US Naval Research Laboratory Intern Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Intern

US Naval Research Laboratory Intern Reviews

Updated Nov 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
US Naval Research Laboratory CEO Scott D Moran
Scott D Moran
1 Ratings
  1. "Military Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineering Intern 

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Prestigious name of the organization lives up mostly to its reputation. The environment is similar to most defense oriented spaces, but much more research focused.

    Cons

    The pay could be better, but its a trade off for the government status security and prestige.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-11-25
  2. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work experience. I was placed on a team and assigned a mentor who guided me throughout my internship. I got great hands on experience working alongside researchers and was able to make an real contribution to the team. Overall, friendly and relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Kind of compartmentalized, in the sense that security measures made it hard to explore what else was going on and interact with people on different teams.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-07-18
  3. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Student Intern 

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

    Pros

    Educational experiences, accomplished co-workers, good pay

    Cons

    In the middle of nowhere

    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-06-19
  4. "Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

    Pros

    Perfect combination of a relaxed and professional environment.

    Cons

    There are zero cons for this internship experience.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-03-19
  5. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the most rewarding experiences I've had and I had the freedom to work on what I wanted with mentorship from expert researchers

    Cons

    There is a lot of red tape to go through to get papers published, but once you get used to it, it's fine.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-09-26
  6. "Relaxed, nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern 

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    Pleasant working environment Relaxed culture Great coworkers / people to work with and learn from

    Cons

    Work can be slow at times

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-10-01
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    The environment fosters collaboration and there are many exciting projects.

    Cons

    There is a fair bit of red tape and hoops you need to jump through to get things approved by the Navy.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-02-16
  8. "Good place to wrok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern in Key West, FL

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

    Pros

    Really nice working hours and key west was nice

    Cons

    none really, i wasnt there long enough to have any problem

    US Naval Research Laboratory2016-12-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Generally Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Computer Engineer Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with some very smart people Welcoming atmosphere for interns Felt like I could ask anybody for help and I would at least get some sort of answer with a couple days or a week

    Cons

    Obvious government overhead Run down buildings (not exactly your Google headquarters) Not a lot of campus wide events Felt like everyone was overworked with too many projects or responsibilities (but it honestly might be like that in any workplace)

    Advice to Management

    Try to make NRL feel like more of a community across all divisions. To me, it seems like each code kept to themselves and didn't know as many people outside their code.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2016-10-24
  10. "Shadwell (Mobile, AL)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Mechanical Engineering Intern in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    The interns have a great boss who is flexible with student work schedules and understanding of the physically taxing work you are doing.

    Cons

    This isn't necessarily a con, but you should know that working aboard the Shadwell is hazardous and it isn't easy work. You can go for a couple months without much to do, but once a testing series starts you have to get to it. It's extremely hot and hard work sometimes. It isn't anything you can't handle if you've ever worked construction in the summer down south though. One thing that is a bummer about the... internship though is that it isn't a program designed to get you a job with the NRL after graduation. There is no job waiting for you when you graduate; partly because the Shadwell is really just the head site engineer, his student interns, and the maintenance workers. The test facility is the only NRL office in the area, the next closest is at Stennis, about 2 or so hours away.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't really have any, other than that the supervising engineer aboard the Shadwell deserves way more money than you are probably paying him. He never takes vacations and often works 60-80 hour work weeks with no overtime compensation.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2016-07-07
Found 19 reviews