has grown way too quickly along with trying to implement a completely new proposition using a completely new IT application. The business feels chaotic and there does not seem to be any formal procedures for new or existing employees. Direct reports do not seem to have much control over salary/ bonuses. The company seems to now focus on sales, possibly because of the new CEO and his vision? There is a high turn over of staff as the salary and bonus does not warrant the job role and Tilney are not interested in trying to retain their staff. There are no rewards for loyalty or length of service. Working hours are long.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen and look after your staff, especially those that have been loyal to you!

    Tilney Group2019-05-24
  10. "Provided great support for development and had strong leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Sales Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tilney Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support for professional development was always available Promotion opportunities available for those who deserve it, no politics

    Cons

    Slightly below average in terms of pay

    Tilney Group2019-05-02
Found 51 reviews