USAA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

USAA Reviews

Updated 8 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
1,109 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The first year on the phones are the hardest if you do not have previous call center experience(in 357 reviews)

  • "Some managers (Not to be named here) said that they cared for the military and their families(in 122 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA

    Pros

    A great place to work -

    Cons

    Limited benefits in comparison to other companies

    USAA2017-01-01
  2. "Decent Enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, fun place to work.

    Cons

    Lack of internal progression opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within as much as possible.

    USAA2018-02-10
  3. "Staff support is unreal at USAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Foundations Relationship Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    USAA take as good a care for the staff as they do their members. I worked wiht USAA for almost 6 years and i've never felt so taken care of and supported anywhere else!

    Cons

    Being in the London office, the numbers are limited and so progression through the senior ranks can be slow, but from a starting point - progression is fast and supported

    Advice to Management

    No advice - keep doing what you're doing.

    USAA2016-05-24
  4. "USAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at USAA

    Pros

    Its a great company to work for. The benefits are better than average while the pay is normal for the work (some companies pay more, but the benefits matching/health insurance/ and time off are worth it)

    Cons

    You have to work. When you show up be ready to work and work hard. Each minute is monitored.

    USAA2016-01-12
  5. "Great benefits, culture, and mission. Compensation lower than industry averages."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Liability Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    USAA has a noble mission and an excellent training program for claim adjusters. Always told by management to do the right thing for the customer. Benefits are the best around: 8% 401k match (plus more depending on age), 6 weeks of paid time off every year, and no strings attached education program. USAA paid for my MBA almost 100%.

    Cons

    Very high work volume creating high stress levels. Dealing with the public in unfortunate circumstances requires a high level of patience. Compensation is lower than industry average.

    Advice to Management

    Management has never figured out how to match labor quantity with work flow volumes in claims department. Leads to loss of top talent and poor claims service.

    USAA2019-12-08
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Great Company, horrid job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Vision, Mission, Members, Gorgeous facility, Education benefit, food access, gym and other Perks on campus, respectful environment, flex Schedules after a year, 401K, great job for retirees or those who do not care about promoting. Diverse and hires Veterans, Second chance employer in some cases. Paid training and college credits.

    Cons

    Pay is low, medical benefits are not great, coworkers lack of critical thinking skills causes issues, lack of qualified employee pool for this pay level job, lots of calls, hard to get promoted if you are younger. This job is hard for the low money it pays and requires higher level thinking abilities. This is severe and lacking in our country today, and especially in AZ, which has a lowly educated state populace. I... left because I hated the job, moved out of state, and got another job paying better. I was sad since I loved the company. I just hated the job. Maybe other opportunities. This work is not for everyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I spend 90 percent of my day fixing wrong information given out by lazy or downright dumb employees who do not know how to do their job and lack critical thinking skills. Sorry, but just being honest. I loved the nice members but the nasty ones who insulted me ruined my day. You can only take that for so long before other jobs come calling.

    USAA2019-10-25
  7. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits/Bonus, Opportunity for growth, management, culture, facilities

    Cons

    Volume of work but that's to be expected anyway and is graded fairly

    Advice to Management

    keep doing great work

    USAA2019-12-04
  8. "Overall, great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tremendous effort to remain employee focused, lots of useful benefits above what the industry offers.

    Cons

    Employee focus makes it harder to adapt to change.

    USAA2019-12-01
  9. "Great Pay for Professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lean Six Sigma Black Belt in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is simply amazing for professional roles

    Cons

    Politics can be rampant in some parts of the business

    Advice to Management

    Always keep you're employees first... don't lose sight of that.

    USAA2019-11-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "usaa is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a great company and they care about their employees. Competitive pay and benefits.

    Cons

    I did not want to leave USAA, but a call center job just isn't for me. I hope to come back to USAA in the future.

    USAA2019-11-17
Found 2791 reviews
</>Embed