Tyco Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Tyco Reviews

Updated 9 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Tyco CEO George R. Oliver
George R. Oliver
219 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good benefits, lots of good training for career advancement(in 52 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits and with company cars and cell phones, 401k's etc(in 44 reviews)

Cons
  • "Micro managing by supervisors and upper management, did not listen to employee concerns, watched GPS on vehicles and mobile devices too closely(in 43 reviews)

  • "Dirty tactics by senior management(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tyco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great career development opportunities and a genuinely nice place to work.

    Cons

    Lots of change !! A culture of uncertainty and disengagement.

    Advice to Management

    Restructuring as much as you are is making employees feel vulnerable and dis- engaged. You are loosing vital knowledge and experience.

    Tyco2015-09-09
  2. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tyco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Selling a global leading brand

    Cons

    Sales vs Ops culture is damaging

    Advice to Management

    talent retention does not seem to be high on the agenda

    Tyco2019-08-08
  3. "ADT Residential Security Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residential Security Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tyco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Commission can be great if you go over target and are a managers favourite and get lots of appointments.

    Cons

    Awful working hours. Expected to be out on the road for 10 am and you don’t get home till 9.30pm. Basic salary is less than minimum wage when you take into account the hours worked. Managers have favourites and the appointment spread isn’t fair. You only get commission if you do 90%+ of your target meaning if you have an off month you work for less than minimum wage generally doing 60+ hours a week. Basic salary is... £16400. You would earn more flipping burgers in McDonalds. Mobile phones are from the 90s! There’s no work life balance at all. They expect you to leave your diary open and work 7 days a week. Appointments are given to those who will work weekends , if you’re not willing to be put all hours then your appointment quota will be cut. High staff turnover due to hours and commission hurdle.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your staff better and try think about how you balance work life balance a bit better. You don’t expect the other channels to work like dogs. Also scrap the commission hurdle , it’s disgusting we got absolutely nothing if we do less than 90% of target. We have still worked hard and done more than 60 hours a week. It’s disgusting we get only basic pay if we miss by 1 sale. We still have bills to pay and... trying to survive on low wages isn’t easy. Have managers that can actually do what they’re asking us to do.

    Show More
    Tyco2019-06-12
  4. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tyco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting industry. Benefits are decent, 25 days holiday with the flexibility to purchase another 5.

    Cons

    No clear direction and constant changes of managers make it difficult to get any kind of pace going. No clear policy on flexible working, meaning flexible working is very much the decision of your manager. And as managers change frequently it is not a given!

    Advice to Management

    Constant changes of management make it difficult to progress plans. With frequent waves of redundancies or constant talks of restructuring the morale is often very low, leading to poor productivity.

    Tyco2019-05-04
  5. "BDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tyco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large company benefits - good basic salary - good product set

    Cons

    You’re just a number mentality. Huge organisation with people hiding from responsibilities (especially management). The whole company is governed by monthly revenue and do not care for employees wellbeing whatsoever.

    Advice to Management

    A BDM should be targeted on activity and not revenue in year 1. Revenue will come if activity is to the correct type contacts and that you can demonstrate 5days a week proactive activity. Unfortunately senior management doesn’t understand and I watched several good BDM’s being swept under the carpet and finished due to management taking the easy option rather than backing their team.

    Tyco2019-03-24
  6. "Easy going but no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunbury, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tyco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easygoing environment. Flexibility with hours - I used to start an hour earlier and be able to leave an hour earlier. Some great personable managers.

    Cons

    No progression. No recognition. No team spirit. Building was in shocking condition with damp and a putrid smell that had a detrimental affect on my breathing. The good managers were always too busy sorting out the mess projected on us from the higher-ups, to affect any meaningful, positive changes to working conditions. Woefully understaffed in some areas of the business where the generous nature of others was... exploited to make up for the lack of cover.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sort out that dank, smelly building!!

    Tyco2019-01-19
  7. "HR Business Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tyco full-time

    Pros

    The company was resource rich and there was always someone around willing to help out.

    Cons

    As with all US companies it seemed to take a long time to get things signed off and all initiatives were very US centric rather than looking at the individual needs and customs of all regions. One size does not always fit all!!!

    Tyco2018-09-19
  8. "NIce company to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tyco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    its a huge global organization

    Cons

    Managers are unprofessional. Very slow to get the stuffs done.

    Tyco2018-07-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Heathrow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tyco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolutely none. Don’t waste your time.

    Cons

    The most toxic working environment I have ever experienced. Management mentality is a throw back to the 70’s, outdated and not fit for purpose. If I could give Tyco a zero star rating I would.

    Advice to Management

    Wipe the board and start again

    Tyco2018-07-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tyco full-time

    Pros

    Reasonable, Brand Leader, Budget Stringent but Realistic, Enjoyable culture, Recognition for Performance, Reasonable spans of controls for teams, tools to perform your role

    Cons

    Very Segregated Field Operation for UK.. Should focus on more collaboration nationally to share best practice

    Advice to Management

    Move away from the "American" way of the parent organisation, and modernise to rest of the field operations industry in UK

    Tyco2017-09-05
Found 1002 reviews
</>Embed