TransferWise Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TransferWise Reviews

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
223 Ratings
  1. "Plenty of opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Breakfast in the mornings (cereal, toast, avocadoes), free soda/coffee throughout the day. Team lunch ordered in on Fridays and open bar with beer/wine on Friday evenings. Plenty of events organized such as speakers, yoga sessions, comedy nights, Halloween/Christmas party, summer days are great.. If you want to take on more responsibility, you won't be stopped. Very open culture, people are friendly. Strong feedback culture, people will tell you if you're doing something wrong which is great for personal development. They will also tell you if you're doing something right. Not hierarchical at all (which isn't ALWAYS a positive when you need someone to do something for you..). Liberal work from home allowance. People team cares about the employees. Nobody checks what time you're in/out of the office. People are keen on you not working too much, very healthy approach to work-life balance.

    Cons

    Mid-level compensation. Analyst career progression is very unclear. Analyst compensation motivation is very unclear. TransferWise analytics are not particularly rigorous, do not expect to develop more intense data science/stats skills on the job.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-12-18
  2. "Great company, great product, great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company with a real mission: make transfer free.

    Cons

    I don’t have a major negative side to express.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-12-02
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - There are opportunities to take on more responsibility if you wish - Some great colleagues in the lower ranks of the company and many people are friendly and helpful - Free fruit, snacks and drinks in the office

    Cons

    - Mission is a thin smoke screen. The real goal of the company is maximising profits and generating returns for founders and investors. - Compensation is poor. When working there it feels like the company aim is to pay employees as little as possible and save every penny possible. - CEO has not been honest and truthful to the employees about compensation. - Overall company is disorganised and badly managed. There have been a series of unsuccessful leadership hires and promotions what have been damaging and painful while the CEO is pretending that there is no problem.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-12-30

    TransferWise Response

    January 7, 2020Chief People Officer

    Hi, thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. I%E2%80%99m really sad to hear this was your experience at TransferWise, this is the opposite of how we want people to feel, in particular your concerns around compensation. We're regularly reviewing our salary ranges to ensure they continue to be competitive and we review salary ranges for all employees globally at least every 12 months. As you know in addition to salary we offer competitive stock options for all employees to share in the long term success in the company.I do sincerely hope you were able to pass on your feedback to your lead and the People team before you left as we want all our people to feel that they discuss their concerns, as it%E2%80%99s the only way we can get better.If you're up for a conversation, I%E2%80%99d like to hear more about your particular experience. Please feel free to reach out to me so we can connect. Thanks, Ross

    Continue reading
  4. "First time I've been truly happy in a job and woke up everyday happy to be going to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -You're treated like an adult & trusted to do your job without being micromanaged -Work/life balance is the best I've had and that's down to the flexibility -Your opinions and ideas matter and they're listened to -Encouraged to get involved in things that really interest you or speak up if you believe something can be done better -You're given the opportunities to grow and take on new challenges -No two days are ever the same, you're always faced with new challenges and things to get stuck into -Brilliant offices with everything you could need (and more!) -Possibility of travelling to our other offices -SummerDays yearly all-company event -Everyone is so friendly -None of that 'I'm-a-newbie' awkwardness, you become part of the team instantly

    Cons

    -The autonomous environment can be frustrating at times -With so many people in the business, it's impossible to know everybody (or even half!) -As we're growing so quickly things change quickly meaning something that's a priority today might not be tomorrow -If you don't like constant change or enjoy being kept on your toes, this is not the place for you!

    TransferWise2019-11-12
  5. "Working at TransferWise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, collegiate team, work ownership, great remuneration, team support, great work/ life balance.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons!

    TransferWise2019-11-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Growing pains still, weak tech leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, driven environment, very challenging.

    Cons

    Inconsistency, some leads are resting and vesting. Some new people are political and will gain more power because they look for it. Some old timers are not suited to their role anymore and the role outgrew them.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-11-07

    TransferWise Response

    November 10, 2019Marketing Manager

    Thanks for sharing your honest feedback and I'm sorry to hear about your frustrations. We want all our people to feel that they can make their concerns heard, clearly knowing where there are issues is the only way we can get better. If you're up for a conversation, Mallory in Engineering Experience would love to hear more. You can either reach out directly to her, or I can put you in touch. Let us know and best wishes, Jihan.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Best culture EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing culture, feels like a startup with all the benefits of a 1500+ company - No hierarchy and bureaucracy - Small autonomous team - Big impact as a dev, your voice is always heard - Encourages everyone to drive things forward and solve problems instead of implementing blue-prints - CEO is a true leader

    Cons

    I cannot name any, this is the best job I've ever had

    TransferWise2019-09-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits and autonomous Teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Visionary and inspirational CEO. Lots of flexibility and trust. Great community and awesome perks. Surrounded by smart and talented people.

    Cons

    Salary is below market rate but the benefits and stock options make it a good option Autonomous teams can leave me feeling like there's a lack of structure and support

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-09-25
  9. Helpful (17)

    "Definitely not a startup, good product , average engineering - suitable for less senior people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good location and offices - Relaxed environment (sometimes too relaxed) - Breakfast and other in office perks + weekly lunch. - Not so much pressure or reasonable pressure. (this leads though to a big percent of people to actually slack) - Strong product, the basic idea (the founding idea) is still driving the company that's why is a one of the dominant players on the sector of money transfer. - The company is making money, despite the previous rounds of funding is showing profits and this is making its strategic position even stronger.

    Cons

    - Not a startup, it feels like a mini bank in terms of prospects of work for any engineer. - The idea of autonomous teams is close to a joke, practically very few people internally believe in this, actually now is a problem. The amount spent to coordinate or create something is increasing - so the company feels like a slow moving traditional fin org. - No strong management for the engineering teams - the flat structure of Leads and Engineers is not working any more. - Territorial teams (not all of them but most of them), many of the early engineers of the company which in market standards would really find it difficult to find a job on the market - create a very defensive culture. - A large percent of the engineers are being credited titles that do not correspond to their actual skills. Senior engineers with real experience of what it could be best as Mid. - Extremely political, need to watch and avoid conflict with older and more senior engineers / leads. The engineering know how sometimes is based on hear say or people posting on slack random articles to prove their point (sign of inexperience) - Due to this chaotic sometimes way of working it is very common that some of the teams actually work more than others, but they are not been credited for it, again there is no good management.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-09-19
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Comprehensive onboarding - Flexible work environment - Freedom to do what you can do best - Overall team is full of humble people who believe in the company's mission

    Cons

    - Some fluctuation as its normal in start-ups

    TransferWise2019-09-25
Found 389 reviews