US Naval Research Laboratory Employee Reviews about "red tape"

Updated Nov 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 224 reviews

4.3
93%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
US Naval Research Laboratory Commanding Officer Scott D Moran
Scott D Moran
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working at the NRL has been excellent in many respects, especially as an intern(in 19 reviews)

  • "The work life balance is excellent(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "One of the worst parts of working at NRL is the infrastructure(in 19 reviews)

  • "Is next to a sewage treatment plant(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "red tape"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Outdated Research, low competence

      Nov 21, 2021 - Physicist in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Low workload, many holidays off, close to the city.

      Cons

      -Dirty facilities -Technology very much out of date -coworkers not motivated -Too much bureaucratic red tape to work effectively

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good place

      Aug 12, 2021 - Research Physicist in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Federal Gov Benefits Plenty of Academic Freedom

      Cons

      Working for Fed Govt Red Tape Is next to a sewage treatment plant

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Intern, more than 3 years

      Great Work Environment, Slow Pace, Low Pay

      Apr 12, 2021 - Engineering Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at the NRL has been excellent in many respects, especially as an intern. The breadth and depth of the work I am able to do is incredible, and I have a wide pool of extremely knowledgeable engineers to get help from when needed. The resources available to us are insane, as we operate on a military budget, and the work we're doing is exciting. I get a great deal of independence, occasionally taking on entire projects myself, but I typically work on smaller projects designed to improve the work efficiency for the more experienced (and therefore expensive) engineers. The work life balance is excellent. 40 hours a week, absolutely 0 expectation of extra work outside this. Extremely kind with vacation/sick days, not as cutthroat as private defense work.

      Cons

      While the work I do is often exciting and I usually have a great support network, that is not always the case. Being government work, things sometimes move incredibly slowly. I spent way too long struggling to get through red tape my first year there. Similarly, I spend a substantial amount of time trying to navigate the security systems and trainings required as a result of classified work. Finally, sometimes the independence granted to me as an intern is too much, and my requests for help are occasionally met with "just read a textbook." On one hand it is great to be paid to read/learn, but it also would be nice if I could get a bit more support on things when I'm thrown into the deep end as a student with little experience. Finally, the pay leaves much to be desired. This may not be the case for everyone, but I have received no substantial pay increases outside of inflation raises since I began working multiple years ago, despite frequent praise from my supervisors. Having friends that are students in similar positions making more than double my hourly pay is disheartening.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Lots of good, some bad

      Jan 12, 2021 - Research Physicist in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lots of freedom - Access to a wide range of experts

      Cons

      - Red tape - Facilities need better upkeep

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic scientists to work around hindered by dated infrastructure and red tape

      Oct 31, 2018 - NRC Postdoctoral Research Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team, everybody around me has a PhD (disclaimer: will depend on your division/branch of research), good availability of resources to conduct research, great compensation (highest I've seen for a postdoc outside of industry), flexible work schedule

      Cons

      Poor infrastructure, slow building and renovation work which often delays projects, typical bureaucratic red tape (not any worse than any other gov't organization), little to no real "food options" on site, anti-social colleagues (not necessarily a con for some people), lack of good public transportation from in or out of DC

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great experience

      Sep 25, 2018 - Research Intern in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the most rewarding experiences I've had and I had the freedom to work on what I wanted with mentorship from expert researchers

      Cons

      There is a lot of red tape to go through to get papers published, but once you get used to it, it's fine.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Intern

      Computer Science Intern

      Sep 27, 2018 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good mentorship program, interns have some say on what project they can work on. Food trucks on campus on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

      Cons

      Somewhat bureaucratic, lots of red tape but that's expected.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Contractor

      postdoc

      Jun 20, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place for research if you are interested in doing research for Naval applications.

      Cons

      Pay is really low compared to private sector. The facilities are horribly outdated. Not a lot of room to move up. Red tape everywhere!!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Feb 16, 2017 - Research Intern in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The environment fosters collaboration and there are many exciting projects.

      Cons

      There is a fair bit of red tape and hoops you need to jump through to get things approved by the Navy.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      NREIP Intern: Great experience

      Feb 9, 2017 - NREIP Intern in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The researchers in the division I was in were very motivated and interested in their work. People were friendly and accommodating. As an intern, it was nice to be put on a project that actually mattered. I had a large technical role on the project, not just data crunching or such. For the NREIP Program, there were lunches organized to get the interns to know each other. There were also tours of the different labs you could take. Since the lab is government run, you cannot work more than 40hrs a week, so no forced long hours.

      Cons

      People in different divisions do not really associate with each other so there is not a lot of collaboration between divisions As with any government lab, there is a lot of red tape

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with US Naval Research Laboratory Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at US Naval Research Laboratory? Share Your Experiences

    US Naval Research Laboratory logo
    or