USAA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

USAA Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
1,129 Ratings
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Service Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good pay, financially strong company, lots of growth and opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Lots of reorganization at the executive management level right now. Leading to confusion at the mid management and front line employee level.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-01-10
  2. "Good overall company/benefits package."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant/Project Manager in Addison, TX

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, 401k Match 8%, Wellness Allowance

    Cons

    High call center advisor turnover due to short shelf-life and substandard income progression.

    USAA2020-01-08
  3. "Too good to be true."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are awesome, 4 1/2 months paid at 100% for moms AND dad if he works there also. 2 bonuses a year. Really laid back environment, you’re treated like family not just an employee. Tough work but extremely rewarding

    Cons

    My only con is training and overall management is extremely inconsistent. Really have to be a team player and open to constant changes

    USAA2020-01-05
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Boys club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are better than local firms. Autonomy provided in work product.

    Cons

    Opportunities to advance are limited and, unless you are “one of the boys”, literally and figuratively, you will be stuck where you are no matter your seniority level, experience, commitment and ability.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-01-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Physical Security Specialist I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at USAA

    Pros

    Good benefits for employees. Costly to the employee

    Cons

    Hard to trust management. People get let go after being there for a long time

    USAA2019-12-31
  6. "Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and cash bonuses

    Cons

    Poor management. Lack of career guidance.

    USAA2020-01-18
  7. "Product Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is a great firm

    Cons

    none at this time in my opinion

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-01-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Mostly Positive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Lending Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security, camaraderie, culture, company bonus & incentives

    Cons

    Grandstanding due to young management in some departments. Difficult to move up due to company size. It's WHO you know.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-12-27
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Definitely not what it used to be, just about numbers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and pto accrual, great maternity leave.

    Cons

    The company is all about the numbers. Working on the phones, you’ll be micromanaged on ever changing metrics, you’ll be timed on how long your calls are, the time it takes you to solve the issue, did you comply with measures they’ve come up with (often not having anything to do with rules and regulations but more so just what they want), did you offer a product on every call and you’ll be timed on your time between calls. You're expected to take care of account follow up between back to back calls, you’ve got to convince the members to stay with the company even if our premiums are far higher than our competitors, they'll say they want feedback but it is lip service so they can say they stand for one thing but will not follow up and fix systems or processes unless profitable for them. Systems will go down and information will not be available to perform your job and you’ll still be held accountable. If bathroom breaks take you longer than 10 minutes, many managers are requiring reps to use pto. Once you’re on the phones, it’s incredibly difficult to get off. You’ll receive a precanned letter with no direction or guidance as to how to proceed even if you’re over qualified. It definitely a “who ya know” company, forget progressing if you’re not a “yes man” or if you don’t have the right connections.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-01-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Field adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Outside Property Claims Representative 

    I worked at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Professional, loyal and excellent customers

    Cons

    Lack of experienced employees in claims

    USAA2020-01-08
Found 2824 reviews
</>Embed