US Naval Research Laboratory Intern Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Intern

US Naval Research Laboratory Intern Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
US Naval Research Laboratory CEO Scott D Moran
Scott D Moran
1 Ratings
  1. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Student Intern 

      I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

      Pros

      Educational experiences, accomplished co-workers, good pay

      Cons

      In the middle of nowhere

      US Naval Research Laboratory2019-06-19
    • "Intern Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Intern 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

      Pros

      Perfect combination of a relaxed and professional environment.

      Cons

      There are zero cons for this internship experience.

      US Naval Research Laboratory2019-03-19
    • "Great experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Intern in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

      Pros

      One of the most rewarding experiences I've had and I had the freedom to work on what I wanted with mentorship from expert researchers

      Cons

      There is a lot of red tape to go through to get papers published, but once you get used to it, it's fine.

      US Naval Research Laboratory2018-09-26
    • "Relaxed, nice place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Intern 

        I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

        Pros

        Pleasant working environment Relaxed culture Great coworkers / people to work with and learn from

        Cons

        Work can be slow at times

        US Naval Research Laboratory2017-10-01
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Research Intern in Washington, DC
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

        Pros

        The environment fosters collaboration and there are many exciting projects.

        Cons

        There is a fair bit of red tape and hoops you need to jump through to get things approved by the Navy.

        US Naval Research Laboratory2017-02-16
      • "Good place to wrok"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Intern in Key West, FL

          I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

          Pros

          Really nice working hours and key west was nice

          Cons

          none really, i wasnt there long enough to have any problem

          US Naval Research Laboratory2016-12-28
        • Helpful (1)

          "Generally Good Experience"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Computer Engineer Intern in Washington, DC
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook

          I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

          Pros

          Opportunity to work with some very smart people Welcoming atmosphere for interns Felt like I could ask anybody for help and I would at least get some sort of answer with a couple days or a week

          Cons

          Obvious government overhead Run down buildings (not exactly your Google headquarters) Not a lot of campus wide events Felt like everyone was overworked with too many projects or responsibilities (but it honestly might be like that in any workplace)

          Advice to Management

          Try to make NRL feel like more of a community across all divisions. To me, it seems like each code kept to themselves and didn't know as many people outside their code.

          US Naval Research Laboratory2016-10-24
        • "Shadwell (Mobile, AL)"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Mobile, AL
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook

          I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

          Pros

          The interns have a great boss who is flexible with student work schedules and understanding of the physically taxing work you are doing.

          Cons

          This isn't necessarily a con, but you should know that working aboard the Shadwell is hazardous and it isn't easy work. You can go for a couple months without much to do, but once a testing series starts you have to get to it. It's extremely hot and hard work sometimes. It isn't anything you can't handle if you've ever worked construction in the summer down south though. One thing that is a bummer about the internship...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          I don't really have any, other than that the supervising engineer aboard the Shadwell deserves way more money than you are probably paying him. He never takes vacations and often works 60-80 hour work weeks with no overtime compensation.

          US Naval Research Laboratory2016-07-07
        • "Experience the Open Sea"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Intern in Stennis Space Center, MS
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Got to work independently on tasks and ultimately went on week long trips to sea to test equipment that I built.

          Cons

          Many of the projects that I worked on were projects from the 90's that were put on hold until I worked on them. Had to deal with old components.

          Advice to Management

          Get more young blood!

          US Naval Research Laboratory2016-04-05
        • "Research focused place"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
          No Opinion of CEO

          I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Ability to work on high risk research. Has great equipment and provides opportunity to publish. A lot of great resources to do research with a diverse field of talented people.

          Cons

          Funding structure is rigid. Stove piping is common, and ability to achieve funds for research is parochial and turf wars make things difficult for open collaboration.

          US Naval Research Laboratory2016-01-25
        Found 17 reviews