URS Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

URS Corporation Reviews

Updated 7 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
URS Corporation CEO Michael S. Burke (no image)
Michael S. Burke
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "good people , good pay , very safety minded(in 40 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and decent staff and management(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unfortunately absorbed by AECOM(in 31 reviews)

  • "Upper management is very focused on how billable you are, not good with communicating new processes(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Project diversity within sustainability field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Consultant in Basingstoke, England
    Recommends

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting and varied projects with new disciplines being developed in the sustainability field; very reasonable salary for environmental sector; opportunities for career progression; flexible working gaining momentum

    Cons

    Lack of rotations during graduate programme (nb Scott Wilson ltd at that time); increasing administrative burden on technical staff as functional staff reduced; lack of emphasis on technical training

    Advice to Management

    Greater attention to (particularly junior) staff wishes in terms of subject area. Healthier balance between time control pressure and project realities.

    URS Corporation2015-07-07
  2. "Decent place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Some interesting work and projects Nice colleagues

    Cons

    Timesheets and pressure to charge time to billable projects Lack of opportunity to develop

    URS Corporation2018-05-06
  3. "Has good opportunities for junior staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good support from colleagues. Excellent support/training for professional development. Usually friendly environment. Opportunities to work overseas for internationally minded people.

    Cons

    Inept / unqualified senior staff with tales of bullying, lacking work ethic in simple communication with junior staff.

    URS Corporation2015-03-17
  4. "Good Placement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Civil Engineer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good office atmosphere, flexible working. Big projects, interesting site visits.

    Cons

    As a summer student I often had to keep asking for work.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure there's a role for summer students before taking them on.

    URS Corporation2014-12-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Positive Anand fast paced company in London, slower in Bitmingham office, but still lovely management and highly driven and qualifies colleagues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at URS Corporation

    Pros

    The benefits are great and there's flexible working hours if you have a good line manager, which was usually the case wherever you worked. Lots of departments so could complete a whole project in house.

    Cons

    Glass ceiling for women perhaps somewhat as in all engineering companies. But this is slowly breaking down and there were some very high achieving women in the upper ranks. So it wasn't impossible aa long as you worked twice as hard as your male counterparts ;)

    Advice to Management

    Upper management were fairly good but needed to perhaps break some of the barriers for women who were struggling to progress in the organisation due to subtle discrimination.

    URS Corporation2014-11-21
  6. "URS - Graduate Project Manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at URS Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job security is quite safe with a continuous workload coming in at a time when the economy is weak, this could be different in a smaller company. It was easier to settle here within such as large office as there is often some type of socializing going on.

    Cons

    Continuous professional development is little to non existent. My line manager teaches me very little and often weeks will go by where all I do i print, scan, and other admin work.

    Advice to Management

    Train your graduates otherwise how can we will ever learn.

    URS Corporation2014-11-27
  7. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at URS Corporation

    Pros

    Decent company to work for

    Cons

    Salaries are below market rates

    URS Corporation2014-11-13
  8. "Managed by Accountants than Engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at URS Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Few good projects derived from Legacy companies like Scott Wilson, DGP. Stability in difficult market. Values Clients

    Cons

    Huge Politics internally to keep 'pet' people as frontrunner. Low increments. Managed by Accountants not Engineers. Even PM course is more related to accountancy. Treat Staff like milking cow. No efforts to develop social fabric within company

    Advice to Management

    UK Management should learn some US Management techniques and bring diversity in management. 99% dominated by white British, predominantly male.

    URS Corporation2014-10-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Belligerent and clueless senior management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Peer work force is friendly.

    Cons

    Utter chaos from day one due to swathes of leavers. Naturally you get passed all the projects that were left behind with budgets rinsed. You're instantly under fire line from both clients and managers. Dept leader takes no responsibility for for anything. You agree to the position, then you get your (vague and yet biblical) job description. Then you get a surprise review telling you you're in jeopardy. Unforgivable... treatment from senior management employing HR to chaperone them as they censure you (whilst flirting with each other). Despite flagging your concerns with all parties HR sit and nod as you get punished for trying to do your job and win back some credibility with clients. Then there's the soul destroying and infinitely time consuming bureaucracy. Having spent ten years in consultancy, working here for one convinced me to try something else. I'm so glad that I did. In short I wouldn't recommend them. YMMV. Hopefully Aecom will make the necessary changes. It couldn't get any worse.

    Show More
    URS Corporation2014-10-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great projects, little progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Access to some very interesting, high profile projects and international opportunities. Good network of global professions. Given key responsibilities if you are good at what you do.

    Cons

    Pay is sub-par. Little progression if they want to keep you doing only what they think you are good at. You could hold a key role in a project, highly regarded by external client but still earn little after years. Moving around internally could be lot harder than it sounds.

    Advice to Management

    Recognise your staff with real rewards and progressions in career!!

    URS Corporation2014-08-18
Found 904 reviews