TransferWise "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TransferWise Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated 13 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
200 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced work environment teaches skills that may otherwise take much longer(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great people that you get to work with(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "The "autonomous teams" has its downfalls too - mainly the communication between teams during different projects(in 23 reviews)

  • "Cross-team efforts are not so easy to coordinate as all teams are autonomous(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fantastic company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reward Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomous teams; means you can get stuff done, quick! Quarterly planning ; so you know what is happening and kept up to speed Fantastic benefits - work from home, flexible working, events, lunch, travel! Growise every 6 months to make sure your career is moving in the direction you wish. Intelligent, warm and friendly people to work with

    Cons

    I've been here for 6 months and have enjoyed everything about working here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    TransferWise2020-01-13
  2. "Plenty of opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Breakfast in the mornings (cereal, toast, avocadoes), free soda/coffee throughout the day. Team lunch ordered in on Fridays and open bar with beer/wine on Friday evenings. Plenty of events organized such as speakers, yoga sessions, comedy nights, Halloween/Christmas party, summer days are great.. If you want to take on more responsibility, you won't be stopped. Very open culture, people are friendly. Strong feedback culture, people will tell you if you're doing something wrong which is great for personal development. They will also tell you if you're doing something right. Not hierarchical at all (which isn't ALWAYS a positive when you need someone to do something for you..). Liberal work from home allowance. People team cares about the employees. Nobody checks what time you're in/out of the office. People are keen on you not working too much, very healthy approach to work-life balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    Mid-level compensation. Analyst career progression is very unclear. Analyst compensation motivation is very unclear. TransferWise analytics are not particularly rigorous, do not expect to develop more intense data science/stats skills on the job.

    Advice to Management

    Analyst career progression needs to be properly laid out, which I know is an ongoing project atm.

    TransferWise2019-12-18
  3. "Great people, great product, great culture..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You work with some seriously smart people here. I constantly feel driven and challenged to think differently all the time. We are scaling quickly, so really this is an environment for people that can handle a fast paced, but inclusive environment. I also have two kids, one of the biggest things for me is that no-one batters an eye at the time i come in late or leave early... Or that i work from home one day a week. Loads of great perks; 6 week paid sabbatical + your holiday for that year, annual all company paid trip, stock options, breakfast, friday lunches, 5% pension, yoga, gym and more.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing... I love this company!

    TransferWise2019-07-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Work however you like & work on whatever you like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I think our culture is pretty unique in the sense that I can choose to work from home whenever I want and naturally we have problems but from what I’ve seen people air those problems out and we are pretty good at addressing them head on. I also like that I can push whatever projects I want & generally people don’t even question me on it - not that questions are a bad thing. Fairly generous travel policy to compensate for issues with having a highly distributed team. It’ll feel very cult like initially but trust me it gets better after a couple of years of being here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Base salaries are below market for engineers - but I’ve heard the People team are looking to address this. Career development is a black box - again I heard that the People team are looking to address this aswell.

    Advice to Management

    Please don’t listen to complaints from people about not being active as management. The hands-off approach is better for the long-term and forces compromises between teams.

    TransferWise2019-02-02
  5. "Fast paced fintech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great office environment - supportive colleagues - dogs in the office - awesome mission - flexible working hours - opportunity to work from home - lots of events and hobby groups - career opportunities and opportunities to show your talent

    Cons

    - danger of burning out - slowly getting more corporate (inevitable considering the size and it’s growth) - salary should be higher considering the responsibility what info is provided to customers (but it’s arguable as you get stock options. So it’s your own call what you value more)

    TransferWise2019-12-03
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, great benefits, good environment, love the work life balance,

    Cons

    Culture seems to be changing? I hope it stays how it is.

    Advice to Management

    Provide leads more training and support

    TransferWise2019-09-20
  7. "The most amazing job I've had in my lifetime!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Support in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture - I work with people from all around the world on a daily basis. Everyone is working on a common mission. There is a level of trust that I haven't ever had at another job. Autonomy - You're treated as a valued member of the team, but also given independent space. You're also responsible for your own success and growth, but you have resources to help with this as well. Opportunity - So many opportunities, from advancement in the company, to travel opportunities, to the opportunity to create your own projects, work from home, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons. TransferWise may not be for everyone though. Especially those who are used to a very structured or corporate environment. There are teams, tribes, and organization, but you're responsible for yourself as an individual. If you're not used to this, or used to being micro-managed, you might not enjoy the environment here.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose sight of our mission! And never forget, Customer>team>ego!

    TransferWise2019-09-20
  8. "Amazing mission and culture, with some growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - KYC in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    TransferWise has an amazing company culture, great work-like balance, and is driven by diverse people from all over the world that really believe in its mission and values. A company founded to challenge the old way of doing things and put power back in the customer's hands. The mission to make sending money abroad convenient, transparent, and eventually free is what makes this a truly amazing place to work. I'm challenged to be my best every day, surrounded by some really smart, creative and inspiring people. I've worked on some really cool projects and felt supported to grow in my career. I also have a great degree of autonomy in what I choose to work on and how I do it, and I get constructive feedback on how I can improve. People in the Tampa office are very customer-focused and hard working. Engineering is shorthanded in many teams, but improving slowly, and product teams work very hard to understand customer problems and make an impact. People here are incredibly diverse; I've met people from all over the world and so many different backgrounds. Benefits are unparalled - work from home, team lunches, paid sabbatical, generous vacation time, annual company-wide trip to Europe, and stock options.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some growing pains that are typical for a company that is growing so quickly and is not really a startup anymore. We could be scaling quite a bit more efficiently. We do support career growth and development, but we could be better at this. In certain offices it is better than others; Tampa has always struggled as being the lone office without engineering support and this will continue to be a challenge as we grow. Lots of change recently as we grow quicker than we seem to be able to handle. Some questionable decisions made by management. People are often undervalued for their hard work, in some cases wrongly let go. In Tampa in particular, it is easy to become boxed in to your current role or team. Salaries are below average and do not increase to keep up with inflation. This is a company-wide issue that has not really improved since I started here, though some efforts have been made to make them more fair. If you want to make a lot of money, go work for a bank. If you want to work in a healthy environment and have a great work-life balance and salary is not important to you, then you will fit in here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The management in this office needs to support its people and make them feel valued. We need to provide opportunities beyond entry-level operational positions. While I myself feel well-supported by my team lead, I cannot say it is the case for everyone. It's upper-level management's job to ensure that every person feels valued and well-supported, and has room to grow in their career. This is an amazing place to work, but we will struggle to retain good people if we don't provide them with career development opportunities.

    Show More
    TransferWise2019-09-20
  9. "How it is to work at TransferWise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fraud Agent in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The biggest pros are the independence and trust you get from day one as well as the possibility to work from home. On the second place comes the overall company culture, it's open and honest, and you can always ask.

    Cons

    It's not isolated to TransferWise per se but the Start-Up going large world. You need to be aware of that your manager will not tell you what to do. You need to be self driven and you need to ask, don't assume.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it going in the same direction, continue to educate the workforce so that it's easy for people to leave if they don't feel that TransferWise isn't for them.

    TransferWise2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company with loads of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Verification Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve worked for TransferWise for a year and so far my experience has been amazing. The people who come here from other corporate jobs know how lucky they are to have found TransferWise. It’s unlike any other company in the Tampa area. The office is beautiful and there are plenty of drinks, snacks, and coffee provided daily. We have weekly team lunches on Thursdays. You can bring your dog to work any time you like. It’s just a really cool place to come to everyday. We have the flexibility to work from home but many people enjoy coming into the office because it really does have a good vibe to it. We just enjoy being around each other. The benefits are amazing. Lots of PTO, company stock, 401k, sick time off, and on and on. They really do take care of you and the out of pocket costs are minimal as compared to the benefits I’ve had from other jobs. There is a lot of opportunity for growth if you want it. People who are driven and self-motivated will succeed. If you need a lot of hand-holding - or being told what to do - this is probably not the place for you. Leads will help point you in the right direction to help you achieve your goals, and if you work hard you can be promoted pretty quickly. There’s flexibility to create your own role. The company is growing fast so new positions are popping up all the time.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is a lot of competition for roles, and many roles are filled externally rather than hiring from within. There is a need for better training of associates who wish to develop their skills and talents. There seems to be a lot more travel opportunities for the foreign offices and not so much for Tampa unless you are a lead. Even then there isn’t much travel. More often it’s that’s people from the other offices are visiting us. Autonomous teams means that communication between product and operational teams is strained. It’s getting a lot better and everyone agrees we can work on this, but there is still a bit of a divide. Pay is not great. It’s hard to get top talent if you aren’t willing to pay for it.

    Show More
    TransferWise2019-07-17
Found 15 reviews