US Naval Research Laboratory Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 224 reviews

4.3
93%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
US Naval Research Laboratory Commanding Officer Scott D Moran
Scott D Moran
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working at the NRL has been excellent in many respects, especially as an intern(in 19 reviews)

  • "The work life balance is excellent(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "One of the worst parts of working at NRL is the infrastructure(in 19 reviews)

  • "Is next to a sewage treatment plant(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The future looks bright

      Nov 6, 2021 - Financial Analyst in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance, tele work available, good pay, advancement opportunities, good management, benefits

      Cons

      can be stressful at times but not often

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Mission Driven, Great People, Bureacractic

      Sep 2, 2021 - Mechanical Engineer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really smart people who put in work and care; Good work-life balance; Lots of interesting projects; Real tangible mission; Pay is adequate

      Cons

      Typical government incompetence at the upper administrative level; weird funding structure for research that can be good or bad; next to a sewage plant; This isn't the place where you work up the ladder with promotions; Pay is adequate

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Research Scientist

      Aug 8, 2021 - Research Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work. Interesting topics. Good location. Great people. Good work life balance.

      Cons

      Pay can be low. Depending on funding. Cafeteria is a bit old.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Intern, more than 3 years

      Great Work Environment, Slow Pace, Low Pay

      Apr 12, 2021 - Engineering Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at the NRL has been excellent in many respects, especially as an intern. The breadth and depth of the work I am able to do is incredible, and I have a wide pool of extremely knowledgeable engineers to get help from when needed. The resources available to us are insane, as we operate on a military budget, and the work we're doing is exciting. I get a great deal of independence, occasionally taking on entire projects myself, but I typically work on smaller projects designed to improve the work efficiency for the more experienced (and therefore expensive) engineers. The work life balance is excellent. 40 hours a week, absolutely 0 expectation of extra work outside this. Extremely kind with vacation/sick days, not as cutthroat as private defense work.

      Cons

      While the work I do is often exciting and I usually have a great support network, that is not always the case. Being government work, things sometimes move incredibly slowly. I spent way too long struggling to get through red tape my first year there. Similarly, I spend a substantial amount of time trying to navigate the security systems and trainings required as a result of classified work. Finally, sometimes the independence granted to me as an intern is too much, and my requests for help are occasionally met with "just read a textbook." On one hand it is great to be paid to read/learn, but it also would be nice if I could get a bit more support on things when I'm thrown into the deep end as a student with little experience. Finally, the pay leaves much to be desired. This may not be the case for everyone, but I have received no substantial pay increases outside of inflation raises since I began working multiple years ago, despite frequent praise from my supervisors. Having friends that are students in similar positions making more than double my hourly pay is disheartening.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Intellectual environment for scientists

      Feb 22, 2021 - Mehcanical Engineer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get to propose and work on problems that interest you. Great work life balance.

      Cons

      Not a lot of opportunity for growth. Pace can be very slow

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Some comments:

      Nov 4, 2020 - NRC Postdoctoral Research Associate in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great location, great pay and benefit, good work life balance.

      Cons

      Future opportunities are limitted for foreign nationals.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Like the job, salary could be better

      Oct 30, 2020 - Electrical Engineer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Knowledgeable coworkers, interesting projects, good work life balance

      Cons

      Weak salary, at times frustrating government bureaucracy, lab space could be more spacious

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work if there is funding

      Sep 25, 2019 - NRC Postdoctoral Research Associate in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, competitive salary and benefits

      Cons

      Facilities, never ending search for funding

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      good job

      Jan 29, 2019 - Staff Scientist in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the scientific projects are exceptional. there is a great work-life balance

      Cons

      the facilities are in poor shape and govt restrictions hamper morale

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great work/life balance and research opportunities

      Apr 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance, good community of people and work culture. Fairly good reputation in certain fields. Postdoc positions often lead to staff offers.

      Cons

      Since postdoc positions at NRL are so cheap, they try and keep you a postdoc for as long as possible. Staff position pay after conversion is significantly under industry but benefits and security offset some of this.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

    Popular Careers with US Naval Research Laboratory Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at US Naval Research Laboratory? Share Your Experiences

    US Naval Research Laboratory logo
    or