Travelodge Hotels (UK) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Travelodge Hotels (UK) Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 401 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Travelodge Hotels (UK) CEO Peter Gowers
Peter Gowers
259 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have joined Travelodge as a housekeeping team member and then I have worked all the way up to supervisor position(in 30 reviews)

  • "flexible hours with easy going management, having the ability to enrol on the in house management program(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "This job is minimum wage (however everyone is paid the same wage)(in 42 reviews)

  • "So much change happening with more and more expected from the hotel manager whilst doing shifts on reception(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best company to work for as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - ability to transfer to different Travelodge Hotels - flexible hours - room discounts - possibility to advance in career - great for students who wish to find a part time while studying

    Cons

    - the job is payed at minimum wage

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2019-05-13
  2. "Unexpected career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The career progression in the company is brilliant starting as a night receptionist and became an assistant manager within 3 years Great benifits rooms, great teams to work with and good upper management. You get out what you put in

    Cons

    Staffing levels. Team members pay, investment in the estate

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the hotels in need, have a banding system so we can reward team members who do more

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2019-09-15
  3. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ecrm Executive in Thame, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working alongside and learning from such a talented, welcoming team. The skills and technical knowledge that I have learned from those around me is invaluable and something that I am truly grateful for. The investment Travelodge makes into every individual is amazing. Multiple workshops are held each month along with opportunities for personal development and growth. Amazing company culture and fantastic people... to work for and with.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing to add. Not applicable.

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2019-09-09
  4. "Benefit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Housekeeping Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and enjoyable

    Cons

    Nothing I have to complain about

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2019-09-03
  5. "Amazing for students!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is paid equally and you are made to feel like a respected member of the team. Flexible shift patterns, manager will help to plan around your academic/personal life. Double pay on bank holidays. Half price stays at Travelodge Hotels! Very good work experience, hospitality roles can look great on any CV. Opportunity to advance, just don't expect much of a pay rise.

    Cons

    Your experience is really dependant on the quality of the manager with little to no check-ups from upper management. Again this depends on the manager but feedback can often be ignored. This may be unique to our hotel but the cleaning team can be very hard to communicate with, perhaps due to the generation gap as they tend to be much older than the reception team. A manager may see your hotel simply as a... stepping stone to promotion, I have personally worked for about five different managers in the space of a year. Some were great, some needed to go back to training.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do more to gather feedback from receptionists and not just management. Managers will exaggerate and bend the truth to make their hotel look good at the expense of their staff.

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2019-08-29

    Travelodge Hotels (UK) Response

    August 30, 2019Resourcing and Talent Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear your comments about working as a student at Travelodge. We also understand how important your manager is to how you feel at work. Should you have any concerns or need support, we'd encourage you to speak to your ...

    Show More
  6. "professional and structured interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interview was structured, friendly and professional

    Cons

    Follow up on available opportunities

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2019-08-22
  7. "Found My New Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hotel Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Upper Management Care About People. I cannot fault Travelodge from the recruitment process to induction, I am amazed how good they really are. Up to 50% off accommodation, 10%. for family. Employees Discount Website. More important They Care About The Team not just the profit. I work with amazing people. Good work life balance

    Cons

    None. I can see so far

    Advice to Management

    Never forget people are the biggest asset to any company. Keep up the good work

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2019-08-19

    Travelodge Hotels (UK) Response

    August 22, 2019Resourcing and Talent Team

    Welcome to the team and thank you for sharing your experience. It's so lovely to read your comments. We wish you every success at Travelodge.

  8. "great start to develop work skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Porter in Holborn, England

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    definitely helps improve work skills

    Cons

    do not wish to say

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2019-08-19
  9. "Challenging Staffing resource"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hotel Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Travelodge Hotels (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary level and benefits

    Cons

    High staff turnover, puts huge pressure on managers

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2019-08-19
  10. "Room cleaners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    friendly work atmosphere, super managers

    Cons

    No air conditioning on the floor

    Advice to Management

    No advice

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2019-07-27
Found 401 reviews