UK Border Agency Reviews

Updated May 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 19 reviews

3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
UK Border Agency Acting Director  Simon Hayes
Simon Hayes
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Assistant Immigration Officer

    Jan 27, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had a great experience working for the Agency with best ever 11 years of teamwork which enhanced me to gain a good knowledge of various Immigration duties.

    Cons

    No downside from my point of view

    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    It’s ok

    Aug 11, 2020 - Border Force Immigration Officer in Folkestone, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Money is ok and Team spirit is good

    Cons

    Red tape and old fashioned

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Chaotic

    Sep 22, 2020 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can't think of any 'pros'

    Cons

    Lots of people doing little work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    more staff needed

    Feb 1, 2019 - Officer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ok but losing knowledgeable staff

    Cons

    none that I can of today

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Border Force Officer Manchester Airport

    Jun 9, 2019 - Border Force Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Busy Challenging Develop interpersonal skills Job is what you make it

    Cons

    Shift pattern Lack of opportunity for development

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    UK Border Force/Agency Heathrow. The people make it the best, and the worst place to work at the same time.

    May 8, 2015 - Executive Officer in Heathrow, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is ok if you are willing to work the shifts, the pension scheme although hacked to pieces is still one of the better ones out there. The job secure to a degree, but will always depend on the current government. You can always look to do more outside of your main duties but recognition and reward for this effort is lacking.

    Cons

    Shifts can be tough. Used to be a family friendly organisation which it no longer is. Even though you have a row of days off (3-4 depending on roster) it will start feeling like you never get away. Continued changes, no stability or consistency for staff has caused large parts of the workforce to become unmotivated and upset.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    All Change - All Bad!

    Jul 21, 2009 - Executive Officer in Croydon, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some good points: Flexible working (parents - I'm not one - seem to get a particuarly good deal) Ok salary in terms of being able to live, but not reflective of the importance of many of the roles Good transport links into and out of Croydon (if you can't bear to live here)

    Cons

    The Home Office has undergone major changes recently and the creation of the UK Border Agency is one of the biggies! There seems to be a freeze on recruitment across large swathes of the organisation - attempts to reduce staffing levels via retirement opportunities but also automatic warnings (no discretion) for sick leave unless you fit into very strict 'exceptional circumstances'. Morale is at an all time low across UKBA - the media misrepresent what we do, and how well we do it - and then our dumb ass senior management react to the unjust criticisms with badly thought out short-term fixes that just exacerbate the problem / create new problems elsewhere and make or moral plummet even further! Don't work here if you want to feel valued, if you want to be invested in, if you want to be treated fairly and with respect!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    My experience working for the UK BORDER AGENCY has been an eye opener for me ,

    Nov 2, 2014 - Administrative Officer in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The besrt reasons to work here is that you get an eye opener of the border agency from the inside point of view, its completly different from looking at it from the outside, there is a lot of things you leasrn and deal with in a different prospective, it taught me alot within my day to day life and dealing with other peoples lives are important and i realised that i thrive off helping people in positions that i would myself personally want to be in, you get to see how you change peoples lives for the better instead of the worse , there is also alot of growth in the border agency , for example if you show that your working hard you will be asked to go for higher positions as you are recognised and there is always different opportunities available .

    Cons

    Some of the challenges working here is that sometimes you dont get the support you need off the managers and there is more time out smoking than inside helping us out with tackling customers and third parties etc, the workload is getting harder and harder and the company are more interested in hiring temporary agency staff rather than the full time commitment we need to complete these tasks,the confidentiality with the managers towards us staff levels are really poor, working in a busy office it would be lovely not to have to worry about other people knowing your private life. The training is poor in the home office where i work, you chucked on a computer with elearning and not helped out by anyone in the management, personally myself and the people i work with have had to scramble and manage by ourselfes 80 percent of the time.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Avoid

    Jul 25, 2016 - Border Force Immigration Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working options. Salary relatively poor but has reasonable allowances for shift work. Retirement age and pension benefits excellent if in Civil Service pre-2002, but less generous if joined 2002-2015.

    Cons

    Exceptionally poor morale even for the Civil Service. Poor management. Little or no staff development. Few obviously transferable skills into private industry. Prospects of sideways or upwards moves limited by subjective nature of competency-based applications, where it is easy to downgrade applicants in favour of preferred candidate.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place for job security

    Feb 1, 2018 - Administrative Assistant in Croydon, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relatively organised, scope for career progression

    Cons

    Skills of individuals vary greatly for same role, lack of training, lacking strong leadership in some areas

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Popular Careers with UK Border Agency Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at UK Border Agency? Share Your Experiences

UK Border Agency logo
or