USAA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

USAA Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2731 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
1,062 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The first year on the phones are the hardest if you do not have previous call center experience(in 341 reviews)

  • "None this is honestly a career long employer and head and shoulders above working at other companies especially military contractors(in 115 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA

    Pros

    A great place to work -

    Cons

    Limited benefits in comparison to other companies

    USAA2017-01-01
  2. "Decent Enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, fun place to work.

    Cons

    Lack of internal progression opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within as much as possible.

    USAA2018-02-10
  3. "Staff support is unreal at USAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Foundations Relationship Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    USAA take as good a care for the staff as they do their members. I worked wiht USAA for almost 6 years and i've never felt so taken care of and supported anywhere else!

    Cons

    Being in the London office, the numbers are limited and so progression through the senior ranks can be slow, but from a starting point - progression is fast and supported

    Advice to Management

    No advice - keep doing what you're doing.

    USAA2016-05-24
  4. "USAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at USAA

    Pros

    Its a great company to work for. The benefits are better than average while the pay is normal for the work (some companies pay more, but the benefits matching/health insurance/ and time off are worth it)

    Cons

    You have to work. When you show up be ready to work and work hard. Each minute is monitored.

    USAA2016-01-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Insurance Specialist in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with military is a plus Good pay Decent company Good values

    Cons

    Hard to get off the phones

    USAA2019-09-16
  6. "Call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster 

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits plenty of pto

    Cons

    No down time, little time between calls, difficult conversations

    USAA2019-09-18
  7. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Fun people to work with. Great amenities with gyms, ping pong, intramural sports, etc. Very good work life balance.

    Cons

    Slow to adopt latest tech. Can focus too much on perfection and not moving forward.

    USAA2019-09-18
  8. "Really great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing corporate culture, very mission driven.

    Cons

    Maybe too slow to make decision.

    USAA2019-09-18
  9. "Excellent benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great health insurance, maternity leave and 401k

    Cons

    Most positions are call center

    USAA2019-09-17
  10. Helpful (10)

    "WM didn't work. Cutting it loose. Focus on core businesses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, most people, mission, employee-centric (treated as valuable), or and benefits.... competitive pay in most areas, but don't forget about the benefits.

    Cons

    Go along to get along. "Tell us what you think", but only if it supports what we've actually already decided and want it to seem as though you have a chance of being heard. Be sure you pick out friends who are moving into leadership early in your career. If you pick the right friends you have a chance of being promoted up the leadership chain as your friends become successful. Otherwise, always agree with upper... leaderships idea, smile and support them and bide your time until you are high enough to actually make a difference. Bitter much?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually ask the front line employees...... the ones good at their jobs and show an interest in truly making positive change..... not just ones who agree with you.... before you come up with products, services or online tools and say "members told us this is what they want" consult employees on what they hear from members.... and what your employees think, too.

    USAA2019-08-18
Found 2731 reviews
</>Embed