Trailfinders Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Trailfinders Reviews

Updated 12 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Fairly long hours, but that is all explained in full before you sign up(in 48 reviews)

  • "The work life balance can be a struggle(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "High Standards, Good Rewards."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Expectations, and standards are high, but if you knuckle down and get through the first few tricky weeks/months as a consultant, growth can be achieved rapidly. With that growth comes better benefits and uncapped bonuses. I was promoted to team leader after approx 3/4 years and then again to a more senior position in the management team a few years after. The strength of the brand and the reputation of the TF product and, most importantly, the TF staff mean “twiddling of the thumbs” moments are non-existent. There will always be work to do and enquiries to book. Biggest pro working for the company; as a colleague said recently, we forget as staff, some of us are fortunate enough to go on “1 or 2 holidays of a lifetime every year”. Another great thing about TF, I’ve been with them nearly 10 years and met only a very few people in the company I didn’t like.

    Show More

    Cons

    Just some kindly advice for any potential candidate; This is not a Silicon Valley Tech company; there are no chill out rooms replete with bean bags, no complimentary smoothie bars, nor running tracks on the landscapes roof...it is a very client focussed company meaning you are expected to be at your desk pretty much for the whole working day. Multiple considerations, based on the company’s needs, mean although we get a lot of leave, it can be tricky to actually book the time off. Open pretty much every bank holiday inc Easter, NY & Xmas Eve, which, although of benefit to some clients, from a staff point of view, can be a tough one to swallow.

    Show More
    Trailfinders2019-07-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For me, the best thing about working for Trailfinders is the amount of opportunity there is for moving up or onto different departments. Nearly everyone begins in the role of Travel Consultant to gain an understanding of what we are all about, and then after proving successful can move up into more senior or managerial roles within sales, or onto other departments such as the Product team, Training & Development or Marketing. I spent 2 years as a Travel Consultant and have now worked in Training & Development for 2 years. I feel like I have really found what I want to do, I love being a part of every new person's career journey, and the varying aspects of my role. I feel like I contribute to the bigger picture of Trailfinders now, and have great job satisfaction. The 2 years as a Travel Consultant really helped me understand where my strengths lie, and that guided me to make the decision to move to Training & Development permanently. I also had a really supportive Coach and Manager who both really supported me and took my development seriously, which really made me feel valued.

    Show More

    Cons

    I am based in London, which means I am surrounded by opportunity and growth. While there is opportunity to work your way up in other parts of the country in terms of sales and sales management, there are not many non-sales department opportunities, there would have to be a move to London for that.

    Advice to Management

    I was very lucky in that I had such supportive managers whilst in Sales, which means they saw potential in me, even though I had a slow start and lacked confidence at first. They encouraged me to work towards my goal of joining the Training & Development team, and I now feel I have excelled in this role. I just hope all managers are looking out for people's potential in all areas, everyone has a set of skills that just require some guidance! I think there should be more recognition for non-sales departments (e.g. Tailormade & Product, Marketing, Training & Development, Operations) If someone is going above and beyond and is really contributing this should be celebrated and rewarded just as much as Travel Consultants. We are all important cogs in the running of this machine! Maybe some more room for bespoke promotions in these departments as well.

    Show More
    Trailfinders2019-11-22
  3. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great holidays amazing people, fun subject and rewarding work

    Cons

    Militant and management could not care less about staff

    Trailfinders2019-12-16
  4. "Could be good but don’t appreciate staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good wage and staff offers, great colleagues

    Cons

    Trailfinders could be brilliant as a company to work for but unfortunately they are blind as to how to maintain staff, they don’t try to keep staff who leave even when they’ve been with them for years, they don’t understand that staff have families they may want to spend time with and so have ridiculous hours when they don’t need to such as finishing at 6 on a Sunday, on Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve when no one will come in and this year have really shown how much they appreciate their staff by making them work New Year’s Day, I can’t understand this thought process but it has nothing to do with looking after their staff as they are open until 6 and most cities do not have any public transport on this day so no idea how they think staff can get in, no extra money For working this day except a lie in as we start at 11 ( so very thoughtful)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your staff, monetary benefits are obviously appreciated but staff will stay if they feel they’re truly appreciated and not just if they’re top sellers, we understand we have to be open later than other businesses sometimes to meet demand but New Year’s Day and the late opening hours on certain other days are ridiculous, make sure staff feel valued and not just useless, if staff want to leave maybe genuinely ask them why and see if there’s anything you can do rather than just get rid as though they don’t matter

    Show More
    Trailfinders2019-12-29
  5. "Travel Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Working with lovely, like minded people. The whole office are very welcoming and will always be there to help if you need it with their past experiences of travelling or work. - There are amazing benefits. Really good staff deals for all over the world and help you go on holidays of a lifetime. You get an 'educational travel fund' put aside for your travels every month. Sent on educational trips to learn about the places you are selling which is a great experience. - Lunch is provided for you every day. Also provide you with a uniform, which is much nicer since the new ones have been introduced! - If you are reaching your targets there is the opportunity to make some very good money. - Amazing training provided, 5 weeks paid training in London and constant training once you are in store. I have been very lucky being in a smaller office where I feel very very looked after and listened to about what i need help with. - The work itself is interesting as no day is the same, it can be challenging selling so many different destinations but it is very rewarding to see your knowledge of these grow.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Getting time off is very tricky, especially when you are new and are not as savvy to the system. It can be very frustrating not being able to take off weekend shifts and having to swap with your colleagues. Also not being able to take single days off before 8 weeks in advance can be a challenge, especially when the availability is low. We do work long days so it can be a bit annoying to constantly have only 1 day off in a row. - It is a steep learning curve and you will be constantly learning, it is rewarding to see yourself growing and becoming better but it can be quite overwhelming at first.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As many reviews have already stated the rostering system is quite a frustrating.

    Trailfinders2019-10-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting enjoyable work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Proud to work for a company that puts clients first and is well reviewed by clients -Tailor making holidays going to most of the world means the work is interesting and varied - Good pay - Excellent travel opportunities - Generous annual leave allowance - Like minded colleagues, easy to work with, I look forward to seeing them in work -Lovely clients - Lunch provided free of charge

    Cons

    -Extremely high expectations and targets -Long hours (although on the plus side we don't take work home so a day off is a day off) - Can be tricky to take certain days as annual leave particularly weekend days unless you can find a colleague who is available/willing to swap with you -Maternity pay and long term sick pay is not good

    Trailfinders2019-10-24
  7. "Hard work but good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great staff travel deals, and freebies to be won at times! Travel allowance of £120 per month paid into, which is very generous. -very involved managers. this may be a con if you don't like the feeling of being micromanaged; there are a lot of reviews and hierarchy of managers to report to, they do regular sales call listening and performance reviewing, which isn't always fun but it's genuinely helpful! I personally like that the expectations are very clear and laid out and monitored, and you are very supported, but this doesn't suit everyone! -nice colleagues -free lunches -your booking is your booking, and there's no booking stealing culture with the consultants -can be fun!

    Show More

    Cons

    -despite the fact it's nine hour day, and pretty much guaranteed to be over this as you have to stay available to take calls to the last minute of your shift, you only get a half hour lunch and no other scheduled breaks. On days like Sunday's where it’s busy and shorter staffed, or late shifts after seven, you only get ten minutes max before you have to take the next call- once I was on admin for FORTY SECONDS before a manager monitoring the phones messaged me to become available. You are classed late and chastised if not clocked in by five minutes before your shift even starts! It’s long hard days, and can feel a little school like! -the first six months in particular are very tough. there's a lot to learn and it's stressful, I wanted to quit in the first few months, but it does get easier. -as pretty much everyone on here has said, requesting leave is awful and difficult with lots of convoluted rules.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -sort the leave request system out -give consultants the option to put themselves on a 15minute break, outside of admin time. - the hotel confirmation/unconfirming/black outs on certain dates, aka the dates people most want to go on holiday, is clunky, and could do with fine tuning to make booking easier for clients and consultants.

    Trailfinders2019-10-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good for the right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career progression is based on stats so totally unbiased. Good basic salary so not reliant on commission. Regular salary increases based on performance. You can use shift swaps to get long weekends and get things done on weekdays. Travel opportunities. Free lunch. Mostly friendly well traveled colleagues. You do not have a work mobile or email so you are never contacted outside the office. Excellent brand and top of the industry company. Company is thriving.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours. Irregular shift patterns. Work weekends. It is very difficult to take leave because of all the rules and restrictions. Some managers are tough on you. You have to wear a uniform and everything you do is monitored and controlled. Sometimes we are unfair to clients. Outdated and complex computer systems.

    Advice to Management

    Make the rosters system more flexible and user friendly. Stop selling Europe because we do it badly. Negotiate a faster turnaround time on booking confirmations and supplier quotes.

    Trailfinders2019-09-19
  9. "Good company to work for overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff deals, I'm going to Mauritius in a few weeks on basically a 6grand holiday that I'm paying 2k for! A really good salary way better than most in the industry and great bonus potential top sellers can get crazy amount of money, even average ones can easily earn a few grand a year bonuses. Lots of local stores so don't need to work and live in London. You get lunches paid for by work which saves a lot and they give you a monthly travel fund to spend on trailfinders product. Nice atmosphere in the travel centre.

    Show More

    Cons

    The requesting holiday process is ridiculous, worst system/rules I have ever encountered in all of my previous jobs! The hours are long, but in fairness you get the salary and overtime to reflect it so as long as you're aware that's fine, shifts are generally 9-6/10-7/11-8 and obviously include weekends but it's a sales role so of course you will work weekends!but generally only every other weekend-on average. If you want to do non-sales roles no opportunities really other than in London but most people will be sales focused so all the countrywide travel centres give you plenty of options.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Different leave requesting system/procedure!!!

    Trailfinders2019-09-14
  10. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The basic salary is much better than all other retail/office based jobs I have had and there is also a very attainable bonus scheme. The staff benefits are excellent, discounts on hotels and flights and opportunities to travel with the company. They are very eager for you to travel and gain first hand experience.

    Cons

    Not always getting two days off together but I dont work more than 4 days in a row normally which is good.

    Trailfinders2019-09-12
Found 206 reviews