UNICOM Government Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

UNICOM Government Reviews

Updated 9 Apr 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
23%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Corry Hong
5 Ratings
  1. "UNICOM Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Herndon, VA

    I worked at UNICOM Government for more than a year

    Pros

    Good office environment, work life balance

    Cons

    Was not challenged in position

    UNICOM Government2018-04-09
  2. "No Thanks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UNICOM Government full-time

    Pros

    The kitchens were pretty nice and kept stocked.

    Cons

    Awful work environment for a sales company.

    UNICOM Government2017-12-21
  3. "Was better as GTSI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UNICOM Government full-time

    Pros

    Nice building, good location in Herndon.

    Cons

    Ownership has no clue how to run a government contractor.

    UNICOM Government2017-09-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Pro/Con"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UNICOM Government full-time

    Pros

    Family oriented environment in and amongst the employees. Business systems are superior to that of other companies in the same industry.

    Cons

    Benefits package well below that of other companies in the same industry.

    UNICOM Government2017-06-05
  5. "UNICOM Government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UNICOM Government part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, great managers, training from partners that work with the company, training from seasoned representatives

    Cons

    Opportunity for growth is slim

    UNICOM Government2017-04-24
  6. "Anonymous Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Mission Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UNICOM Government for less than a year

    Pros

    This company can give you a lot of exposure to interesting facets of business, especially if you're interested ni mergers and acquisitions. The pay is decent for an entry- level role.

    Cons

    The CEO is very hard-working but micro manages to the point that you wonder why he hires people to fill any of the other executive roles. I would equate the growth path to climbing a cliff (it is possible, but you will need to teach yourself everything). Expect no training in the business side of he company.

    Advice to Management

    There definitely needs to be a better training program that equips the interns to start as full-time employees. Then there should be a more clear path for advancement within the company, so that we don't resort to Google to try and cater to the CEO's ever changing demands.

    UNICOM Government2016-02-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to pretend to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UNICOM Government full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you get on one of the key company contracts you might make some money and have a continual flow of paperwork to process called orders. I guess if you want a job where you can coast with no accountability and very little responsibility this could be a good place too. If you want to get into Mergers and Acquisitions there is a lot of opportunity with he Unicom family of companies. This is the main objective of the...

    Show More

    Cons

    When this company was GTSI it was the best and most fun I have had at a company. Everyone worked hard, succeeded and supported each others success. In 2012 Corry Hong the CEO of UNICOM Global bought them up and the company immediately took a nose dive. All the top people left and the ability to get work done basically came to a halt. For 4-5 months I barely had a manager and when I did have one they didn't seem to have...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is the worst example of corporate greed I have ever seen. Such a shame with no consideration for peoples livelihoods or the name of a once great company.

    UNICOM Government2016-02-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Average company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UNICOM Government

    Pros

    Great benefits and it was convenient to commute to the job site.

    Cons

    Marginal communication. Not much engagement.

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication.

    UNICOM Government2015-12-09
  9. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UNICOM Government full-time

    Pros

    It had great people and a fun atmosphere

    Cons

    There's nothing that I saw was wrong with the company

    Advice to Management

    Non

    UNICOM Government2015-11-09
  10. "Marketing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UNICOM Government

    Pros

    Great manager, fun co-workers and good exposure to top brands.

    Cons

    Sales-driven organization, marketing isn't always valued.

    Advice to Management

    Diversify and make sure you are not ALLL about 'eyes on the prize' sales.

    UNICOM Government2015-06-04
Found 47 reviews