US Naval Research Laboratory "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

US Naval Research Laboratory Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 25 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
US Naval Research Laboratory Commanding Officer Scott D Moran
Scott D Moran
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "At NRL you have great access to resources and mentors(in 16 reviews)

  • "there is a great work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "With all the good said, I have to focus on the fact that I don't find the NRL to be family friendly at all(in 16 reviews)

  • "Somewhat bureaucratic, lots of red tape but that's expected(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good place to work if there is funding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NRC Postdoctoral Research Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, competitive salary and benefits

    Cons

    Facilities, never ending search for funding

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-09-25
  2. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Scientist in Washington, DC

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the scientific projects are exceptional. there is a great work-life balance

    Cons

    the facilities are in poor shape and govt restrictions hamper morale

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2019-01-29
  3. "Great work/life balance and research opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, good community of people and work culture. Fairly good reputation in certain fields. Postdoc positions often lead to staff offers.

    Cons

    Since postdoc positions at NRL are so cheap, they try and keep you a postdoc for as long as possible. Staff position pay after conversion is significantly under industry but benefits and security offset some of this.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-04-27
  4. "Review of NRL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and research environment

    Cons

    Outdated and old facilities and infrastructure

    US Naval Research Laboratory2018-04-08
  5. "Great place to intern through NREIP program, very helpful supervisors (Computer Science)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Summer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    - When I was there, schedule was pretty flexible. - Transit access - There were a few events/BBQs over the summer that were pretty good - The summer I went they would let you on base for 4th of July fireworks right along the river, which is a cool view. - The mentor I had was really supportive and helpful - NRL takes a lot of NREIP interns so there will probably be other interns to chill with - You may end up getting hired again for the next summer as well. - Great work/life balance, as well as good worker's rights as it is a government job

    Cons

    - Pay for 1st year interns as of 2017 may not be competitive, especially if you're paying for housing too. Returning intern and graduate student pay is pretty good though. - Some projects are more interesting than others - Some projects require security clearance (and therefore US Citizenship) in order to work on them, most at NRL were unclassified though. - You're a contractor which means you have to pay self-employment tax and you don't get government benefits.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2017-11-18
  6. "Great research, low pay for a PhD, slow work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Scientist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not only does groundbreaking research happen at NRL but it also gets transitioned to real-world systems. You can be a part of the entire cycle from basic to applied research and then eventually to transition. The work-life balance is amazing and it's a very low-stress environment.

    Cons

    The pay for a PhD in an equivalent field (for me) is almost twice as much in the private sector. Upward mobility is nearly non-existant. Things often move at an extremely slow pace.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2016-01-24
  7. "Great company, little mundane"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    Great job security, stable work-life balance, and potential for advancement in your section. The people who work here are great people though.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, you end up doing mostly the same thing everyday and I don't know how I feel about that. Great if you love research, that was not me.

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2015-11-29
  8. "Good place for postdoc experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good work-life balance and pay for a postdoc

    Cons

    Opportunities to go from postdoc to full-hire are very limited

    US Naval Research Laboratory2015-05-21
  9. "Summer student intern at NRL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at US Naval Research Laboratory

    Pros

    -Was placed in an interesting project, worked with talented researchers, had opportunities to work with state of the art technologies, reasonable work life balance

    Cons

    -Culture is a little stale, poor maintenance and support, infrastructure is falling apart and the campus is dirty, constant high security

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2015-04-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in Monterey, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at US Naval Research Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative Great work-life balance (compared to academia) Opportunity to do innovative, cutting-edge interesting research Great facilities

    Cons

    It is not a good time to be employed by the people of the U.S. (a government employee) This is a corporate lab, with a focus on delivering results

    Continue reading
    US Naval Research Laboratory2014-03-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews