Turtle Bay Reviews

Updated 15 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 202 of over 204 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Turtle Bay Founder Ajith Jayawickrema
Ajith Jayawickrema
87 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, great environment, great vibes, great people(in 12 reviews)

  • "Turtle Bay is a fun place to work, a great vibe, working with people who want to enjoy life and enjoy giving guests a great Caribbean experience(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes long hours and no breaks(in 15 reviews)

  • "you have to pay 3% of your sales to company(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work!

      15 Jun 2021 - Floor Staff 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, flexible, friendly team

      Cons

      No cons I can think of!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Don't work here if you want any sort of private life or time off

      24 May 2021 - Sous Chef in Derby, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are none. It's just another run of the mill chain without the benefits that other chains have

      Cons

      Constantly busy and understaffed. Everyone's constantly overworked . There are times when there is only one chef in the kitchen serving, cleaning, closing and doing pots by themselves. And afterwards management will complain it's taking too long. Constantly get calls and messages on your days off asking to come in. Rotas often get changed last minute with no notice. There is no time to do online training on your shift so you are expected to do it on your time off. Staff training is poor or none existent. New starters just get thrown in there and told to get on with it because there is just no time to train them. As a manager you will be expected on your days off. Staff retention is extremely low. Barely anyone makes it past 6 months and no wonder. As for the front of house, during the bottomless brunch hell you'll be dealing with drunken Karens shouting at you because they didn't get their cocktails fast enough and then clean up their sick from the table after they've been necking cocktails non stop for two hours. All in all, I'd say definitely avoid working for Turtle Bay. It's a chain that exploits their staff beyond their limits for more profits.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Turtle Bay Response

      Thank you for your feedback. We understand it is extremely busy for our teams at the moment, and it is a key focus for us to ensure our people are looked after. Some of the issues you have highlighted are concerning and we would like to speak to you about your experience. Please email people@turtlebay.co.uk so we can look into this.

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Probably worst part time job I've ever had

      8 Jun 2021 - Student in Derby, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Restaurant food for £2 on your breaks. Reggae music playing all the time (if you like reggae).

      Cons

      Long hours - often there's little time between shifts so you may work as late as 3 am and come in 12pm the next day. My food would often arrive 1 hour late when I would have an hour break... You have to complete training outside of working hours (unpaid) Very corporate business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Turtle Bay Response

      Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We are disappointed to hear about your experience with us and would really like you to get in touch with us on people@turtlebay.co.uk so we can discuss this with you.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Part-time Job

      11 Jun 2021 - Bartender in Exeter, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent Pay, fun, nice colleagues, and good music and food.

      Cons

      Some of the management is not great and can be very tiring shifts.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Welcoming and friendly

      12 Jun 2021 - Purchase Ledger in Bristol, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working hours and team, salary and work benefits

      Cons

      Site has no car parking but easily accessible

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not Fun

      29 Mar 2021 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can pay your rent

      Cons

      Senior Management. There is such a drinking culture going on. They stay after they finish their shifts getting wasted in front of customers, often shouting and acting like crazy. If you want to be liked and part of the inner circle you have to stay after work and drink with them until the morning. They don't respect your days off or that when you finish your shift you need to unplug. You always have to be able to respond to their messages, often about totally irrelevant matters. Shifts can often be as long as 16 hours without a proper break and you are supposed to feel proud about doing these shifts, this is the way to show how much of a professional you are. Customers can be as rude or racist with you as they want, even if you tell management nothing will happen. The staff has been threatened by customers during their shift and these incidents are recorded on CCTV, yet no legal support were offered by the company or security increased at the venue.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Turtle Bay Response

      People Team

      There are some serious matters you have raised which we need to address. IF you wish to remain anonymous you can use our anonymous incident reporting tool, 'Talk to Spot'. This allows us to communicate with you whilst protecting your identity. Alternatively, you can contact someone in the People team directly and arrange a confidential meeting. We really hope to hear from you soon.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great environment

      13 May 2021 - Deputy Manager in Bristol, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment to work in, nice to be busy and busy and enjoy the vibe

      Cons

      Work life balance. 48 hour contract minimum with the expectation to work beyond that

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Turtle Bay Response

      Thanks for leaving us this feedback - we love the vibe our people create. We are working hard on improving work/life balance and have a few exciting things to come this year. If you have any suggestions or feedback on improving work/life balance please email people@turtlebay.co.uk.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽

      24 May 2021 - Bartender in Walthamstow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff, good environments, fast paced and fun

      Cons

      Allot of hardwork but that’s fine

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Turtle Bay Response

      We are all about the fun and good times at Turtle Bay - keep being amazing! :)

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not bad but the same issues as most hospitality jobs

      1 Jun 2021 - Bartender in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff, fun environment, fast paced, good training opportunities.

      Cons

      Minimum wage, long hours, physically draining, thankless.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Turtle Bay Response

      We are all about the good times and love when people can have fun at work :) - we understand the pressures that come along with the job, due to the fast-paced nature of the business. We are constantly trying to improve the work/life balance for our teams and encourage you to email people@turtlebay.co.uk if you have any further feedback about this.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Positive Vibes

      3 Feb 2021 - General Manager in Ealing, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A brilliant company to work for with some amazing people both running the business and at site level. A genuine care for their team is shown with care packages and team rewards sent to site on a regular basis. Unlike other chains the combination of restaurant and bar sales means you have to excel in both areas of the job, this keeps your work interesting and means every day gives a new challenges. Regular updates to the menu mean that the day to day workings of the business never get boring. Career development can take you all over the country or keep you in one place however the training programs in place are detailed and leave you knowing you have support if it is needed. Overall the fast paced environment and the 'put our people first' approach to the more senior levels of the business gives Turtle Bay a unique and special feel that you will not receive anywhere else.

      Cons

      None really. A great place to work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Turtle Bay Response

      People Team

      Oh you no it's all about the vibes! And who brings the vibes? our people! We focus lots on team development i'll get this fed back to ensure we're doing enough to develop alllll the way.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 202 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Turtle Bay Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Turtle Bay? Share Your Experiences

    Turtle Bay logo
    or