TransferWise Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TransferWise Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 221 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
81 Ratings
  1. "A great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and working environment, incredibly smart people to work with and learn from. Support to develop and grow, numerous opportunities to take initiative. Very strong mission that is more just buzzwords.

    Cons

    Due to how fast the company is growing, there are issues with lack of available free (permanent) desks and meeting rooms. Cross-team efforts are not so easy to coordinate as all teams are autonomous.

    TransferWise2019-04-02
  2. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Events Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are absolutely wonderful. There are so many smart and creative people together. I am inspired by them and what they do every day. If you are open to learning there are so many things to learn. You just need to see where you can help and do it. I enjoy choosing my own new challenges and working in an open and honest environment. I love it that even though I have been here for 5 years the company still feels...

    Show More

    Cons

    While I enjoy autonomous teams and working this way, it is not for everyone. I would suggest thinking about this when applying for a job and trying to find out if this environment is one where you can thrive. There is a lot of information to learn and it may not be as straightforward as a new joiner may expect. We are definitely getting better at it and have made massive steps forward.

    TransferWise2019-03-18
  3. "An exciting and rewarding place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Mission-driven culture with all of us wanting to make a difference - Autonomy to add value across the business - Strong wellbeing focus - Creative office spaces

    Cons

    - It's such a shift from other more conventional working environments that the initial weeks can be tough, but there's plenty of support provided and we all go through it so hang in there and enjoy the ride! Besides, who wants to be conventional? :)

    TransferWise2019-03-12
  4. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PR Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of very interesting projects to work on! There are a lot of opportunities to socialise with the rest of the team, including the founders. A lot of perks such as free lunch, business travel opportunities, training among others.

    Cons

    I can't think of any, I had a great experience!

    TransferWise2019-02-15
  5. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, people and benefits

    Cons

    - - - - -

    TransferWise2019-02-06
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Company Culture - fun at work. Mission driven company The sense that TransferWise is revolutionising a big, broken industry. Ability to travel.

    Cons

    The lack of structure isn't for everyone. Takes some getting used to.

    TransferWise2019-02-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Work however you like & work on whatever you like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I think our culture is pretty unique in the sense that I can choose to work from home whenever I want and naturally we have problems but from what I’ve seen people air those problems out and we are pretty good at addressing them head on. I also like that I can push whatever projects I want & generally people don’t even question me on it - not that questions are a bad thing. Fairly generous travel policy to compensate...

    Show More

    Cons

    Base salaries are below market for engineers - but I’ve heard the People team are looking to address this. Career development is a black box - again I heard that the People team are looking to address this aswell.

    Advice to Management

    Please don’t listen to complaints from people about not being active as management. The hands-off approach is better for the long-term and forces compromises between teams.

    TransferWise2019-02-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company with lots of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The reason I joined was that the mission resonated. I was fed up with banks charging me high fees and the transaction taking up to 5 days. We really are focused on this mission and we have great values that underpin this. I love the autonomy teams have and the forward thinking 'problem solving' mindset. There are lots of great perks... An all company paid trip, healthcare, local discounts, gym, yoga, and lunches to...

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't think of any at this stage.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on autonomous teams

    TransferWise2019-01-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Awesome Environment, People. Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    All very, very, very good! Great environment, colleagues, product!

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of. It really is a super company. Would recommend to all.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Great to work for you, even better using your products!

    TransferWise2018-10-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Full Stack Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great salaries amazing atmosphere free and complete breakfast free lunch on Fridays all company paid holidays amazing flexibility on work location

    Cons

    as a young company, too many changes in the product and teams structure

    TransferWise2018-10-02
Found 221 reviews