US Naval Research Laboratory Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
US Naval Research Laboratory Commanding Officer Scott D Moran
Scott D Moran
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Can be terrible or could be great, based on the team you work with."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible hours -Very relaxed atmosphere -A few very talented people -Some teams are excellent to work with -Hard to get fired

    Cons

    Unfortunately a lot of the pros lend themselves to the cons as well. While there are some very talented people who work at the NRL, there are only a few that stay for a long period of time. What you're left with are smart people who become lazy and disinterested with time and a lot of people not qualified for their job. On a side note I worked there for years and only spoke with my supervisor a handful of times. There was little to no direction on any of the projects both my coworkers and I worked on. The lack of communication wasted a lot of time and effort and helped me realize how much money our government is willing to throw away by not laying out a game plan and communicating it. Ultimately my experience was disappointing and helped me decide to stay in the private sector for the rest of my career. Also, may be a big deal depending on your personality, but this place is more clique oriented than most other jobs I've had.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-11-16
  2. "Great Military Lab"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Pay was great, lots of longevity with employees, flexible work assignments, best and brightest scientists and engineers.

    Cons

    Location is in Washington, DC. Some of the buildings are very old and in need of repairs.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-09-13
  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, lots of interesting stuff going on here

    Cons

    Buildings are old due to government restrictions on new construction

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-09-09
  4. "Great research institution"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have a premier research environment.

    Cons

    There is too much security screening

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-06-29
  5. "NRL"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Lots of different kinds of work

    Cons

    No growth path unless you are a researcher, low paying. Location is difficult to get to.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-07-06
  6. "Electronics Technician"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Work Schedule, Variety of Projects

    Cons

    Next Door to Blue Plains

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-04-11
  7. "Lack of urgency"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    A place to do research

    Cons

    Relaxed working environment to a degree that people may not take work seriously

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-03-24
  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    The environment fosters collaboration and there are many exciting projects.

    Cons

    There is a fair bit of red tape and hoops you need to jump through to get things approved by the Navy.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-02-16
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    State of the art scientific research

    Cons

    Bureaucracy of a federal agency

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-01-24
  10. "Interesting and educational place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    NRL is a very friendly place with a lot of smart people. I've interned for two different departments and never had a bad manager. Almost everyone there is highly educated and technical. It has a very academic atmosphere.

    Cons

    Government bureaucracy can cause some annoying slow downs and issues. Pay is also not as good as other companies, but has a lot of benefits.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2016-12-31
Found 98 reviews