Towergate Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Towergate Insurance Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 194 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
David Ross
12 Ratings
  1. "I wouldn't recommend working for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time

    Pros

    I can't think of any

    Cons

    Low salary, constant restructuring, Management have no idea what is actually happening on a day to day basis

    Towergate Insurance2017-12-05
  2. "Great people and a fast paced environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Never a dull moment - fast paced environment and interesting work Great people - capable and personable Non-corporate culture which means you feel free to share your views and opinions without the constraints of hierachy

    Cons

    Due to fast paced nature, sometimes delivery changes mid-way through a project, but this is the nature of the beast

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on the people and ensuring the right opportunities and structure is in place to facilitate growth and development.

    Towergate Insurance2017-12-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Clerk in Norwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid on time. That’s all . I have only given one star as it will not allow no stars. Free tea and coffee

    Cons

    False promises. Smoke and mirrors attitude. No recognition of effort. No hope of career progression. No job security. They just want to close you down.

    Advice to Management

    Try harder

    Towergate Insurance2018-01-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Glad to see the back of Towergate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company benefits Holiday entitlement

    Cons

    Senior managers with a bad attitude Expect everything for nothing in return Work their staff into the ground - they leave No recognition to praise good performance Too much control, forgetting people are humans

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff effectively and perhaps they will want to work for you. They pay your wages!

    Towergate Insurance2017-12-27
  5. "Just okay... not a forever company if you are looking to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Handler in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Busy? Young working environment, everyone there is in the same boat as it’s most peoples first job in the trade.

    Cons

    Very Underpaid, very under appreciated, I feel that I was always limited and could never fully reach my potential, management like to keep everyone’s wings clipped.

    Advice to Management

    Re-think the wages for account Handlers to stop staff turnover

    Towergate Insurance2017-11-20
  6. "Manic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance

    Pros

    None really just got off work early

    Cons

    management at the time had no control

    Towergate Insurance2017-11-08
  7. "Hectic, but nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good team spirit, everyone was always really friendly - Good support network, don't rush you in straight away, but give you a couple weeks to get used to it - Good bonus scheme

    Cons

    - Hectic, a lot of shouting, never really stop during the day - Customers can sometimes be very rude

    Advice to Management

    ?

    Towergate Insurance2017-09-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Worst company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Towergate Insurance full-time

      Pros

      Not a single one I can think of. Actually.....Dave Browne! Insurance legend!

      Cons

      Worst managers ever. CEO & holding company obviously running the company into the ground on purpose. Jobs given to manager's other halves with no experience instead of those who'd earned it. False promises, unattainable targets, NO ADVERTISING!, culture of bullying, stupid bosses with not even basic English, ridiculous QA, managers dealing drugs in the office, racism, incompetence, gross negligence and intentional breaches...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Quit and don't ever work anywhere ever again!

      Towergate Insurance2017-11-01
    • "Moving onwards and upwards"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Decent people; Fair pay; OK benefits; Good annual leave; Friendly atmosphere; Good structure and set-up. There are probably more pros, still.

      Cons

      Computer and IT system/platform regularly crashing so need to update as soon as possible. Nothing else comes to mind yet.

      Towergate Insurance2017-09-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Leeds Branch"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Towergate Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      you can do overtime as much as you need due to lack of proper internal controls and increased workload

      Cons

      Institutionally racist a palce. Only fit for white people. doesnt matter whether you are experienced or qualified or have no experience at all. they will recruit from all walks of life regardless of experience as long as you are white you will find your way up. Doesn't matter whether you make so many mistakes. in their opinion as long as you are white you are good for the job.

      Advice to Management

      Move on it is the 21 st century. improve controls. so many of the managers are not as good as they want people to think. They are the reason why that place is always in a such a mess

      Towergate Insurance2017-10-10
    Found 194 reviews