USAA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

USAA Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
1,110 Ratings
  1. "Great Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDI I 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits!!, PTO, Culture, 401k

    Cons

    base pay could be better, but given their benefits with an 8% match 401k, I understand why base pay is lower

    USAA2019-10-30
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Not the same company as when I started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilitator in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, annual bonus, generous PTO

    Cons

    Work life balance is not of place. Depending on the position not able to take time off for simple things like appointments. Over loaded work staff

    Advice to Management

    Hire more trainers and provide us with the materials and tools needed to accomplish our job.

    USAA2019-11-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of rules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, gym, food, education, location

    Cons

    Not a technology company in anyway

    USAA2019-11-07
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Worst experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Food Benefits Few good friends Team hangouts I dont see other pros

    Cons

    Politics Micromanaging Lack of training High school environment Unnecessary useless changes Favoritism Lack of job security

    USAA2019-10-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Technician in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, management and coworkers

    Cons

    Short breaks and lunches, micro management

    USAA2019-10-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Family Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA

    Pros

    Work with great people, collaborative and friendly work environment, many flexibilities and great perks such of PTO and remote working.

    Cons

    The new initiative to make the Bank compliant with federal regulation has put every other initiative on the back burner, and compliance is not fun.

    USAA2019-10-15
  7. "Great benefits and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Product Manager Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, professional work environment, on site gym, great people and mission.

    Cons

    Plano is predominately IT, but there are now a few business positions made available.

    Advice to Management

    More upper level management, director, ED presence will increase moral with the opportunities for career growth.

    USAA2019-10-22
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Don't Do IT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Serve the Military - Decent Benefits

    Cons

    The claims management demoralizes you - They are condesending/ have unrealistic expectations as far as what can be done in a day and with the work load they pile on it - They "coach" you and then use that against you - They are selling off areas and using more and more third party vendors to do the job and they are hopeless but they probably get treated better then the actual employees

    Advice to Management

    Realize that your employees are actually human beings that work hard and deserve to be treated as such -- Five years ago and beyond I would have said this was the greatest company ever -- The last 2-5 years it just keeps going down and down

    USAA2019-11-23
  9. Helpful (7)

    "A pro military business who’s cares less about Veterans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Solutions Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s big, like airport big, great atmosphere!

    Cons

    As a veteran who suffers from PTSD they still treat you like a veteran who’s homeless, all they want you to do is force sales to our active, veterans and military family members as well. You want REAL veteran love? Go to Navy Federal.

    Advice to Management

    Stop acting like robots and treating your employees, especially the veterans, less than.

    USAA2019-10-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful Company, Great Co-Workers, The whiners won't last."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Adjuster III in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Benefits Good Pay (when you count a virtually guaranteed year end bonus) Unbeatable Culture (tolerant of all people, from all backgrounds ... really!)

    Cons

    You are actually expected to continually work on yourself as a person, and build your personal 'brand', because you represent a company that expects more from you?

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    USAA2019-10-13
Found 2796 reviews
</>Embed