TransferWise Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TransferWise Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
211 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced work environment teaches skills that may otherwise take much longer(in 47 reviews)

  • "Great people that you get to work with(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Communication overhead due to autonomous teams(in 26 reviews)

  • "Cross-team efforts are not so easy to coordinate as all teams are autonomous(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in at many companies, in many different industries. This is far and away the best place I've worked. We provide a legitimately helpful, beneficial service to our clients, with no downside to anyone. My colleagues are some of the most intelligent, dynamic, kind people I've ever met. The culture is open, inclusive, not rigid at all.

    Cons

    Every medium-large company has a certain amount of bureaucracy. TransferWise is no different. But it has less of it than I've experienced before. People who need a ton of structure — who need to be told what to do to do their job — might struggle here. Being a self-starter is rewarded. Also there is not necessarily a steady, prescribed path to moving up. You move up if you do good work, but there's no formula (years + KPIs, for instance) that guarantees it. At least not that I've seen. I actually like that. I understand why some may not.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-04
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Producer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - It's BigSmall: It's a big global company with the mindset of a small start-up. Amazing offices, a great name on your CV and the clout to make real change in the world, but with a totally grounded culture and that start-up spirit of always innovating and improving! - Autonomy: TransferWise has a really unique approach to autonomy; unlike anything I've experienced before. Rather than telling you what you should be doing, you're encouraged to try and work out yourself how you can best make an impact. This may sound wishy-washy, but the benefits really become apparent over time. You're encouraged to keep questioning, innovating and trying new things. It really allows you to grow as an individual and gives you whatever opportunities you're willing to take.

    Cons

    - Too decentralised?: The autonomous nature of the country can sometimes feel like a double-edged sword; which can mean it takes a long time to get things done or make big decisions. Making change at TransferWise is less about your status, and more about your ability to get democratic support behind your ideas. This can be inefficient, but it also has upsides and is a great life skill to build.

    TransferWise2020-02-13
  3. "Amazing work enrionment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - International people - the kitchen is great and fully stocked - Autonomous working - Work life balance - The office is great - There are great events in place

    Cons

    - Theres no gym at the london office :(

    TransferWise2020-02-12
  4. "Awesome place to work for people that like dynamic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good work-life balance - Fast-growing company - Stock options for all employees - High level of transparent - Reasonably flat organization - Owners and leadership are accessible - It's truly mission driven - In general, people are quite nice - Teams are highly autonomous (which I really like, but it can also be a con depending on what you're looking for)

    Cons

    - TransferWise really cares about its mission and that's quite nice, but sometimes I wish that we could have more missions other than only "Money without borders". For example, we are not very into closing economic gap, or reducing gender inequality. - In general, people here are quite nice and when someone is clearly rude the person receives feedback and can get eventually fired. However, there are some grey areas, especially when the person is rude but at the same time the person is a high performer. If it was up to me, I would not allow this "rude but high performer" people in TransferWise.

    TransferWise2020-02-13
  5. "Very good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomous work environment, people who more often than not share a common goal and to get to be part of building a product that most costumers absolutely love and that genuinely help people around the world save lots of money

    Cons

    The very high level of autonomy can lead to teams at times acting selfishly. As long this is managed properly, there are ways to make it work but working this way is not for everyone

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-02-12
  6. "Fantastic company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reward Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomous teams; means you can get stuff done, quick! Quarterly planning ; so you know what is happening and kept up to speed Fantastic benefits - work from home, flexible working, events, lunch, travel! Growise every 6 months to make sure your career is moving in the direction you wish. Intelligent, warm and friendly people to work with

    Cons

    I've been here for 6 months and have enjoyed everything about working here.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-01-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours. Well-stocked kitchen. Sauna in the office

    Cons

    This organisation is made up of loud people. Quiet ones who contribute are either drowned out or forced to be as loud or will not be recognised. Inter-department bickering happens all the time. Loads of politics because of autonomous culture. Tech is an utter mess. Compensation and stocks are below market. Same feedback has been given by numerous leavers, but nothing's done. Flexible working means you will have no form of life. Be prepared! You will be slacked about work when you are on vacation and off sick. Work anytime any day! Ceo paints rosy pictures of company success. Working here, however, wouldnt make you feel like you are working in a successful company. Cost cutting is done in every way possible Do not be fooled by the novelty of having a sauna in the office. No one uses it. Totally overrated!

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-02-08
  8. "Plenty of opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Breakfast in the mornings (cereal, toast, avocadoes), free soda/coffee throughout the day. Team lunch ordered in on Fridays and open bar with beer/wine on Friday evenings. Plenty of events organized such as speakers, yoga sessions, comedy nights, Halloween/Christmas party, summer days are great.. If you want to take on more responsibility, you won't be stopped. Very open culture, people are friendly. Strong feedback culture, people will tell you if you're doing something wrong which is great for personal development. They will also tell you if you're doing something right. Not hierarchical at all (which isn't ALWAYS a positive when you need someone to do something for you..). Liberal work from home allowance. People team cares about the employees. Nobody checks what time you're in/out of the office. People are keen on you not working too much, very healthy approach to work-life balance.

    Cons

    Mid-level compensation. Analyst career progression is very unclear. Analyst compensation motivation is very unclear. TransferWise analytics are not particularly rigorous, do not expect to develop more intense data science/stats skills on the job.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-12-18
  9. "Great company, great product, great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company with a real mission: make transfer free.

    Cons

    I don’t have a major negative side to express.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-12-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - There are opportunities to take on more responsibility if you wish - Some great colleagues in the lower ranks of the company and many people are friendly and helpful - Free fruit, snacks and drinks in the office

    Cons

    - Mission is a thin smoke screen. The real goal of the company is maximising profits and generating returns for founders and investors. - Compensation is poor. When working there it feels like the company aim is to pay employees as little as possible and save every penny possible. - CEO has not been honest and truthful to the employees about compensation. - Overall company is disorganised and badly managed. There have been a series of unsuccessful leadership hires and promotions what have been damaging and painful while the CEO is pretending that there is no problem.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-12-30

    TransferWise Response

    January 7, 2020Chief People Officer

    Hi, thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. I%E2%80%99m really sad to hear this was your experience at TransferWise, this is the opposite of how we want people to feel, in particular your concerns around compensation. We're regularly reviewing our salary ranges to ensure they continue to be competitive and we review salary ranges for all employees globally at least every 12 months. As you know in addition to salary we offer competitive stock options for all employees to share in the long term success in the company.I do sincerely hope you were able to pass on your feedback to your lead and the People team before you left as we want all our people to feel that they discuss their concerns, as it%E2%80%99s the only way we can get better.If you're up for a conversation, I%E2%80%99d like to hear more about your particular experience. Please feel free to reach out to me so we can connect. Thanks, Ross

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 373 reviews