US Naval Research Laboratory "red tape" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

US Naval Research Laboratory Employee Reviews about "red tape"

Updated 31 Oct 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
US Naval Research Laboratory Commanding Officer Scott D Moran
Scott D Moran
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "At NRL you have great access to resources and mentors(in 16 reviews)

  • "there is a great work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "With all the good said, I have to focus on the fact that I don't find the NRL to be family friendly at all(in 16 reviews)

  • "Somewhat bureaucratic, lots of red tape but that's expected(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "red tape"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fantastic scientists to work around hindered by dated infrastructure and red tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NRC Postdoctoral Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, everybody around me has a PhD (disclaimer: will depend on your division/branch of research), good availability of resources to conduct research, great compensation (highest I've seen for a postdoc outside of industry), flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Poor infrastructure, slow building and renovation work which often delays projects, typical bureaucratic red tape (not any worse than any other gov't organization), little to no real "food options" on site, anti-social colleagues (not necessarily a con for some people), lack of good public transportation from in or out of DC

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-10-31
  2. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the most rewarding experiences I've had and I had the freedom to work on what I wanted with mentorship from expert researchers

    Cons

    There is a lot of red tape to go through to get papers published, but once you get used to it, it's fine.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-09-26
  3. "Computer Science Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    Good mentorship program, interns have some say on what project they can work on. Food trucks on campus on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

    Cons

    Somewhat bureaucratic, lots of red tape but that's expected.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-09-28
  4. "postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    Good place for research if you are interested in doing research for Naval applications.

    Cons

    Pay is really low compared to private sector. The facilities are horribly outdated. Not a lot of room to move up. Red tape everywhere!!

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-06-20
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    The environment fosters collaboration and there are many exciting projects.

    Cons

    There is a fair bit of red tape and hoops you need to jump through to get things approved by the Navy.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-02-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "NREIP Intern: Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - NREIP Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for less than a year

    Pros

    The researchers in the division I was in were very motivated and interested in their work. People were friendly and accommodating. As an intern, it was nice to be put on a project that actually mattered. I had a large technical role on the project, not just data crunching or such. For the NREIP Program, there were lunches organized to get the interns to know each other. There were also tours of the different labs you could take. Since the lab is government run, you cannot work more than 40hrs a week, so no forced long hours.

    Cons

    People in different divisions do not really associate with each other so there is not a lot of collaboration between divisions As with any government lab, there is a lot of red tape

    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-02-09
  7. "Inefficient but relaxed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed office culture, good place to demonstrate your knowledge, has a lot of equipment on site and around the DC metropolitan area.

    Cons

    A lot of inefficiencies and red tape slow down research. As with any federal position, a lot of paperwork is involved as well.

    US Naval Research Laboratory2014-10-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent colleagues, exciting projects, but you're still a government employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This place is great for recent grads and post-docs looking to get their start. You will have the opportunity to work on extremely cool projects and cutting-edge science that few other companies can offer. As mentioned elsewhere there are frequent talks given by outside and often quite distinguished speakers (I can recall several Nobel Laureates). This indicates that NRL has an excellent reputation in both academia and industry. Colleagues are generally easy to get along with, especially those close to your age (young in my case). Older colleagues will be happy to help you out since they have no fear of you taking their job (see below). Organizational structure is relatively flat, so you can have a high degree of autonomy as long as you can find funding and produce results. Compensation is decent but will not be on par with private industry. However there are perks like generous retirement contributions and a CAC card, which will grant you access to almost any military base (Bolling is right next door), where you can use their generally excellent gyms.

    Cons

    Because it is a government job, there is very low turnover and few opportunities to get promoted. (This doesn't mean you will have no power, see above.) Working for the federal government, you are subject to the whimsical and petty antics of congress. It also means that purchasing is a pain. There is A LOT of red tape. This also contributes to a lack of communication and collaboration between the different departments. Very little formal training; there are occasional two- or three-day seminars that you can request permission from your boss to attend, but these generally are only obliquely helpful (at best) with your actual work. Compensation, as mentioned above, is generally below that of the private sector (including contractors). The exception is if you only have a bachelors; in that case it is probably competitive. Lastly, the facilities are generally old and dilapidated, as many are WWII vintage with shoddy retrofitting. It is not uncommon to see very old and disused equipment choking valuable lab space. NRL is also adjacent to Blue Plains sewage treatment plant, so there is usually a smell of sulfur in the air and on hot days it can get quite pungent.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2013-10-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews