TransferWise Product Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Product Manager

TransferWise Product Manager Reviews

Updated 13 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
100%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great company with great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Amazing working environment. TransferWise has by far the best corporate culture you'll ever find. * Great mission and great attention to customer. * Just such a great working environment. Super nice people everywhere * Business is going great and sky rocketing

    Cons

    * Company going through some growing pains * Autonomous teams do more harm than good * TONS of engineering dept. Actually makes the company very, very slow at moving. Lots of outages all the time.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2018-09-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A great company to work for knowing you are building something that people love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a mission driven company, and you can hear that listening to the founders words on a daily basis. Great working environment, flat hierarchy, talented colleagues, travel opportunities. It's also a great name to have on your CV.

    Cons

    You need to know what you're doing from day one, receiving little guidance in the process. The flat hierarchy and autonomous team can result in a lack of clarity and vision.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2016-08-12
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, a lot of challenges and responsibilities. It's very rewarding to have the possibility to work with your team to define your own vision, your roadmap, your goals and your KPI.

    Cons

    Working in vertical autonomous teams might not be the typical setup a PM is used to.

    TransferWise2015-04-29
  4. "Amazing Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a PM, you will have room to grow and define your initiatives using data.

    Cons

    Can get confusing if you are not the type who can really work without direction

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-02-13
  5. "Rear example of mission driven company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - deep care about customers - dedication to transparency and fairness - high level of trust and autonomy for employees - great growth opportunities

    Cons

    Should be ready that it's not a simple job, as company growth very fast.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-07-10
  6. "Flexible & chaotic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Product Manager in Tallinn
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time

    Pros

    Incredible flexibility and trust in me making the right decisions. Great colleagues.

    Cons

    Cross-team communication is a real challenge in this company of over 1500 people with flat hierachy. I often find out quite late when other teams work on something that affects my work and customer groups.

    TransferWise2019-03-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Smart people, strong culture .. a bit "noisy" and"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong culture of autonomy and independence. Smart people - I especially like the customer- and product-centric attitude in software engineering organisation. Clear mission. Since the product is growing (both in volumes and complexity due to geographic expansion and new features like the borderless account), the team is also growing rapidly and thus career opportunities are good (either for more responsibility or for leading people). While there is a lot of challenging and feedback, it's mostly constructive and warmly presented. It's certainly the best job I've ever had.

    Cons

    The independent and autonomous culture can create noise - a lot of opinions and feedback - and this can slow you down or frustrate you, especially if you're a new Product Manafer. Later on, you learn to hear the opinions out and consider them, but ultimately make your own decisions as a product manager. Some growing pains - as the organisation has grown in size, some aspects of leadership have not scaled quickly enough. This can feel like there's a lack of direction (lack of roadmap that is, the mission is quite clear and reminded often) or lack of clarity in some roles and responsibilities. Work-life balance can be difficult, since in an independent and autonomous team you're kind of master of your own fate and are expected to create a product much better than the alternatives.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2018-04-23
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company with the great culture, really driven by a mission to make customers lives better.

    Cons

    Not much really. There is so much to do and not enough time :)

    TransferWise2018-04-23
  9. "The most customer centric company I worked in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Product Manager in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise

    Pros

    Customer centric, solving important problems, awesome culture, data-driven, awesomely smart team.

    Cons

    Why is cons field mandatory?

    TransferWise2016-10-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fcing amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Organisational structure. Freedom of define your own way to success - You do what has the biggest impact towards making the financial system more fair and transparent. No-one tells you what to do. + surrounded by one of the smartest people in the world. + steepest learning curve I've ever had.

    Cons

    Cross-team communication can be a challenge with autonomous teams.. That's mitigated by employing super outgoing and friendly (entrepreneurial) people ;) I have had 0 problems so far.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2016-07-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews