US Naval Research Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

US Naval Research Laboratory Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
US Naval Research Laboratory CEO Scott D Moran
Scott D Moran
4 Ratings
  1. "A great start for a Computer Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Trainee in Monterey, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Variety of Work Helpful Supervisors Relaxing environment

    Cons

    Too Slow a Pace Opportunities for Advancement scarce as Computer Scientist Very low pay

    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-01-10
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    Good lab facility to do scientific research

    Cons

    No 401 K for postdoc

    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-11-25
  3. "Fantastic scientists to work around hindered by dated infrastructure and red tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NRC Postdoctoral Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, everybody around me has a PhD (disclaimer: will depend on your division/branch of research), good availability of resources to conduct research, great compensation (highest I've seen for a postdoc outside of industry), flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Poor infrastructure, slow building and renovation work which often delays projects, typical bureaucratic red tape (not any worse than any other gov't organization), little to no real "food options" on site, anti-social colleagues (not necessarily a con for some people), lack of good public transportation from in or out of DC

    Advice to Management

    Please hire more contractors/allocate more funding toward infrastructure improvement; the speed of any progress is currently abysmal

    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-10-31
  4. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the most rewarding experiences I've had and I had the freedom to work on what I wanted with mentorship from expert researchers

    Cons

    There is a lot of red tape to go through to get papers published, but once you get used to it, it's fine.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-09-26
  5. "Student Trainee(Software Engineering Intern)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Trainee in Monterey, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a great way to get an "in" for a government job Exposure to many different technologies

    Cons

    Slow paced work environment Difficult to learn at times because there is only one SWE and he is always busy

    Advice to Management

    Hire more experienced Software Engineers to mentor interns/trainees

    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-09-24
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

      I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

      Pros

      a lot of time flexibility.

      Cons

      Roach problem. Needs to be fixed asap

      Advice to Management

      The place needs serious renovation

      US Naval Research Laboratory2018-06-05
    • "Financial"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Finance in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The scientists are great to work for. My management allows for great balance of work on-site, telework, flexible hours and family life. The fact that you don’t have to go far into the district makes up for most of the cons.

      Cons

      Traffic, parking and aging buildings are really the main drawback.

      Advice to Management

      Make advancement easier.

      US Naval Research Laboratory2018-05-19
    • "Contracting"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Contracting Officer in Washington, DC

        I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Exposure to multiple contract types and contracting methods.

        Cons

        Aging facilities and use of outdated systems.

        US Naval Research Laboratory2018-05-16
      • "Great work/life balance and research opportunities"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great work/life balance, good community of people and work culture. Fairly good reputation in certain fields. Postdoc positions often lead to staff offers.

        Cons

        Since postdoc positions at NRL are so cheap, they try and keep you a postdoc for as long as possible. Staff position pay after conversion is significantly under industry but benefits and security offset some of this.

        Advice to Management

        Make it easier to convert postdocs to staff, or you will continue to get your talent poached by industry.

        US Naval Research Laboratory2018-04-27
      • "System Administrator 3"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

          I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Great training opportunities and communication among employees

          Cons

          Next to DC Water plant and the smell in the air

          Advice to Management

          Great company

          US Naval Research Laboratory2018-04-12
        Found 92 reviews