Trailfinders Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Trailfinders Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours (although on the plus side we don't take work home so a day off is a day off)(in 52 reviews)

  • "The work life balance can be a struggle(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Very rewarding job with great travel opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a very rewarding job and I've always enjoyed discussing holidays with the clients and helping make dreams become a reality. It has been very enjoyable working in an environment where everyone shares a common interest of travel and everyone in my office has been very supportive in helping me develop as a travel consultant. The training is very in depth and prepares you well for the live sales environment. I'm very motivated by targets and I've enjoyed the challenge of working towards sales targets every month. The work/life balance is good and although you have to work some weekends, you get your fair share off and you get lots of mid week days off which adds some variety. There are also great opportunities to travel and there is a dedicated staff travel department to help you plan your own trips. A couple of other big pros are that you are paid over time and lunch is also provided every day. My manager has provided great support throughout my early stages and I feel like I've come a long way since I started the job. The support you receive is fantastic, especially in the first few weeks, with regular catch ups arranged. Moreover, if you are struggling with something there is always an internal help line you can call to get advice within minutes. There is a clear career progression within the company, with a chance to earn promotions quite soon into the job. If you're willing to work hard, are motivated to learn and love all things travel, this is a great job and and a great company to work for.

    Cons

    Although the training is thorough, you do have to be prepared to learn a lot on the job which can be difficult at times and quite stressful, but you do learn quickly. The lunch breaks are only half an hour, it would be good to have an extra 15 minutes as the days can be quite long.

    Trailfinders2020-02-17

    Trailfinders Response

    February 26, 2020

    Many thanks for the feedback! Glad to hear you're enjoying the job!!

    Continue reading
  2. "Best company in travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are many reasons why I have headlined my review describing this company as the best in travel but I will mention just a few which I feel have the strongest pull. The training process is super efficient, thorough and educational. For someone who had never worked in the travel industry before it can be quiet daunting especially with the sheer reach of global destinations Trailfinders can send you to! As well as this there are numerous computer systems used to help in the production of some truelly incredible tailor made holidays. Over the course of 6 weeks in Kensington (Monday -Friday, 9am -5pm) you will be brought up to speed and given the necessary education and tools to have a thorough understanding of the product and systems so you are ready to make your way into the travel centres across the country, where once there your skills will only develop and grow. I believe with a good level of intelligence anyone can make it through the training programme, however, in order to truely flourish you must hire the correct people in the first place who have the ambition and drive to succeed in a sales driven environment with a passion for travel. Within the recruitment process you can see the care they put into finding the correct people for the job. A good level of education is required; such as having a degree, as well as having first hand experience travelling to some of Trailfinders top destinations is essential. Numeracy tests and phone interviews followed by a formal interview show just how far they go to ensure the right people for the job are hired, which is reflected in the workforce, as I now have many colleagues around my who strive to perform well and are also incredibly resourceful. Touching into some of my more personal experiences. Work have been incredible during some personal issues I have faced. Offering time off for compassionate reasons as well as being helpful throughout the paternity process I am currently going through and explaining all of my options and being proactive about it. I hope this proves as a company they do care about there staff from the beginning of recruitment, through training and also throughout any personal matter that may come your way through your employment .

    Cons

    These aren’t necessarily cons but things I believe should be worth considering. You are expected to work weekends (about half all weekends) and your rota is not set so can change every week. The job is challenging. You are dealing with a high volume of calls and work load at the same time. There is a high expectation that no client should have to wait for a phone call and you are expected to complete and admin work within the time frame given depending on how busy the phones are. Your performance will be reviewed regularly, this is for the sole benefit of you. You will be able where to see you can improve and what you are doing well.

    Trailfinders2020-04-02
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trailfinders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic industry training, remarkable customer after care in any emergency. Excellent rates of pay with opportunities to progress within the role from day one and opportunity to move internally. Despite other comments, management do care about their staff at all levels and do allow flexibility during difficult times in a case by case basis.

    Cons

    Book your time off in advance as annual leave can be a bit tricky to arrange last minute. The uniform is a bit dated but provided free of charge.

    Continue reading
    Trailfinders2020-03-19

    Trailfinders Response

    March 27, 2020

    Many thanks for the feedback!

    Continue reading
  4. "Not surprisingly, there are Pro’s & Cons..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worldwide Travel Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trailfinders full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pretty good basic salary and incentive rewards for the Travel Industry, difficult to find better in a similar job. Excellent holiday allowance. Very Very good staff deals for your own holidays. Good workplace atmosphere, most people are likeminded and everyone gets on and are encouraged to socialise. Excellent training and ongoing sales support from management.

    Cons

    As many others have said... lunch break too short, Work/life balance isn’t the best, generally work more than claimed 50% of weekends and getting time off is tricky and shouldn’t be as hard as it is. The company has also shifted mentality in recent years from having a good balance between sales and customer service to being almost entirely sales driven. Which is obviously resulting in greater profits, however I feel it has gone from “always do the right thing by the client” to “do the right thing by the client if management feel like it and it doesn’t cost too much.

    Continue reading
    Trailfinders2020-03-28
  5. "Great travel perks and pay if you can stomach feeling bullied, treated like a child and having no personal life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worldwide Travel Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trailfinders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good salary when taking into account overtime pay - Free lunch - High quality training - Fun events you can attend - Amazing staff travel deals and perks - Great incentives with prizes on offer to motivate staff -Travel Insurance Cover -Great offerings for clients, they do genuinely put clients first

    Cons

    - Unprofessional management style with no real understanding of how to manage people - Comission based on hitting targets which are not fairly distributed, all store locations have the same targets yet certain areas are known to be easier for consultants to hit this than others on a consistent basis - Low commission rates - A 30 minute lunch break - A school like atmosphere where staff are not treated as adults and employee wellbeing is most certainly not important - Appalling sick pay agreement - Long hours with lots of overtime and very few weekends off leaving no room for a personal life or work/life balance - It is practically impossible to get holiday to actually use the staff discounts on offer as there are so many rigid rules in place -No control or input on your roster - A lot of techniques used to pressurise and guilt trip employees into doing what management want at the detriment of the employees - Favouritism with a lot of hypocrisy - No health benefits

    Continue reading
    Trailfinders2020-03-20

    Trailfinders Response

    March 31, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your opinions. Your list of ‘pros’ is spot on and your last point particularly relevant at the moment when the entire workforce is pulling together to help our clients cancel and change their travel plans and get those overseas safely back home. You appear to have felt frustration with some aspects of the jobs (working weekends and retail hours, working to sales targets and the structured environment) but there is no practice of harming or intimidating staff (bullying) and again the current situation bears this out; head office has been flat out making arrangements to support staff in these uncertain times. Many have opted to work from home and we have kitted them out with the technology to do so, where other companies have rushed to make widespread redundancies or forced staff to take unpaid leave.

    Continue reading
  6. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly, fun and supportive team - Manager and team leaders are always on hand to help - Opportunity to work your way up the pay grades fairly quickly - Free lunch - Good staff deals

    Cons

    - A 30 minute lunch break feels too short considering the 9 hour working day - Days off aren't consecutive often enough

    Trailfinders2020-03-03

    Trailfinders Response

    March 27, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to post!

    Continue reading
  7. "Great perks, working with like minded people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working for the company for just under a year, and really glad i made the move. Having worked in the industry for 5 years, and having worked for 2 other travel companies, I can confidently say this is the best in the industry. The company perks are some of the best around! What's great is the people you work with. Everyone is so like minded, which makes a very enjoyable working environment. There is a fantastic 'work hard play hard' atmosphere, which for the right people is great. If you love travel then this is the company to work for! Do be warned, this is a very client focused role, and your expected to work hard during your shift. There are frequent call listening and sales performance meetings with your manager. These can feel daunting, and sometimes not enjoyable, but they are very helpful and are aimed to make you a better consultant. You are given £120 per month in 'travel funds' that can go towards your own travel, get free lunches everyday, fantastic staff travel offers and other company incentives.

    Cons

    Booking annual leave can be a nightmare due to restrictions.

    Continue reading
    Trailfinders2020-02-17

    Trailfinders Response

    March 31, 2020

    Thanks for you post and we're glad you made the move too!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sociall Irresponsible Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good perks (When you get them) Free Lunch

    Cons

    SO many things, AWFUL time off No regards giving to social life

    Continue reading
    Trailfinders2020-03-23

    Trailfinders Response

    March 27, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to post your opinions. Recent weeks have seen incredible work being done by our teams, pulling together to help our clients. But an enormous amount of work has also been done by head office to support the people who work for us; where other companies have made widespread redundancies or forced staff to take unpaid leave we have gone out of our way to provide a range of options to best suit individuals and ensure continued employment. We will come through this thanks to the amazing people who work at Trailfinders.

    Continue reading
  9. "Premium company - Premium Rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Trailfinders is a great company to work for. Great monthly salary, free lunch, paid overtime and great travel benefits and discounts. Great support on a daily basis, and if you work hard, the rewards are endless! It’s great working for a company that supports your personal travel passion and encourages you to do more.

    Cons

    Long hours - but this is expect and explained. You are paid for every minute you work.

    Trailfinders2020-02-14
  10. "Overworked and expected to give beyond your all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trailfinders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Budget to spend on travel with extra staff deals with some great rates for properties.

    Cons

    The management (most of them) are not willing to listen to ways to change the company for the better. If you make a suggestion, it will just be either not mentioned or you will be told that it is not the way that the owner wants things and it is not "company policy". The shifts are crazy, you don't often get two days off in a row which makes having a life impossible and your 'day off' is mostly spent cleaning your work clothes and house as most shifts you don't get to finish on time because of being made to see clients even if your shift is about to finish. Poor work/life balance and how you are treated as a human (awfully with no respect for human rights) seems to be dismissed as 'just the way it is'. It wasn't until I moved on and got another job that I realized just how terrible you have it at Trailfinders. Please avoid at all costs!

    Trailfinders2020-02-21

    Trailfinders Response

    February 26, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. The travel perks are great as you say but I can’t agree with your other points; for example we actively invite staff to share their ideas through the ‘suggestion box’. This typically receives 5 suggestions a day, each one of which is read and considered by senior management and we pay out financial rewards without limit for those implemented. With regards to the roster granted a Consultant’s two days off per week aren’t always two consecutive days but Consultants usually have 50% of the weekend shifts off and the roster is laid out for the year so there is plenty of advanced notice of what days you are working / have off. An agreeable work / life balance is important to us all and the benefits provided by the company are aimed to help where we can: a generous leave allowance of up to 40 days per year and heavily discounted travel products, a cycle to work scheme, lots of socialising opportunities like supplier functions, team nights out, subsidised summer and Christmas parties, lunches and uniform provided (saving time and money) and laundry facilities in the travel centres so you can do your washing at work.

    Continue reading
Found 224 reviews