Transport for NSW Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Transport for NSW Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Transport for NSW CEO Andrew Constance
Andrew Constance
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good culture, good work/life balance(in 26 reviews)

  • "Good pay, good management good working conditions and great flexible working options and loads of oppurtunity(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is some bureaucracy and red tape that you will have to deal with(in 6 reviews)

  • "Lack of integrity in some of senior management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "very interesting position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Canberra
    Recommends

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good athmosphere here interesting people

    Cons

    difficult work seversl days off

    Transport for NSW2019-09-03
  2. "In cost saving mode"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Transport for NSW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Provides a great service to the travelling public

    Cons

    Lacks a clear strategy for technology in the enterprise

    Transport for NSW2019-08-19
  3. "Infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leave, conditions and pay are attractive

    Cons

    Slow paced and buerecratic, not commercial

    Advice to Management

    Too much lip service to promoting junior staff but zero ladder to climb

    Transport for NSW2019-07-31
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Analyst 

    I worked at Transport for NSW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great remuneration ; great culture; great work life balance.

    Cons

    fierce competition even for a junior position; rare promotion opportunities.

    Transport for NSW2019-07-08
  5. "Best agency to work for in NSW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I started at Transport for NSW in 2012 and although I've moved back and forth a few times, I'm still very connected to the people and the work they do. I've been promoted three times here onto different roles and still love it.

    Cons

    As with big organisations, there can be a "that's not my job," mentality or people who don't get out of the way and stop things due to "that's not the way we've been doing it for the last decade." My impatience for this attitude means I just go around them.

    Advice to Management

    For some, putting the customer at the centre of all decisions feels compatible with "this is just the way we do things," when actually it's the opposite. They haven't had the time to deconstruct and realise what they've been saying, does not align to their behaviour or processes. The sooner we confront this, in an appropriate and supportive way... the better.

    Transport for NSW2019-07-06
  6. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Document Control 

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance and team driven

    Cons

    There is no cons at all

    Transport for NSW2019-07-05
  7. "Great opportunities and starting salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate 

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love how much responsibility I am given as a grad. Treated like an equal by other team members and given great opportunities to upskill. Flexible working hours, flex time and salary are awesome

    Cons

    Some weeks are slower than others

    Transport for NSW2019-06-25
  8. "Regional Scholar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Scholar 

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, very friendly staff

    Cons

    not having long enough time in placements

    Transport for NSW2019-05-23
  9. "Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Balanced hours Plenty of Overtime

    Cons

    Back shifts Long commute Leave approvals takes time

    Advice to Management

    Doing well

    Transport for NSW2019-04-23
  10. "Rail Engineering Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Transport for NSW full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is a lot of Flexibility

    Cons

    The salary isn't good enough. I am assuming that in the public sector this is the norm but the private sector is heating up

    Advice to Management

    None

    Transport for NSW2019-04-24
Found 81 reviews