Travelodge Hotels (UK) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Travelodge Hotels (UK) Reviews

Updated 29 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Travelodge Hotels (UK) CEO Peter Gowers
Peter Gowers
286 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible hours with easy going management, having the ability to enrol on the in house management program(in 41 reviews)

  • "MANAGEMENT DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM FOR TEAM MEMBERS INTERESTED IN MANAGEMENT(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "the job is payed at minimum wage(in 48 reviews)

  • "No other reception slots offered as team was full(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work for parents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, friendly working environment

    Cons

    Cant say any bad things

    Continue reading
    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2020-01-23

    Travelodge Hotels (UK) Response

    January 27, 2020Resourcing and Talent Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's lovely to read your comments. Travelodge is proud to have a diverse workforce and we'll always support our team members to balance family commitments outside of work.

    Continue reading
  2. "Housekeeping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Travelodge Hotels (UK) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and enjoyable environment to work in.

    Cons

    Workload can be challenging at times

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2020-03-29
  3. "Great for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, same every week can plan my uni life, work at a different hotel during term time and then one in home town

    Cons

    Working alone can become boring

    Continue reading
    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2020-03-19
  4. "Good but not without its faults."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Receptionist in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelodge Hotels (UK) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Good management. Good training.

    Cons

    Minimum wage. Overbooking policy was a nightmare. Sometimes too much work was given to one person during their shift. I, as a lone female worker, did NOT feel safe working weekend nights when a lot of guests would come back to the hotel drunk and annoyed about keys not working etc. The only consolation the company gave was "Wear the SkyGuard" but that did nothing at all to ease my anxiety about being alone during these times and was the reason why I eventually left. I could no longer spend 16 hours a week being continually anxious about my safety. No other reception slots offered as team was full.

    Continue reading
    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2020-03-29
  5. "Great experience so far, company cares for employees,online training is simple and concise."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hotel Manager in Edmonton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diverse opportunities for colleagues to develop

    Cons

    Induction of new managers needs to be structured better

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2020-03-08

    Travelodge Hotels (UK) Response

    March 12, 2020Resourcing and Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. It's great to read your comments and that your experience has been great so far. We've passed your comments onto the Learning and Development team and would really like to hear your thoughts on how the induction can be even better, so please share any feedback with the People Team on 03300412277.

    Continue reading
  6. "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the staff I work with, the hours are constant and I appreciate that everyone gets paid the same rate!

    Cons

    The shirts can get really hot as they're quite tight around the chest

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2020-03-04

    Travelodge Hotels (UK) Response

    March 5, 2020Resourcing and Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoy working with your colleagues, we know it makes such a difference when your love the people you work with. Thank you for your feedback on the uniform, we'll ensure that this is passed on to the right department. In the meantime, I'd encourage you to speak with your Hotel Manager as they may be able to order you an alternative uniform top with better fit.

    Continue reading
  7. "Lovely people, great boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Ludlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelodge Hotels (UK) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people I work with are great, my boss is everything you would want a boss to be; hardworking, fair and friendly.

    Cons

    Some of the procedures are a bit pointless. Could do with better equipment.

    Continue reading
    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2020-03-03
  8. "Great company that values customer and employee experience. Fantastic working environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress/Bartender in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelodge Hotels (UK) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Good training provided with modern computational techniques 2. Systematic and well-organized 3. Good management decisions that focus on customer's experience 4. Promotion and further education opportunity for staffs.

    Cons

    Mainly good. Some teams may be overworked due to not enough staffs (cleaning and kitchen). Should have a mechanism to cope when there is not enough of staffs.

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2020-03-01

    Travelodge Hotels (UK) Response

    March 5, 2020Resourcing and Talent Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience. It's great to read your comments about training, your managers and development. We understand the impact absence can have on a team and so always work hard to ensure vacancies are filled as quickly as possible with the right people, and holiday is covered. Of course there is always more to do and unexpected absences like sickness. We'll continue to work hard to ensure there is minimal impact to the team.

    Continue reading
  9. "Decent pay, 8.21 from the get go."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelodge Hotels (UK) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was Decent , flexible hours,

    Cons

    Not much training, tiring work, to much to do in time

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2020-03-13
  10. "Good for begining of your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Fleet, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Travelodge Hotels (UK) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you can progress easily

    Cons

    the Hotel needs a bit of restoration

    Travelodge Hotels (UK)2020-02-25
Found 458 reviews