Twilio Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Twilio Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Twilio CEO Jeff Lawson
Jeff Lawson
137 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is amazing, and each manager I've had has been extremely reasonable with expectations(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great culture that doesn't feel contrived or forced(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "The nine values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is determined to hold to it's nine value as it grows, and this makes it a fantastic, honest and open place to work. I've never been part of such a large team that is so passionate, committed and truly believe in what they are doing. The work life balance is fantastic, with unlimited PTO and a "family-first" attitude, burn out is tackled by being offered time to rest and relax. The perks are amazing,... travel and expenses are all covered. The opportunity for personal development (at least for me) has been great.

    Show More

    Cons

    I fear that the company will lose the ability to scale it's communal, family feel as it grows, but the C-level team is working extremely hard to tackle this problem before it becomes one.

    Twilio2014-09-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting times to be a part of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been with Twilio for 3 years now which is the longest I've ever worked for one company. This is because of the growth, development and change that I've been a part of. I joined when we were in the final stages of being a start up and now get to be a part of the next phase. Having worked in more traditional companies previously it's been a great opportunity to work in teams where think outside the box is... encouraged and where the perks and benefits are a deeply held part of the office culture. I've also been given the opportunity to work with teams outside of my core function which has led to building of relationships with a wide variety of stakeholders around the company and led to me being able to make an internal move to a new department.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with all companies that go through rapid growth the processes haven't quite caught up with where we are but this is improving every day. It's been a long process to get the US to think globally and sometimes can still feel San Francisco centric but this has also improved no end.

    Advice to Management

    With the rapid growth phase we're going through definitely continue in the support of a healthy work/life balance (massively improved over the last year). This is especially the case for those of us outside of the US who have done a full day's work when SF comes online and there can sometimes be pressure for responses outside of core working hours.

    Twilio2019-07-30
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Can't build Culture with RSUs and stock options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI-UX Designer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The money is sweet... it is more than the average anyway Benefits are good...(including stock) Most times you can slack for hours during the day and no one cares...

    Cons

    There is deffo something wrong here in regards to culture and inclusivity... When I visited HQ in SF for the on-boarding sessions, I was impressed that no one invited me to hang out. It's like you are invisible. Although the office(s) there is huge it is totally sterilised with no vibe or emotion. Probably everyone is busy checking the share price. Other offices are too small to have any character of its... own. If you don't care about culture and values.... you'll be fine.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to build some culture. If you can't handle other offices and locations just keep everything in SF.

    Twilio2019-05-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company in general...different story outside HQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Great product and technical leadership - Founder and CEO still leading the company

    Cons

    - HQ is very US-centric; US/APAC meetings, town halls, functional all-hands are always held during US-hours. - Poor regional leadership with a huge lack of transparency. - A lot is publicized about 'culture'. There's no culture or team spirit in APAC... People come to the office, do their work, go home. Huge difference in US and APAC workplace experience. - Communication and collaboration across different... teams/functions are fragmented and largely reactive.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If APAC is important to the company's growth, a significant amount of work and attention is needed to address some of the problems above.

    Twilio2019-12-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Generally a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture has been amazing and seems to be getting better!

    Cons

    People are working so fast and so hard, they sometimes forget to slow down and document for the future.

    Twilio2019-11-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be such a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great business. Incredible demand and minimal direct competition.

    Cons

    They work people to death and don't invest in systems or adequate human resources. They just don't care about people anymore. Profits over people is an understatement. Twilio rarely promotes from within, especially women and underrepresented minorities. Pretty much the only way to become a VP is to be hired in as one.

    Advice to Management

    Think about how valuable your human resources are and how costly it will be to replace them. Go back to being kind and caring human beings.

    Twilio2019-11-27
  7. "Fabulous place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Travel (All expensed) Personal Laptop (MAC pro) Benefits - healthcare,pension,phone,gym Free lunches Free snacks/drinks (Alcohol too) Great people

    Cons

    Literally can't think of one

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing :)

    Twilio2019-11-13
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Used to be Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CEO Knows what he's doing, business-wise Support for Remote work (WFH for locals, fully remote for select positions)

    Cons

    Lots of growth and associated pain Current management has a very top-down mentality, dictating stuff that should be left to teams, treating team members as fungible commodities they can just move around on a chess board Trying to save money by focusing on very junior hires and hiring in places like Estonia and India (moratorium on US hiring). Focus on junior devs means senior devs have to spend all their time... mentoring and aren't able to be Individual Contributors, which is unsatisfying for many and leads to pretty crappy code

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire senior people who know how to get stuff done, and then let them decide how to do it

    Twilio2019-11-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "So-So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Director in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Twilio full-time

    Pros

    Cool Culture and genuinely nice colleagues

    Cons

    Chaotic environment with little objectivity

    Advice to Management

    Invest in infrastructure and training

    Twilio2019-11-11
  10. "Strong Ownership Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is growing like gangbusters and so there is always more fun projects to tackle. If you see a problem and want to attack it, you have a ton of open road ahead fo you.

    Cons

    A lot of legacy processes made sense when the company was smaller but have not scaled well. The product and process learning curve is still too steep for new employees. Everyone is super supportive but you really gotta go and get your answers.

    Advice to Management

    Just because something is 'working' today does not mean that it's ideal or that it scales.

    Twilio2019-10-24
Found 177 reviews