Trailfinders Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Trailfinders Reviews

Updated 14 July 2018
126 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Trailfinders Chairman Mike Gooley
Mike Gooley
82 Ratings

126 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "There are excellent opportunities to travel with 32 days paid holiday plus bank holidays" (in 22 reviews)

  • "Amazing travel perks (dedicated staff travel department)" (in 26 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Exeter, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Intensive initial training followed by lots of support when you land in the travel centre.
    Great travel perks enabling you to travel lots (good holiday allowance after the first couple of years).
    A fun place to work - clients coming to see you are happy to be booking a holiday, and your colleagues are all like-minded, energetic people interested in travel.
    Best pay in the industry.
    Good career progression opportunities.

    Cons

    At the start the weekends can get to you a little but you get used to it and having days off in the week to get your shopping and admin done is quite nice.
    The uniform makes you feel a bit like you work in a bank.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and carry on listening to your staff.

    Trailfinders Response

    9 Feb 2018

    Thanks for the feedback! A review of the uniform is already underway, listening to feedback from the people who wear it first and foremost.


  2. "7 months at Trailfinders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trailfinders full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Holiday fund - commission - great salary - interest subject matter - free educational holidays - tax free flights - free accommodation - free lunch - expenses paid in depth training in London

    Cons

    Intense - long hours - short lunch - not alot of autonomy

    Trailfinders Response

    10 Jul 2018

    Thanks for posting feedback and ensuring that Consultants have as many opportunities as possible to continue with their travels is something we are committed to. This year 50% of Consultants will... More

  3. "Good training, management poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Trailfinders full-time

    Pros

    Good training in travel industry

    Cons

    Treated like children by management


  4. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trailfinders (More than a year)

    Pros

    Training, Travel Perks, Free lunch

    Cons

    Long hours, toilet break timed, big brother watching you hard to get holidays

    Advice to Management

    Do our job and see how long you last

    Trailfinders Response

    10 Jul 2018

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and many staff would agree that the training provided and the travel perks we secure for Consultants are two of the best things about working for... More


  5. "Great travel opportunities, few irritating aspects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Worldwide Travel Consultant in Bristol, England
    Current Employee - Worldwide Travel Consultant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Having worked here for just over a year here’s my two cents:
    - Great travel opportunities (Free hotel nights, discounted flights, educational trips etc)
    - If you work hard, you get rewarded with some nice payouts.
    - You can move up the pay scale fairly quickly.
    - Majority of clients are friendly people.
    - All like minded people who get on so it’s a good atmosphere in the office (in my one anyway).
    - In depth training in London.

    Cons

    - My biggest bug is how inflexible holiday and time off is. Most regimented job I’ve worked in for this.
    - Half an hour lunch for a 9 hour day. One hour is overtime pay but this isn’t optional.
    - First 6 months are tough, quite hard to get used to how regimented the company is.
    - It’s not all selling holidays - some gritty admin/irritating clients to deal.

    Trailfinders Response

    10 Jul 2018

    Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback and I am glad that you have so many positives to mention such as the great travel opportunities, incentives earning potential, in depth training and... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Good experience in the short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trailfinders full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Discounted travel opportunities
    Free lunch
    Good salary/bonuses
    Good industry training

    Cons

    Lack of ability to manage people as individuals
    Constant pressure
    Heavy workload
    Automatic distrust of staff
    Promote excellent customer service but do not treat their staff with the same respect

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff like you treat your clients. Exceed their expectations.


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Premium consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I get paid every month.

    Cons

    The gradual demise of the previous "superest of desks" department suggests that TF does not really value it's premium staff or it's premium clients as the exodus to travel counsellors and the rest continues. Promoting staff with limited experience and seemingly limited ability again suggests a real lack of understanding of how fundamental these skills are to a successful office and company overall.
    By allowing pretty much anyone to book premium cabins and experiences you create a scenario when a primary school child is attempting a degree at Cambridge.....pointless and wasting resources that are already there.
    I wonder who'll be next to leave? Also don't believ any of the reviews that are positive on here...management have been told to add them to give balance.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff!

    Trailfinders Response

    4 May 2018 – Editor

    Thank you for taking the time to lay down your thoughts and giving us the chance to respond. I appreciate change can feel uncomfortable.

    I would encourage you to give me a call as I feel you have... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Hard work pays off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The first 12 months are particularly overwhelming, however if you’ve got decent selling ability and are prepared to put in the hours the perks are definitely worth it. The social side is fantastic and most offices get on brilliantly.
    Moving up between pay brackets is also fairly quick, providing you’re a good seller, and overtime rates increase here as well.
    Free lunch is basic but saves you a fortune overall. If you're prepared to work hard and have a genuine passion for travel (and don’t mind customer service), it’s a brilliant place to build up some experience and take advantage of the fantastic travel opportunities at the very least.

    Cons

    The first 6 months will leave you exhausted and wondering if it’s worth it.
    Need to be based in London to get out of sales and into other departments.
    Working weekends, working at least a couple of hours overtime a week and getting out of the office late during peak sales months is unavoidable. Work life balance is hard to maintain.
    Ultimately it’s a customer service job, you spend several hours a day on the phone and less time dealing with clients in store face to face, like every customer service role you need to be patient as clients can be quite hit and miss.

    Advice to Management

    Update the uniform, give staff more responsibility and treat them as adults, provide more support for new recruits with more experienced members of staff


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Reading, England
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you are prepared to work hard and are good in a target driven environment you could be earning in excess of £30k within 2-3 years. The people are like minded and a great bunch, the travel perks are incredible with not only the offerings of free trips but also the use of great staff deals. Yes the hours are long but the pay reflects it, its the best in the industry. In a nutshell it's a classic example of work hard/play hard and reap the travel rewards.

    Cons

    The long hours for me isn't a negative, however the hours we work on a Sunday/bank holidays I think is ludicrous . We are the only shop open in any town after 4pm on a Sunday (open til 6) and being open on Easter Sunday is so ridiculous is laughable. They get their money's worth out of us but as I said previous, the salary does reflect that.

    Advice to Management

    You allow people to work 15 days straight in January as it is "busy season" however when it doesn't suit you, if we are desperate for a day swap in week we cant do more than 6 days. Try being a bit more flexible and using your brain rather that just saying "its the rules!!"

    Trailfinders Response

    19 Feb 2018

    Thanks for your feedback. We have been working hard for some time on improving the flexibility of the roster. A memo is going out to everyone today regarding changes which I am sure you will find... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Want to talk about holidays all day long?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trailfinders full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    1. Results orientated - you see instant results from the hard work you put in & there are always goals for you to achieve which keeps you focussed & engaged. Management are always there to help you find ways to improve or offer encouragement. Although there is a strict structure, it does make the job easier and more beneficial in the long run.
    2. Varied & Always learning - you never know what you are going to pick up on the next call which keeps life interesting and makes the days go very quickly! Varied rota's too which means you can make the most of your holiday days & never have Monday blues - its always a Friday for someone in the office!!
    3. Opportunities to progress - because of the systematic promotion system even if you stay as a Travel Consultant you will still be moving up grade levels every 6months or so in the first 2 years. And if you want to move further afield into different departments you are always encouraged to do so!
    4. Amazing people to work with and great social perks!! Everyone is very likeminded, friendly and there to help each other out. There are loads of nights out /educational trips throughout the year that suppliers put on for us that are great fun!

    Cons

    As with any job, the things that make it great are double edged and also make it frustrating;
    1. Although the healthy competition is fun & engaging, the constant comparing & ranking against yourself and your colleagues does become tiresome. It can sometimes feel as though we are being moulded into one narrow standard instead of being rewarded for creativity & initiative. I know that some people find the feedback feels like constant criticism, but keep in mind, management are only doing their job too and trying to encourage you to be as best as you can be at your job!
    2. The sheer scale of the product we offer & procedures we follow can, at the beginning, feel particularly overwhelming. It is useful to remember you're not expected to remember or know everything - every day you will be learning something new, even after 2 or 30 years!! Working weekends is never going to be anyone's favourite thing to do & it can be difficult to plan things outside of work because of the strange shift hours.
    3. Again, I know that some people feel if you do not fit into the exact mould they want, it can be difficult to move around.
    4. No bad side to this one - there is a real sense of community!

    ****
    At the end of the day, its a sales job in a high street store so its going to have different challenges and frustrations to your average office job. But its not rocket science so don't take it all too seriously & remember, what is better than talking about travel and holidays all day long?
    *****

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the improvements that have been happening lately eg suggestion boxes, a much more understanding approach from management
    Have a bit more trust in the incredible 600+ people that you have hired and their ability to do the job!

    Trailfinders Response

    9 Feb 2018

    Thanks for the review! We agree that our staff are our biggest asset so keep the feedback coming.


Showing 126 of 126 reviews
Reset Filters