Twitter Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Twitter Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Twitter CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
339 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is good but could be better(in 23 reviews)

  • "growing pains that come along with any company that is growing at rapid speed(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very talented and great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twitter full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved the atmosphere, the working method and the results of our work. My team was a very professional and talented one. You also get the chance to work on different projects helping other teams on specific things that might require someone like you. You get amazing benefits as well!

    Cons

    Well I got called redundant which made the experience bittersweet but the time spent there was great.

    Advice to Management

    Sadly my manager at the time also got redundant and from my point of view she was an excellent professional and a very reliable manager. I just hope they keep people that is valuable.

    Twitter2019-09-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible and supportive company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitter full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working Great working culture Great team members Great perks (free food + snacks + travel/phone/gym reimbursement)

    Cons

    No set processes but great to make a impact

    Advice to Management

    More diversity in the London office

    Twitter2018-11-02
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Twitter full-time

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Great people. Great atmosphere, very supportive management.

    Cons

    Limited career progression depending on role.

    Twitter2018-05-28
  4. "Moderator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Twitter full-time

    Pros

    Can control what people see

    Cons

    Groupthink is prevalent, causes chilling

    Advice to Management

    More independent thinking

    Twitter2017-07-14
  5. Helpful (3)

    "A good brand (albeit turbulent) to use as a stepping stone to somewhere better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Twitter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, gym subsidies, economy travel, etc. Easy place to come up with new ideas by locking yourself away and doing your own work.

    Cons

    A scattered and often changing vision. Filled with Oxbridge types and middle class snobs that make it difficult to be a foreigner without a lot of condescension.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on product, less on intra-office romance.

    Twitter2017-06-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, missing direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Twitter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great offices and location. Free food and beverages and top equipment. Flexible working and good amount of time off encouraged.

    Cons

    Poor management and leadership within local offices. Remote offices didn't work well and there was a lot of confusion about priorities and timelines. Poor hiring choices didn't help the demotivated workforce. Projects in London not challenging and no new larger projects were brought in to engineer and run.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to the longer standing employees.

    Twitter2017-03-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Friendly, inclusive and interesting work if a bit limited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Twitter for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people make it. There aren't too many teams, but the ones that are there are impactful running major company priorities. It has a small company vibe, and is generally a pleasure to go into the office each day. The product is great and all sections of the UK office from Sales, Media Partnerships, Engineering, are passionate about the company.

    Cons

    Working with San Francisco is a drag and can mean late nights at the office. The place can feel a bit disorganised too. The company grew quickly with the expectation that lots of stuff that was poorly designed/architected/written would be fixed as the company grew, but now isn't being focused on because there isn't the staff. This can seem surprising, but really is a bit of an opportunity - there is low hanging... fruit all over the place and a chance to be impactful. There is something said of the company that one chooses "either the legacy system, or the system that hasn't been productionized used yet".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the UK office and put more design, engineering and product teams there.

    Twitter2017-02-25
  8. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Twitter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great company, excellent atmosphere and a very welcoming and friendly culture. All this makes it a great place to work.

    Cons

    No pension plan offered which is a real shame. It doesn't help that the stock price has seen better days either.

    Advice to Management

    Really need a company pension plan. This would complete a wide ranging and attractive benefits plan which should help recruit the best talent.

    Twitter2016-09-30
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Moments Curator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Moments Curator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twitter

    Pros

    Amazing experience at a tech company so many good perks for working Free lunches and free snacks!

    Cons

    long working hours gets tiring looking at a screen all day

    Advice to Management

    good management

    Twitter2016-08-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company and amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Twitter full-time

    Pros

    - It gives you the chance to work with some of the most talented people in software engineering. - Great team spirit - Compensation and benefits

    Cons

    - Constant negative speculation in the press

    Twitter2016-08-07
Found 792 reviews