US Naval Research Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

US Naval Research Laboratory Reviews

Updated 5 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
US Naval Research Laboratory Commanding Officer Scott D Moran
Scott D Moran
5 Ratings
  1. "NRL Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People, Flexibility of Hours, Guarded entrance

    Cons

    No growth opportunities unless you know who's who. Unless you are a researcher pay is not good.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-03-05
  2. "Great Benefits Hit a growth ceiling after 3 or so years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Flexible hours, good pace of work.

    Cons

    Horendous Security/Base Caused Traffic Kind of boring, people keep to themselves and not alot of collaboration within the org.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-02-28
  3. "Great environmnet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large variety of projects to work on Opportunities to work with different divisions Helpful and responsive HR Access to plenty of top-of-the-line engineering resources like Solidworks

    Cons

    Down-time in between projects can make work dull Some buildings are old and have HVAC issues The drive is long if you don't live in or right next to DC

    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-01-31
  4. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Scientist in Washington, DC

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the scientific projects are exceptional. there is a great work-life balance

    Cons

    the facilities are in poor shape and govt restrictions hamper morale

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-01-29
  5. "High skilled place of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Software Engineer, Applications in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good, steady good with lots of interesting, cutting edge research happened on the base. Comptuers and networks are always kept up to date

    Cons

    With many gov work, pace can be slow and there are pockets of busy and boring months when nothing much happens.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-01-20
  6. "A great start for a Computer Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Trainee in Monterey, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Variety of Work Helpful Supervisors Relaxing environment

    Cons

    Too Slow a Pace Opportunities for Advancement scarce as Computer Scientist Very low pay

    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-01-10
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    Good lab facility to do scientific research

    Cons

    No 401 K for postdoc

    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-11-25
  8. "Fantastic scientists to work around hindered by dated infrastructure and red tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NRC Postdoctoral Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, everybody around me has a PhD (disclaimer: will depend on your division/branch of research), good availability of resources to conduct research, great compensation (highest I've seen for a postdoc outside of industry), flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Poor infrastructure, slow building and renovation work which often delays projects, typical bureaucratic red tape (not any worse than any other gov't organization), little to no real "food options" on site, anti-social colleagues (not necessarily a con for some people), lack of good public transportation from in or out of DC

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-10-31
  9. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the most rewarding experiences I've had and I had the freedom to work on what I wanted with mentorship from expert researchers

    Cons

    There is a lot of red tape to go through to get papers published, but once you get used to it, it's fine.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-09-26
  10. "Student Trainee(Software Engineering Intern)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Trainee in Monterey, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a great way to get an "in" for a government job Exposure to many different technologies

    Cons

    Slow paced work environment Difficult to learn at times because there is only one SWE and he is always busy

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-09-24
Found 97 reviews