TransferWise Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TransferWise Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
188 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The "autonomous teams" has its downfalls too - mainly the communication between teams during different projects(in 22 reviews)

  • "Cross-team efforts are not so easy to coordinate as all teams are autonomous(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in at many companies, in many different industries. This is far and away the best place I've worked. We provide a legitimately helpful, beneficial service to our clients, with no downside to anyone. My colleagues are some of the most intelligent, dynamic, kind people I've ever met. The culture is open, inclusive, not rigid at all.

    Cons

    Every medium-large company has a certain amount of bureaucracy. TransferWise is no different. But it has less of it than I've experienced before. People who need a ton of structure — who need to be told what to do to do their job — might struggle here. Being a self-starter is rewarded. Also there is not necessarily a steady, prescribed path to moving up. You move up if you do good work, but there's... no formula (years + KPIs, for instance) that guarantees it. At least not that I've seen. I actually like that. I understand why some may not.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep doing what you're doing.

    TransferWise2019-10-04
  2. "Autonomous Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teams are free to choose what to work on as long as it is the biggest opportunity for the team

    Cons

    People sometimes don't give a feedback, which makes things pile-up

    TransferWise2019-12-09
  3. "Great company, great product, great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company with a real mission: make transfer free.

    Cons

    I don’t have a major negative side to express.

    Advice to Management

    No major advice to share

    TransferWise2019-12-02
  4. "Mission driven company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - High level of autonomy. - Mission driven company - Ethics for good - Transparent

    Cons

    The company have amazing values, but violated by many teams

    TransferWise2019-11-21
  5. "First time I've been truly happy in a job and woke up everyday happy to be going to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -You're treated like an adult & trusted to do your job without being micromanaged -Work/life balance is the best I've had and that's down to the flexibility -Your opinions and ideas matter and they're listened to -Encouraged to get involved in things that really interest you or speak up if you believe something can be done better -You're given the opportunities to grow and take on new challenges -No two... days are ever the same, you're always faced with new challenges and things to get stuck into -Brilliant offices with everything you could need (and more!) -Possibility of travelling to our other offices -SummerDays yearly all-company event -Everyone is so friendly -None of that 'I'm-a-newbie' awkwardness, you become part of the team instantly

    Show More

    Cons

    -The autonomous environment can be frustrating at times -With so many people in the business, it's impossible to know everybody (or even half!) -As we're growing so quickly things change quickly meaning something that's a priority today might not be tomorrow -If you don't like constant change or enjoy being kept on your toes, this is not the place for you!

    TransferWise2019-11-12
  6. "Working at TransferWise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, collegiate team, work ownership, great remuneration, team support, great work/ life balance.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons!

    TransferWise2019-11-05
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Growing pains still, weak tech leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, driven environment, very challenging.

    Cons

    Inconsistency, some leads are resting and vesting. Some new people are political and will gain more power because they look for it. Some old timers are not suited to their role anymore and the role outgrew them.

    Advice to Management

    - don't get political - stop rewarding the opinionated engineers that have short success only to let other engineers clean the mess later

    TransferWise2019-11-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best culture EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing culture, feels like a startup with all the benefits of a 1500+ company - No hierarchy and bureaucracy - Small autonomous team - Big impact as a dev, your voice is always heard - Encourages everyone to drive things forward and solve problems instead of implementing blue-prints - CEO is a true leader

    Cons

    I cannot name any, this is the best job I've ever had

    TransferWise2019-09-25
  9. "Great benefits and autonomous Teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Visionary and inspirational CEO. Lots of flexibility and trust. Great community and awesome perks. Surrounded by smart and talented people.

    Cons

    Salary is below market rate but the benefits and stock options make it a good option Autonomous teams can leave me feeling like there's a lack of structure and support

    Advice to Management

    OKRs

    TransferWise2019-09-25
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Comprehensive onboarding - Flexible work environment - Freedom to do what you can do best - Overall team is full of humble people who believe in the company's mission

    Cons

    - Some fluctuation as its normal in start-ups

    TransferWise2019-09-25
Found 347 reviews