TransCanada Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TransCanada Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 332 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
TransCanada CEO Russell K. (Russ) Girling
Russell K. (Russ) Girling
162 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is still a large faction (about 50%) of the manager and higher level that have the "old boys club" mentality(in 10 reviews)

  • "Get shipped all across canada on short notice(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "An OK place to work but........"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransCanada full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Generally pays well. Good time off. Depending on the group

    Cons

    Lack of development and promotion opportunities especially if you are U.S. based employee. Lack of diversity. Lots of frequent changes.

    TransCanada2019-05-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Autonomy --which means good for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Counsel in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransCanada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people to work with -Really emphasize safety, integrity and live by it - Lots of autonomy - Director Level employees make good money

    Cons

    - No one wants to make a decision--lots of red tape and passing the buck - Slow growth model provides less incentives to stay long term

    Advice to Management

    - Delegate to managers clear discretion on decision-making - Provide more long-term incentives for growth within the company

    TransCanada2019-04-30
  3. "50/50"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EIT, Engineer II in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransCanada full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Benefits package Fair salary Stability compared to sector

    Cons

    Too much politics Hard to advance

    Advice to Management

    Need better low level management

    TransCanada2019-05-03
  4. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransCanada part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Mostly friendly co-workers. I enjoyed my time there and would recommend it to those who don't mind working for a company that primarily is in fossil fuels

    Cons

    Difficult to get a foot in the door.

    TransCanada2019-04-15
  5. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransCanada full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good pay and friendly staff

    Cons

    Poor leadership and succession planning

    TransCanada2019-04-26
  6. "TransCanada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransCanada full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, excellent defined benefit pension, fantastic Leader

    Cons

    Large corporate politics sometimes exist. due to size, slow to adapt to change.

    TransCanada2019-03-30
  7. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pipeline Technician 

    I have been working at TransCanada full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    401K, benefits, time off, good work life balance

    Cons

    paperwork not many other I can think of

    TransCanada2019-03-27
  8. "Good Employer, But Lsrge Company Downside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransCanada full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits. Safe company.

    Cons

    Good culture lacks. Very old school management styles. Overall not a very flexible/open culture.

    TransCanada2019-03-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransCanada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty decent pay, good people, and helpful colleagues.

    Cons

    Opportunity for growth not abundant, was not what was sold during the interview process. Difficult to manoeuvre internally, less flexible on hours,. Confusingly focused on "chargeability", getting support for other groups was challenging without charge codes. IT'S ALL FOR TRANSCANADA. They get in their own way with this system, efficiency is low. My KPI's were set out for me without my input (in fact I don't think I could...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Foster an environment that let's your people grow. You have great people, let them help you by empowering them to be their best selves. It will make your company stronger at the bottom - that's a good foundation for continued success. Re-consider chargeability targets for TC staff. I understand it's a metric to assess how busy your staff is and what they are contributing to, but everyone from technical support to HSE...

    Show More
    TransCanada2019-03-25
  10. "Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransCanada full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Big company many opportunities

    Cons

    Rough environment , old school, gender gab pay , if you are not an engineer less opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Not enough training to managers therefore a lot of subjectivity

    TransCanada2019-03-24
Found 332 reviews