UK Ministry of Defence Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

UK Ministry of Defence Reviews

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
UK Ministry of Defence Secretary of State for Defence Michael Fallon
Michael Fallon
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "People are generally world class; however, there are many who are incompetent and MOD is generally poor at managing out non-performers(in 20 reviews)

  • "Rubbish if your out of private sector no intensity or real Challenge(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "RAF Logistics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RAF Logistics JNCO in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Varied work, plenty of opportunities.

    Cons

    Time away at short notice.

    UK Ministry of Defence2020-01-26
  2. "Amazing place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities and lots of good experience.

    Cons

    Long hours and low resources.

    Continue reading
    UK Ministry of Defence2020-03-30
  3. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time

    Pros

    Benefits (Medical, Dental and Expenses)

    Cons

    Moving around alot can take its toll

    UK Ministry of Defence2020-03-17
  4. "Pay not so good, good benefits and pension"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits package and the best pension

    Cons

    Pay is on the lower end

    UK Ministry of Defence2020-03-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow and develop - you have to look for it and not expect it to be fed to you. My colleagues think we aren’t well paid - but when you consider we get up to 30 days leave and bank holidays and the opportunity to take 3 days flexi leave per month the package is good. Flexible working is starting to become the norm which includes working from home, flexi hours and special paid leave for when things go wrong in your life. Though there are some dinosaurs about who don’t support this working patterns we are getting there. Training opportunities are there - I have been trained as an accountant and studied for a degree.

    Cons

    The military old boy network can be a bit overwhelming but outweighed by the opportunity to work alongside some amazing military colleagues. A bit top heavy in terms of grades so some of the roles feel dumbed down but the glass half full person will look for opportunities. The hot desk policy operated across most sites is plain tedious, the IT is terrible, buildings can be tired and dysfunctional in some places.

    UK Ministry of Defence2020-03-02
  6. "Not that bad not that good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of time off from the shift pattern Chilled out environment You can take responsibility for your own decisions Work with nice people Can have a laugh Pension Sometimes good money

    Cons

    No over time Money is up and down This shift pattern you seem to work most weekends No career progression Impossible to get promoted unless willing to move your life somewhere else e

    Continue reading
    UK Ministry of Defence2020-03-03
  7. "Great employer, offers great work life balance with a slightly below average salary."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Assistant in Yeovil, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great flexible working hours and good variety of work.

    Cons

    All centres around Bristol location and below average salary.

    UK Ministry of Defence2020-02-12
  8. "RN life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Naval Recruiting in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, opportunities, working with likeminded people

    Cons

    Time away from home, inability to plan life

    Continue reading
    UK Ministry of Defence2020-02-06
  9. "REME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sergeant Senior Aircraft Engineer in Ipswich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job security and qualifications gained during employment

    Cons

    Extended periods of exercise and deployment

    UK Ministry of Defence2020-02-03
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SNCO Communications Systems Engineer Royal Corps of Signals 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UK Ministry of Defence full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good clear paths for Career progression

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance can be strenuous at times

    UK Ministry of Defence2020-02-03
Found 396 reviews