Two Sigma "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Two Sigma Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 28 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Two Sigma Co-Chairmen David Siegel and John Overdeck (no image)
David Siegel and John Overdeck
78 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains injecting previously unseen layers of bureaucracy into the company(in 11 reviews)

  • "Growing pains of small company rapidly growing(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "politics heavy place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Two Sigma full-time

    Pros

    Comp and work/life balance are good.

    Cons

    depends on the team you are in, it can have a lot of office politics. The research side of the house is so secretive, a good way to survive is to keep your mouth shut.

    Two Sigma2020-02-28
  2. "A very positive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is excellent; you're surrounded by smart people who are willing to teach you; excellent benefits; commitment to learning with speaker series, reimbursement for conferences, tuition, etc.

    Cons

    Transitioning from a small company to a medium-sized company has resulted in some growing pains

    Two Sigma2020-01-06
  3. Helpful (11)

    "pays well, bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - pays quite well - good work-life balance - depending on team, might work on something very interesting

    Cons

    - extremely secretive culture which makes for both awkward interactions with colleagues (people on your own team won't say hi to you in the hallway) and actually makes your job harder (lots of things don't just lack documentation - they CAN'T be documented, people get thrown out of meetings half way through to preserve secrecy, no one casually talks about what they're working on) - can't interact with open source community or speak at conferences about your work very easily

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2019-10-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great firm with interesting work and flat organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very flat structure. Everyone is approachable. - Interesting work. - Senior management comes from a place of trust, meaning they trust business and project owners to do what's best. And that culture permeates the organization. I feel like my manager has trust and confidence in me. - Certainly a tech firm in the finance / investment management world. This means casual dress code, great benefits, work-life balance, and workplace perks. - From what I've seen, internal mobility happens often and is encouraged. - Employees are empowered and encouraged to take on additional work / solve problems that aren't currently being worked on.

    Cons

    - Different business units can be compartmentalized so can be difficult to meet others throughout the organization.

    Two Sigma2019-10-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great place for a quant researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Researcher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great work-life balance and flexible hours. 2. Smart people with high level of intellectual curiosity as their main motivation. 3. Great tech-company-like culture that values creative ideas from everyone. 4. Challenging and interesting work.

    Cons

    No major complaints yet.

    Two Sigma2019-08-08
  6. Helpful (6)

    "An amazing company... once upon a time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is still ok, though getting worse.

    Cons

    Rife with politics, culture now completely taken over by ex Goldman Sachs employees. Once this place had the best benefits, but one by one they've been removed as "cost-cutting measures." Reorgs happen all the time, and a lot of the best talent is slowly leaving.

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2019-03-20
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Excellent company harmed by toxic politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Two Sigma for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid pay for the industry. Some other competitors pay more but usually at the cost of WLB, and TS pays well into the 'diminishing returns' range anyways. Extremely flexible hours, along with limited working from home or remote. Great work life balance. Will reimburse conferences, tuition, textbooks, and has great internal trainings and seminars. Goes hand-in-hand with flexible hours. On-site snacks including fresh fruit and vegetables. The name is super great for the resume, and on many teams the challenges and learning are hard to find other places.

    Cons

    Politics and bureaucracy are the name of the game. Sucking up, checking off checkboxes for the sake of it, and potemkin villages are where most effort goes. "Not-my-problem" politics lead to internal issues festering way longer than they should because managers flee from responsibility and employee initiative isn't taken seriously. Micromanagement abound, little independence of employees and a lot of talent is squandered because of this.

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2018-11-14
  8. Helpful (21)

    "To me, super interesting work matching my skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Researcher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    (1) As a quant researcher, super exciting work. See the impact of your own models to bring revenue to the company, see you can predict the future by using advanced quant techniques; (2) Great work-life balance, the company understand that great idea takes time to become effective and it understands that letting researchers have their own schedules and pace is good in the long run; (3) Excellent pay with no doubt.

    Cons

    In my view, the company hires way many engineers than needed sometimes. I need to maintain the bar to be high and hire just enough and really excellent engineers, and of course treat them well. Too many so-so hires hurts the company reputation and the business.

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2018-06-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Couldn't be happier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Two Sigma

    Pros

    - Work Life Balance - People - Pay

    Cons

    Nothing comes to ming :)

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2018-01-17
  10. Helpful (9)

    "The best place I've worked and the most challenging."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma

    Pros

    -Incredibly smart, talented, and humble coworkers -Culture of learning; opportunity to learn new things is endless -Big data, AI, cutting edge, tech focused -Work life balance is encouraged -Interesting, challenging, and fulfilling work -Great perks, competitive pay, laid back dress code

    Cons

    -Growing a bit too quickly -Location is in Soho which may not be favorable to those who prefer Midtown.

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2017-12-09
Found 21 reviews