US Naval Research Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

US Naval Research Laboratory Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
US Naval Research Laboratory CEO Scott D Moran
Scott D Moran
4 Ratings
  1. "Lack of urgency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    A place to do research

    Cons

    Relaxed working environment to a degree that people may not take work seriously

    Advice to Management

    Make sure people working there know there is accountability from him or her.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-03-24
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    The environment fosters collaboration and there are many exciting projects.

    Cons

    There is a fair bit of red tape and hoops you need to jump through to get things approved by the Navy.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-02-16
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    State of the art scientific research

    Cons

    Bureaucracy of a federal agency

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-01-24
  4. "Interesting and educational place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    NRL is a very friendly place with a lot of smart people. I've interned for two different departments and never had a bad manager. Almost everyone there is highly educated and technical. It has a very academic atmosphere.

    Cons

    Government bureaucracy can cause some annoying slow downs and issues. Pay is also not as good as other companies, but has a lot of benefits.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2016-12-31
  5. "NRL Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn, low stress, do real and interesting work, obtain security clearance.

    Cons

    Need car to access campus

    US Naval Research Laboratory2016-12-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Hmmm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    Consistent for all majors doing internship.

    Cons

    Not sufficient for the area.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2016-12-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Brilliant people, poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

      Pros

      Work with intelligent and approachable people

      Cons

      Poor management and beauracracy is a headache

      US Naval Research Laboratory2016-12-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Mail and File Clerk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

      Pros

      Job security, hard working colleagues.

      Cons

      The pay was lousy. There was very little support from management. Low morale. Hard work with no reward.

      Advice to Management

      Show more concern for your people and their careers and reward hard work with a decent pay increase when merited.

      US Naval Research Laboratory2016-10-31
    • "project coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Manager in Hamilton, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people to work for. Upper Management cares out their people

      Cons

      i have no cons to share

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work

      US Naval Research Laboratory2016-09-15
    • "Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

        Pros

        Excellent research experience. Had the opportunity to use several cutting edge instruments, and learned a lot about research in the process. Felt well integrated into my lab group.

        Cons

        Cannot think of anything significant.

        US Naval Research Laboratory2016-08-12
      Found 92 reviews