Travelers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Travelers Reviews

Updated 21 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2375 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Travelers CEO Alan D. Schnitzer
Alan D. Schnitzer
643 Ratings
Pros
  • "You'd expect to get great benefits from a company with 30k employees and you'd right(in 181 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance so far has been great(in 168 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of the best hiring experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelers full-time

    Pros

    Relatively fast and very transparent hiring process, incredibly responsive company, kept me updated at all times, felt cared for and very welcomed.

    Cons

    Nothing to mention so far.

    Travelers2019-03-21
  2. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Travelers full-time

      Pros

      Respect for work/family life which is more than most companies

      Cons

      Some long days and not really challenging enough

      Travelers2019-05-24
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Travelers full-time

      Pros

      Senior management do try really hard

      Cons

      A lot of legacy issues

      Travelers2019-04-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "UK employee...it's getting better and better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Management in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Travelers full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The year just gone (2018) proved things are getting better. The leadership team seems to be genuinely listening and acting on the feedback they seek. The European business is beginning to settle into its own identity and feel comfortable and proud of itself. Most people you'll work with are friendly, talented and positive.

      Cons

      There needs to be much more diversity, in every team and at every level.

      Advice to Management

      Keep listening to us. We can help you build the company you say you want to create. Up your game pretty quickly on the diversity of your team and talent pool.

      Travelers2018-12-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Travelers full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      If you’re in with the clique then you may be spared. Everyone else is underpaid and not looked after. You don’t realise until you land with a proper company that values its employees.

      Cons

      UK Ceo and his mates are lacking real flair or dynamism. Cheap acting leadership has ruined the London office. Back office Redhill mentality dictating the way for a London operation - an unfortunate place to find oneself working. Not a transparent leadership. Say one thing but do the opposite

      Advice to Management

      Get younger and truly diverse people in to make genuine positive change. Old, white males still manage everything. The few women of influence that were there have been removed. Many influencers are from New Zealand and Australia where perspectives are different - don’t let this be a hindrance to a truly diverse operation.

      Travelers2018-12-05

      Travelers Response

      December 10, 2018Head of Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide a positive work environment for our employees and truly value your input. We’ll take the details you have shared and use them as an opportunity for improvements.

    • "Travelers London"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

      I worked at Travelers full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The people in the office were easy to get along with and down to earth. I got along well with all of my colleagues. The environment is diverse and encouraging.

      Cons

      There was a significant red tape to make any changes. Most of the software and procedures were outdated and cumbersome to use. They would benefit from more automated methods and procedures. I felt they were not as forward thinking as other companies in the insurance market.

      Travelers2018-10-27
    • "Travelers London - early impressions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Travelers full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        As a recent new joiner in London, I've found everyone open & friendly. The senior leadership are embracing many changes to drive the business forward. Fantastic new working environment at Creechurch Place.

        Cons

        More to be done regarding flexibility in terms of remote working.

        Travelers2018-09-13
      • "Underwriting Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Travelers

        Pros

        Exposure to lloyds of london.

        Cons

        100% administration role with no room for improvement

        Travelers2018-09-13
      • "Travelers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Travelers

        Pros

        New office Some friendly people Pay in line with other syndicates (no bonus until Associate)

        Cons

        Slow moving company New office is already breaking Lloyd's syndicate is very hierarchical

        Travelers2018-07-31
      • "They’re trying to change for the better"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Travelers full-time

        Pros

        Genuine people, senior management are on the whole decent, intelligent and approachable. They are trying to improve.

        Cons

        Inconsistent salaries, mixed abilities and effort, no real culture, HR not very approachable. So much change has created very low morale.

        Travelers2018-06-10
      Found 2375 reviews