TransferWise Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TransferWise Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
196 Ratings
  1. "I'm happy to come into work every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Challenging environment, you'll be pushed to learn and grow - Amazing colleagues, made such good friends at work - Opportunities to grow beyond your role - Perks are really good, the company looks after its employees -

    Cons

    - Salary could be better. If it was, this would be a perfect place to work - Sometimes people struggle at work mentally because of the speed of growth and autonomy expected of them

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing to look after your employees. Would advise having more rigorous lead training as making someone a lead who's never managed before can be a recipe for disaster if they're not trained properly

    TransferWise2019-09-25
  2. Helpful (15)

    "Definitely not a startup, good product , average engineering - suitable for less senior people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good location and offices - Relaxed environment (sometimes too relaxed) - Breakfast and other in office perks + weekly lunch. - Not so much pressure or reasonable pressure. (this leads though to a big percent of people to actually slack) - Strong product, the basic idea (the founding idea) is still driving the company that's why is a one of the dominant players on the sector of money transfer. - The company is making money, despite the previous rounds of funding is showing profits and this is making its strategic position even stronger.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Not a startup, it feels like a mini bank in terms of prospects of work for any engineer. - The idea of autonomous teams is close to a joke, practically very few people internally believe in this, actually now is a problem. The amount spent to coordinate or create something is increasing - so the company feels like a slow moving traditional fin org. - No strong management for the engineering teams - the flat structure of Leads and Engineers is not working any more. - Territorial teams (not all of them but most of them), many of the early engineers of the company which in market standards would really find it difficult to find a job on the market - create a very defensive culture. - A large percent of the engineers are being credited titles that do not correspond to their actual skills. Senior engineers with real experience of what it could be best as Mid. - Extremely political, need to watch and avoid conflict with older and more senior engineers / leads. The engineering know how sometimes is based on hear say or people posting on slack random articles to prove their point (sign of inexperience) - Due to this chaotic sometimes way of working it is very common that some of the teams actually work more than others, but they are not been credited for it, again there is no good management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - strong engineering leadership (top to bottom) is needed - stop pretending and work with the startup mentality - its a 1500+ strong org now

    TransferWise2019-09-19
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Smart people, Average Tech, Horrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Stack Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * you get to work with some really smart people [Tech] * People are really passionate about company values and what they are trying to achieve [business].

    Cons

    * Tech is average. They have a monolith in groovy [although most of it is moved to Java]. nobody wants to touch it.. when they do .. everything breaks! * Both teams and engineers are supposed to be super autonomous and they take it to a whole new level! Most of the time you get answers like "Just Google! Don't disturb us.. be autonomous" * Not very collaborative teams, people work in silos.. collaboration = status updates. they insist you slack/msg your teammates even if you sitting next to them. * Feedback culture is quiet good. its constant but the only problem is you will never be asked "How can i help?". * Not everybody can fit into TransferWise culture, it is perfect for people who like to come to office at 9, don't like getting disturbed.. finish work at 6 and head back home.

    Show More
    TransferWise2019-10-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible learning opportunity for graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coming to TransferWise has been my first job after graduating from university. It's given me so many opportunities I wouldn't even have dreamed of when thinking of what working life will be like. Some of my personal highlights are: - Responsibility & ownership- even as a junior I'm trusted to take on lots of responsibility in my projects and I'm encouraged to always voice my opinions and tell my views. - Travel opportunity - it often feels crazy to be able to travel to our offices around the world. - The people - it probably seems cliche but it's really the people that make TransferWise - I'm learning not only from my team mates, but also from people from different teams all the time. Everyone's always happy to help out and you can have chats with anyone, there's no corporate hierarchy. - Flexibility - being an international, one of the biggest things for me is the ability to travel to my home country and work from there for a week once in a while not having to use my holiday days for it. Lots of people also WFH once a week. - Mission-driven - When I was applying for a job I wasn't particularly looking for a mission-driven company. However seeing everyone here living and breathing our mission feels empowering and like you have a greater purpose to work for.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Information overload - when you first join the information overload is huge, there's so much you can learn about the product that you really need to learn to prioritise and see what's relevant for you through the noise - Autonomy can be overwhelming - there's no handholding, you need to figure out how you can have the most impact and keep lazer-focused on that. It can be tricky as there's so many things you could be working on, to really understand how you can bring most value to the company.

    Show More
    TransferWise2019-09-18
  5. Helpful (16)

    "So much potential lost through mismanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IOS Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get loads of autonomy and influence over product and design. You won't be a code monkey.

    Cons

    This can be very very inconsistent depending on the team. In my experience I encountered clueless managers trying to further their own careers over the betterment of the team. There are quite a few living embodiments of the Dunning-Kruger effect! The environment started feeling a lot more corporate. The classic issues of 'waterfall masquerading as agile' have started to crop up. The number of meetings kept going up and don't expect to get any concentrated time to do work as Slack will ensure you're constantly distracted! The company is also in a bit of an identity crisis about what the product actually is. Ask 10 people and you'll get 10 different answers. None of them incorrect but not entirely correct either. The culture and values on paper look great but I'm finding it harder and harder to see those values in a practical way. It doesn't matter what you write on the wall but what you reward and who you promote. In my experience there was a massive incongruity between the written values and practical values. There is a certain kind of person that can succeed at TransferWise. The traits likely to do well are over confident, loud, loves to talk and can make themselves heard in a loud meeting. It's rather sad because here's a company that has literally everything going for it. It's solving a real problem with a product that seems to work (so far) and is profitable. The management seem to be caught like a rabbit in the headlights though and that could cripple the company's long term prospects.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start making some decisions! Autonomous teams are just a cop out from having to call some shots and ruffling a few feathers. People management is non existent. Spending some time on that would massively improve efficiency.

    TransferWise2019-08-30
  6. "Creative Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Biz Dev in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial, Innovative, I am not sure what else to say

    Cons

    Disorganised, No clear leadership, I am not sure what else to say

    Advice to Management

    Trust the CEO

    TransferWise2019-08-14
  7. "An exciting place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Operations in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's been a great experience so far to work in an environment so driven by its mission, with such talented people on that journey. As a result, there's a deeply rewarding culture here, underpinned by strong values that people really care about. It's definitely a challenging start here when there's so much to take in and learn, but there's plenty of support around you to enjoy the ride and really give your career a huge boost.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing for me to report :)

    TransferWise2019-08-05
  8. "Great people, great product, great culture..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You work with some seriously smart people here. I constantly feel driven and challenged to think differently all the time. We are scaling quickly, so really this is an environment for people that can handle a fast paced, but inclusive environment. I also have two kids, one of the biggest things for me is that no-one batters an eye at the time i come in late or leave early... Or that i work from home one day a week. Loads of great perks; 6 week paid sabbatical + your holiday for that year, annual all company paid trip, stock options, breakfast, friday lunches, 5% pension, yoga, gym and more.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing... I love this company!

    TransferWise2019-07-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, needs structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People really care about customers and the product - Very diverse range of people - Really positive work environment - Very flat structure and good support

    Cons

    - Little financial expertise - Quite an immature work environment - Different teams working on competing goals/tasks

    TransferWise2019-07-08
  10. "Rewarding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees really care about the work they do and the impact they have. Supportive teams looking to build you up in your career, share their expertise with you, and help you get better. Fun, social office.

    Cons

    Can be a chaotic environment with so many teams working on so many different things. It's hard to keep up with who's doing what.

    TransferWise2019-07-08
Found 355 reviews