Towergate Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Towergate Insurance Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 199 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
David Ross
14 Ratings
  1. "Assistant Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time

    Pros

    The people were incredibly talented and were a pleasure to work with

    Cons

    Unfortunately our offices were being re-located so many of us were made redundant

    Towergate Insurance2018-05-25
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Management team are all psychos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None at all - most shocking place I've ever worked with not one redeeming feature

    Cons

    Where to start - delusional exec team who keep promising things are improving, honestly they are... Lots of highly paid consultants crawling all over the place Duplicitous and poisonous posse of people surrounding some of the exec team Low pay and no bonuses (I thought things were going well - if you read the press) Underperforming business and no real work ethic so at least work life balance is OK as nobody really...

    Show More
    Towergate Insurance2018-06-01
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible Company... inspirational CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The CEO David Ross and his Senior team really are a sight to behold, fantastically inspirational and genuine people. When they entered the business you knew it was a positive wind of change

    Cons

    The team underneath within the Retail division are a team not to be trusted, the divisional CEO and his Trading Directors are inept and completely untrustworthy

    Advice to Management

    Change the team in Retail... with leadership like they have it’s no wonder they are losing money

    Towergate Insurance2018-05-24
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Baffling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Handler in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Off the top of my head; not many... Standard 9-5 so you will have a decent work/life balance

    Cons

    Poor Management - and I mean, terrible. Total lack of direction or understanding of their markets Underpaid Poor bonus structure Never had a “monthly” 1:1 in all my time When I started my induction and training was a 10minute chat about how to claim expenses. I couldn’t tell you what the “values” of the company are, because I was never told. If you ask for help it’s more of “do your job” than a discussion of how...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leave.

    Towergate Insurance2018-05-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of Social activities Relaxed atmosphere

    Cons

    Full of bullys Poor structure

    Towergate Insurance2018-04-19
  6. "Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, really enjoyed being at Towergate the team are great!

    Cons

    The work can be repetitive and boring

    Towergate Insurance2018-03-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Cheltenham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The products Towergate sell are great and they look after their customers.

    Cons

    Caravan sales TLs are patronising and unprofessional. They set unrealistic targets and are very unwilling to help.

    Advice to Management

    Check your TLs are doing their job properly and that people are actually happy. They are the reason so many people are leaving

    Towergate Insurance2018-04-03
  8. "A good stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Towergate Insurance

    Pros

    Very relaxed almost too relaxed at times.

    Cons

    Poor training on products and low pay for similar jobs in the area.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people who work there!

    Towergate Insurance2018-02-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Darwen, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues. Lukewarm breakfast on a Friday. There are no other pros that I can think of to be honest.

    Cons

    Company is ran like a small family business with a ‘look after the pennies’ mentality. Management are very blatant with their favouritism and make you feel inferior if your face doesn’t fit. Employees are terrified of making any mistakes due to consequences. High staff sickness means that your own work suffers. Car park is awful to exit at 5pm (if you’re not asked to stay behind to catch up on workloads!)

    Advice to Management

    Employ more staff. Treat existing staff better. Realise we are all human and make mistakes.

    Towergate Insurance2018-02-28
  10. "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good, vibrant place to work

    Cons

    Nothing really to say on this!

    Towergate Insurance2018-01-17
Found 199 reviews