UK Border Agency Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

UK Border Agency Reviews

Updated 9 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
40%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
UK Border Agency Acting Director  Simon Hayes
Simon Hayes
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant Immigration Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at UK Border Agency

    Pros

    I had a great experience working for the Agency with best ever 11 years of teamwork which enhanced me to gain a good knowledge of various Immigration duties.

    Cons

    No downside from my point of view

    UK Border Agency2017-01-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Border Force Officer Manchester Airport"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Border Force Officer 

    I have been working at UK Border Agency full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Busy Challenging Develop interpersonal skills Job is what you make it

    Cons

    Shift pattern Lack of opportunity for development

    UK Border Agency2019-06-09
  3. "No control.Poor management. Poor control of budgets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Immigration Officer in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UK Border Agency for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a job but other than that no pros

    Cons

    Different attitudes and policy implementation at different ports/airport

    Continue reading
    UK Border Agency2019-06-06
  4. "more staff needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UK Border Agency part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ok but losing knowledgeable staff

    Cons

    none that I can of today

    Continue reading
    UK Border Agency2019-02-01
  5. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at UK Border Agency part-time

    Pros

    Flexible shifts, work ends when you leave, great stories to tell

    Cons

    Management can be strict, hard to get annual leave , poor salary

    UK Border Agency2018-03-01
  6. "Great place for job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Croydon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UK Border Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relatively organised, scope for career progression

    Cons

    Skills of individuals vary greatly for same role, lack of training, lacking strong leadership in some areas

    UK Border Agency2018-02-01
  7. "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Office Administrator in Croydon, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UK Border Agency for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexi time is family friendly and allows for a good work life balance Great team of people who care about their colleagues Chances to move to other areas/training opportunities Good management

    Cons

    Not overly challenging at junior levels Based in Croydon Difficult when the management vision can change every 4/5 years and this affects your resourcing/budgets

    Continue reading
    UK Border Agency2017-11-01
  8. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Border Force Immigration Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UK Border Agency

    Pros

    Flexible working options. Salary relatively poor but has reasonable allowances for shift work. Retirement age and pension benefits excellent if in Civil Service pre-2002, but less generous if joined 2002-2015.

    Cons

    Exceptionally poor morale even for the Civil Service. Poor management. Little or no staff development. Few obviously transferable skills into private industry. Prospects of sideways or upwards moves limited by subjective nature of competency-based applications, where it is easy to downgrade applicants in favour of preferred candidate.

    Continue reading
    UK Border Agency2016-07-25
  9. "UK Border Force/Agency Heathrow. The people make it the best, and the worst place to work at the same time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Officer in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UK Border Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is ok if you are willing to work the shifts, the pension scheme although hacked to pieces is still one of the better ones out there. The job secure to a degree, but will always depend on the current government. You can always look to do more outside of your main duties but recognition and reward for this effort is lacking.

    Cons

    Shifts can be tough. Used to be a family friendly organisation which it no longer is. Even though you have a row of days off (3-4 depending on roster) it will start feeling like you never get away. Continued changes, no stability or consistency for staff has caused large parts of the workforce to become unmotivated and upset.

    Continue reading
    UK Border Agency2015-05-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "My experience working for the UK BORDER AGENCY has been an eye opener for me ,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Officer in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UK Border Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The besrt reasons to work here is that you get an eye opener of the border agency from the inside point of view, its completly different from looking at it from the outside, there is a lot of things you leasrn and deal with in a different prospective, it taught me alot within my day to day life and dealing with other peoples lives are important and i realised that i thrive off helping people in positions that i would myself personally want to be in, you get to see how you change peoples lives for the better instead of the worse , there is also alot of growth in the border agency , for example if you show that your working hard you will be asked to go for higher positions as you are recognised and there is always different opportunities available .

    Cons

    Some of the challenges working here is that sometimes you dont get the support you need off the managers and there is more time out smoking than inside helping us out with tackling customers and third parties etc, the workload is getting harder and harder and the company are more interested in hiring temporary agency staff rather than the full time commitment we need to complete these tasks,the confidentiality with the managers towards us staff levels are really poor, working in a busy office it would be lovely not to have to worry about other people knowing your private life. The training is poor in the home office where i work, you chucked on a computer with elearning and not helped out by anyone in the management, personally myself and the people i work with have had to scramble and manage by ourselfes 80 percent of the time.

    Continue reading
    UK Border Agency2014-11-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews