TransferWise Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TransferWise Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
188 Ratings
  1. Helpful (23)

    "More of a cult than a company. Overrated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    TL;DR This is still a good company to work for, but don't just go with the hype or believe these reviews. They are a reflection of what TransferWise does best: indoctrination. If you have a similar offer from somewhere else you should definitely consider it. Other upsides: - Freedom - People can have a say (comes with a price) - It's a quite transparent company everyone is always been told what's going... on - Offices are quite nice - Quite social crowd (if you are into that) - Mission is ambitious. You can feel like you're making a difference.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hyper growth is challenging. When you have a company with over a thousand people too much freedom can lead to chaos. Also, the fact that autonomy is one of the core values of the company has turned teams quite selfish about their own goals. Cross team collaboration is almost impossible. It's so hard that ends up discouraging people from seeking to fix or do any task that involves other teams. It's like living... in a country with different factions that pretend to collaborate with one another. The company is divided into several cliques, and the old employees act as tribal leaders: don't even think about disagreeing with them. It's an EXTREMELY political company. If you hate politics, don't bother joining. It's as political as any big old organisation out there (or worse than most). Most leads are quite young and with that comes a huge ego. You will feel like going back to secondary school sometimes. Dramas, gossip, etc. It's a downside of having so many young people together. On the engineering side, it's the most unproductive company I've ever worked for. Anything that took 1 week anywhere else in TransferWise takes 4. Loads of talking, convincing and trying to understand a codebase that has become a huge patchwork of badly designed APIs, very little actual coding. Code quality is average at most. Be prepared to deal with technical debt through the roof. Because the company grows so fast, most of the engineers know very little about the current codebase. No documentation, no javadocs, just hearsay. Last but not least, the perks of being a vibrant startup are mostly gone by now. This is a huge organisation not a small startup anymore. You still get some of the basics, like free fruit etc, but it's the same as you get in any other tech company nowadays.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more experienced people. When you get this big you need more than youth.

    TransferWise2019-03-21
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Events Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are absolutely wonderful. There are so many smart and creative people together. I am inspired by them and what they do every day. If you are open to learning there are so many things to learn. You just need to see where you can help and do it. I enjoy choosing my own new challenges and working in an open and honest environment. I love it that even though I have been here for 5 years the company still... feels like a startup to work in. We are just a bit better structured in many ways. The feeling is still there.

    Show More

    Cons

    While I enjoy autonomous teams and working this way, it is not for everyone. I would suggest thinking about this when applying for a job and trying to find out if this environment is one where you can thrive. There is a lot of information to learn and it may not be as straightforward as a new joiner may expect. We are definitely getting better at it and have made massive steps forward.

    TransferWise2019-03-18
  3. "A great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and working environment, incredibly smart people to work with and learn from. Support to develop and grow, numerous opportunities to take initiative. Very strong mission that is more just buzzwords.

    Cons

    Due to how fast the company is growing, there are issues with lack of available free (permanent) desks and meeting rooms. Cross-team efforts are not so easy to coordinate as all teams are autonomous.

    TransferWise2019-04-02
  4. Helpful (19)

    "Over-hyped"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They are riding high on past success. They've been lucky that competitors have had a few problems...

    Cons

    Most leads are leads based on length of time in company rather than any leadership ability. Inconsistency of ability across teams - people are kept/ promoted if they agree with the leadership team. Some of the leadership team are really incompetent so they prefer people around them who are just as incompetent... Micro-management by leadership (esp CEO) or in worst cases complete by-passing of teams ....while still... claiming to be an autonomous culture. No longer the boys club it used to be... but the female employees are pretty cutthroat while claiming to be supportive.

    Show More
    TransferWise2019-03-14
  5. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PR Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of very interesting projects to work on! There are a lot of opportunities to socialise with the rest of the team, including the founders. A lot of perks such as free lunch, business travel opportunities, training among others.

    Cons

    I can't think of any, I had a great experience!

    TransferWise2019-02-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Work however you like & work on whatever you like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I think our culture is pretty unique in the sense that I can choose to work from home whenever I want and naturally we have problems but from what I’ve seen people air those problems out and we are pretty good at addressing them head on. I also like that I can push whatever projects I want & generally people don’t even question me on it - not that questions are a bad thing. Fairly generous travel policy to... compensate for issues with having a highly distributed team. It’ll feel very cult like initially but trust me it gets better after a couple of years of being here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Base salaries are below market for engineers - but I’ve heard the People team are looking to address this. Career development is a black box - again I heard that the People team are looking to address this aswell.

    Advice to Management

    Please don’t listen to complaints from people about not being active as management. The hands-off approach is better for the long-term and forces compromises between teams.

    TransferWise2019-02-02
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company Culture - fun at work. Mission driven company The sense that TransferWise is revolutionising a big, broken industry. Ability to travel.

    Cons

    The lack of structure isn't for everyone. Takes some getting used to.

    TransferWise2019-02-06
  8. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, people and benefits

    Cons

    - - - - -

    TransferWise2019-02-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Horizontal Hierarchy * Innovative * Top 10 Startup in London

    Cons

    * A bit territorial * No remote flexibility at all

    TransferWise2019-02-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company with lots of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The reason I joined was that the mission resonated. I was fed up with banks charging me high fees and the transaction taking up to 5 days. We really are focused on this mission and we have great values that underpin this. I love the autonomy teams have and the forward thinking 'problem solving' mindset. There are lots of great perks... An all company paid trip, healthcare, local discounts, gym, yoga, and lunches ... to name a few. But, the flexibility and immediate trust is what i like the most.

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't think of any at this stage.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on autonomous teams

    TransferWise2019-01-09
Found 346 reviews